$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Bourbonnais, Il
Aug 23, 2012

End of Summer vacation Trip

Staff was wonderful and the room was spotless. We had a wonderful view of Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carina V.
Single
N/A
Feb 20, 2015

last minute hotel

Flight got canceled and I needed to stay an extra night in a cheap hotel for a few hours. You get what you pay for and since the room only cost about $55 I knew that I wasn't going to have the most amazing experience. Better than sleeping at the airport so it did the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leonidut
Business
Salt Lake City
Feb 9, 2015

Great location.

Great location Hotel. With walking distance to train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie Maj
Single
Canoga Park
Feb 4, 2015

Great stay

This was a great stay, clean room, great staff, helpful bellman, great restaurant, awesome location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie Maj
Business
Canoga Park
Feb 4, 2015

Great !

Had an excellent weekend stay. Very affordable Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Movingtrgt
PALM SPRINGS
Jan 20, 2015

Friendly personal touch

Even before I checked in, I was greeted in a personal way. After I checked in I was told to dial ) if I needed help. There was never the need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fuyj
Family
Hager City
Jan 19, 2015

perfect location

Although the room was small, it was very tidy and the staff was pleasant. The shuttle driver went out of his way to drop us at the place we wanted to go and was very helpful in showing us other places to see on his route.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the Field Museum, Adler Planetarium and Sheded Aquarium

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will S
Couples
N/A
Jan 18, 2015

Very happy

This was our first stay here and we were very pleased with our experience. We had a corner room overlooking grant park and the lake, and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The pool area and fitness center area was one of the best we have experienced. The only thing that was a surprise was the $75 charge up front for incidentals, but understandable when you pre pay for a room. Overall very pleased and would definitely return and definitely recommend the Essex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asia m.
Couples
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Nice for our time there

First had problems with booking had my reservation in as February instead of January.... 25-30 min within everything. Had to take many many many cabs . It was nice for our small trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gwiran K.
Friends
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

holiday gathering

The location was excellent, near my apartment and we had family friend came over from other country. This location was perfect for me to walk to my house and walk to see all the downtown christmas excitement, and shopping. The room was clean and the staff were kind. I was very satisfied for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina
Family
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Family trip.

The staff at the hotel made our visit wonderful. They allowed us an extended check-out, and were always courteous with all interactions. This hotel is a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top