$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
239 reviews
Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price. See full review

  • Cynthiamb123
  • May 10, 2014
Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean... See full review

  • Tony91
  • Jan 2, 2014
Affordable hotel south of Chicago's bustling downtown area
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Policies and fees
Parking fee is $50 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Standard Room -ADA accessible
ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel, valet parking in the hotel garage and Accessible public restrooms. There are a number of designated accessible guest rooms which include accessible features as: grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; Lowered security "peep" holes on the doors. Touch lamps and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. The swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide ADA-compliant pool lift; and Accessible Fitness Center with ADA Universal Gym. There are accessible paths of travel to the restaurant located on the premises of the Essex Inn and the restaurant has accessible dining tables.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bourbonnais, Il
Aug 23, 2012

End of Summer vacation Trip

Staff was wonderful and the room was spotless. We had a wonderful view of Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mish father
Business
New york
May 24, 2014

Family

The hotel is good but it has very bad issolation. I hope this issue is fixed to improve the hotel quality..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMac0824
Business
Windsor, Ont Canada
May 21, 2014

Fine for me

I have stayed at this hotel before because it's convenient for me when attending my conference in Chicago. Our only complaint was that daily we had to ask for more towels or washcloths. If two people are checked into the room, the maid should leave a minimum of 2 towels/washcloths per person, no? And once you've had to call to correct this, it shouldn't have to be done on a daily basis. The room was clean though, no complaints there. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I don't know if the restaurant is actually affiliated with the hotel but we ate there quite often for convenience and the food was very good and we enjoyed the serving staff immensely. Essex Inn will always be an option for me when visiting Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blahblahblah823470834913
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 16, 2014

My room was a dud.

Caulking needs to be re-done in the shower. I don't really like the "moldy crack" look. There wasn't any soap in the room. I had to call down for that. Also, the tv made a constant high pitched whistling noise. Pretty minor stuff. But, there was a cumulative effect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashleyyyyyy
Business
Calgary, Canada
May 13, 2014

Good stay at Essex Inn.

The best part I would say about Essex was the location, we walked everywhere! Very close to everything, millennium park, shopping, eating etc. The room was clean, and the maid did a good job of cleaning it daily. The food was good from the room service we ordered from the restaurant downstairs but very pricey. We were told to call a number when finished for them to pick up the tray, we did that and they never showed up after calling twice. It sat out side our door for a day and a half. we then said something to the front desk and they were quite rude when told them about it. Mind you, upon checking in the agent was really nice! overall we would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cynthiamb123
Business
Ohio
May 10, 2014

Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RRusty
Business
Phila
May 7, 2014

ok for the money

nice pool and gym, good location and reasonable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickie F.
Business
Plainfield, IL
May 5, 2014

Great spot

It was easy in and out. We didn't stay long enough to use the pool or gym even though we planned on using the gym. Room was great except one wall is Windows so we could hear the loud people talking downstairs. Got the room to attend Wine Riot. Walked to Water Tower too. Overall, great location and room. Would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
no help
Business
mankato mn
Apr 28, 2014

No help.

I was very dissatisfied with my stay. We drove from Mn and when we got there we were told to park our car in their ramp was $50 a night. As a guest i would think parking was inincluded. Then once we got to our room it was really small and not clean. There were socks left there from other guest. When i called the front desk to tell them they just said sorry. Didnt offer to clean it up or anything. The pool also was very dirty. There was items floating on the top of the pool, and what looked like mold growing around the edge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori Marie
Business
chicago, il
Jan 13, 2014

Girls Weekend

The Essex has a great pool. One of the best in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ttravels
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Windy City Comfort

We enjoyed ANOTHER great stay at the Essex Inn, as staff and location keep us coming back, even through a snow storm! We'll be back!!! T & N

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top