$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asia m.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Nice for our time there

First had problems with booking had my reservation in as February instead of January.... 25-30 min within everything. Had to take many many many cabs . It was nice for our small trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gwiran K.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

holiday gathering

The location was excellent, near my apartment and we had family friend came over from other country. This location was perfect for me to walk to my house and walk to see all the downtown christmas excitement, and shopping. The room was clean and the staff were kind. I was very satisfied for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Family trip.

The staff at the hotel made our visit wonderful. They allowed us an extended check-out, and were always courteous with all interactions. This hotel is a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tat J
Business
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Nov 25, 2014

Very reasonable, conveniet hotel

I stay there for 3 days for my business at the convention center. Very convenient to go to the convention center, and also close to the city center. Excellent staff, very clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Malnati' Pitzza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fluffy's friend
Business
Chicago
Nov 24, 2014

Still A Nice Place To Be

The Essex isn't a fancy, luxury hotel. It is a clean, relatively inexpensive, and totally pleasant place to be with a great location and friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant menu is limited, but the food is good and the wait staff is also friendly and reasonably efficient. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ttravels
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Nov 24, 2014

HIGH-FIVE!

Travel cheers to: 1. LOCATION 2. SERVICE 3. AMMENITIES 4. FOOD 5. LAKEVIEW We'll return, as ALWAYS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dayton OH
Business
Dayto,n Ohio
Nov 18, 2014

Grant Park Area

Very helpful staff. Let us store our luggage early. Helpful with directions and tips of how to get around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sofiared
Business
San diego, ca
Nov 16, 2014

Great location and price

Beautiful quaint hotel in front of park and close to museum and cloud gate landmark. Near metro exit from airport. Safe and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Genevieve mom
Business
Cheshire, CT, USA
Oct 31, 2014

Conference trip

I had a conference at the McCormick Center. Shuttles were run from there to the Hilton which is right next door to Essex, so it was extremely convenient for considerably less cost. Room has nice large desk, fridge. Bathroom a bit small, but fine for me. Walking distance to the Art Institute of Chicago which I went to between time convention ended and shuttle came to take me to airport. Free Wifi is slow but you could upgrade to faster if you needed it. Also a printer in lobby to print boarding pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

15 min walk to Art Institute

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rosmarms
Business
long beach
Oct 30, 2014

good marathon hotel

perfect location if you're running the marathon. hotel was nothing fancy, room was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top