$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
253 reviews
Excellent service

The hotel staff was very accommodating. I had both a later check-in and an early check-out both... See full review

  • Erwin B.
  • Feb 27, 2015
Great hotel for sighseeing location

The staff was great at assisting. Location was very convenient. Less than a minute away from the... See full review

  • Albina
  • Feb 17, 2015
Affordable hotel south of Chicago's bustling downtown area
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Policies and fees
Valet parking fee is $60 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Skyline King Suite
This corner Suite offers tremendous natural light due to our floor to ceiling windows that also give you an incomparable view of the spectacular Chicago skyline, the lovely Grant Park. Depending on the season enjoy views of Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, and the famous Chicago Museum Campus. The suite has a bedroom with a King size bed and a separate living area with a pull-out sofa bed giving you a little more privacy on a family getaway, or space for a meeting if youre traveling on business. The living area includes a work desk with outlets, convenient ergonomic rolling chair, and a mini fridge. Each room features flat screen TV.
Skyline Two Double Bed Suite
This corner Suite offers tremendous natural light due to our floor to ceiling windows that also give you an incomparable view of the spectacular Chicago skyline, the lovely Grant Park. Depending on the season enjoy views of Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, and the famous Chicago Museum Campus. The suite has a bedroom with two Double size beds and a separate living area with a pull-out sofa bed giving you a little more privacy on a family or friends getaway. The living area includes a work desk with outlets, convenient ergonomic rolling chair, and a mini fridge. Each room features flat screen TV.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baseball enthusiast
Orange, California
Jun 1, 2012

Great location and area

The hotel room is small, for a group of four. We have no complaints of the area or what the hotel had to offer. They have ironing boards, hair dryer, and one quick call down stairs and they were prompt with extra towels and cups. They do have a laundry facility, and its a buck for the wash and dryer. The mini fridge was great for our leftovers and water/drinks. The tv had basic cable and hob, in the area for food, you can find a mini mart, a coffee shop and a sandwich shop. a further walk you can find a well know grocery store, also a wing place thats open till midnight. Not every store sells beer or alcohol. getting around town we took the bus and the CTA(subway system) buy your 1/3/7 day passes at cvs or walgreens. and their good for the bus and the train. The hotel also offers shuttle to the Navy pier. Also the bus stop is right out side the hotel and their we always found cabs sitting outside the hotel waiting for costumers. overall the hotel was great and so was the staff, i planned early and saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Theirs a Lou Malnaties in the area, and the WIllis towe is about 15 min walk and across the street is a Giordanos pizzeria(some of the best pizza we had during our trip. ANd if you plan on taking pizza on the plane. we had no problem in fact we took three 12'' pizza, (no special packaging just in their take out boxes, although we did manage to fit two in one of our carry on bag. I am also active military and it never hurts to ask for discounts, I was able to get a free ticket to the White sox game and a complimentary ticket for the Wendella bout tour. If you stop by the USO at the Navy Pier, you can get free water and snacks as well as a print out of freebees and discounted places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jan Theater Lover
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 27, 2014

Great location

All of the staff were really helpful and this location was great for doing all the things we wanted, museums, theatre, blues venue, and boat cruise on the river. Short walks or taxi drives allowed us to reach all these places easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
salvo75d
Business
Lindon
Oct 12, 2014

Equipped room

Rooms are clean and well equipped with hair dryer, iron board, toiletteries. Good position for downtown, the brasserie doesn't serve a great breakfast. Overall is worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David C. Chang
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 10, 2014

Location matters

The best thing is the location of the hotel, very close to Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
REisenbrei
Business
Sarasota, FL
Oct 2, 2014

Never disappointed

i am a business traveler and have stayed at this location in the S. Loop on Michigan Ave. many times. Staff is always polite, café is outstanding and rooms and rates are reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Café Biondo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M Maier
Business
S Orange, NJ
Sep 17, 2014

Rocky start

I made reservations in May for our Sept trip to Chicago. I reserved 2 rooms and one of them needed to have 2 double beds. I called the hotel a month in advance to confirm my rooms. When I arrived, both rooms had only 1 King bed. I had to get rollaway beds to accommodate the guests in that room. We were able to get a room with double beds the next day but it was a rocky start to my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Manager of the hotel restaurant helped arrange a breakfast for 20 people. They also have a good pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bears Dan
Business
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Sep 8, 2014

Excellent for Bears game overnight

Stayed here the night before the Bears opener. Great location if you're going to soldier field or the Museum campus. Room was recently remodeled, nicely appointed, large and clean. Faced east, so great view of the city. Great value on the room rate . Only downside (and this kept me from giving 5 stars) was the exorbitant overnight parking rate ($52), which really boosted the overall cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kickin' Kate
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Aug 29, 2014

Great location!

Loved being right on MIchigan. Walking distance from lots of the major sites, and a shuttle available if you weren't up to the walk. Took in Navy Pier, Willis Tower, The Shedd, Soldier Field and the Field Museum. Lot's of great restaurants close by and a train station not far if you wanted to venture farther out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ringman222
Business
iowa city,ia
Aug 9, 2014

great location for muesums and soldier field

was a great staff to work ,with, rooms were clean ,nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the yolk is great breakfast place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FFbabyj
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 29, 2014

Great location, average hotel

Amazing location but definitely needs some updating in the rooms. And the pillows are terrible! Terrace is nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunnyside travelers
Business
New England
Jul 29, 2014

Find Somewhere Else to Stay..There's better choices

We checked into the hotel on Thurs & 3 minutes after we got in our room another couple was given the same room & same key code & opened door with the key...They were given another room. Bathroom-Light worked some days/some days not. We called engineering & he came right away to look at it it but problem continued during our 4 days there. Bathroom door doesn't close properly & opens by itself. Mold, mold, mold on the soap dish in shower. Water from shower doesn't drain properly, takes about 10 minutes, so you stand in water up to your ankles while showering. Carpeting in room was installed when Jesus was a baby. The mattress needed to be changed as it was quite lumpy. Train runs near hotel which was a plus for us but...if you are a light sleeper you will hear it all night. Wi Fi..hardly ever worked which was a major bummer if we wanted to look up sightseeing stuff for Chicago. We went downstairs to use there 2 computers in the lobby only to find they CHARGE you to use it!! We've stayed at lower priced hotels that offer free Wi Fi & it's crazy to pay a decent rate & not get free Wi Fi! No free breakfast is offered either, not even a cup of coffee or muffin! The pool was nice & I used it once. They had 2 lifeguards on duty. I was completely turned off to see that they allowed a family with a baby in diapers to enter the pool!!! How unsanitary is that? The 2 times I asked the front desk for some local info there were clueless! I asked for the closest way to walk to Blue line for the train when we were leaving & the desk clerk suggested a taxi to the stop when it was a few blocks walking distance! There are lots of choices for hotels in this area so if we were going again I would choose somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a 3day, weekly or day pass depending how long you are staying for CTA(transportation). You can get on/off the bus as many times as you want. Go to Wrigley Field, 100 yr anniversary this yr! Go to Navy Pier, very nice. It's the 29C bus form town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top