$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas, KS
Jul 26, 2009

Expensive price and lower service

We lost some of our personal items when we checked out while the bellperson took them to the garage. the hotel told us that they have no idea about it. it is unsafe I believe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 24, 2009

Just okay

We were given a smoking room when we specifically asked for non-smoking, then were told that there were no other rooms available. We were on the third floor and it was VERY noisy outside until the bar across the street closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big K.
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 24, 2009

Economical stay in a Great Location

For the price, it wasn't bad. Probably the best deal you are going to get in that stretch of Michigan Avenue. In addition, it is directly across from Grant Park, which is a plus this time of year (there is always something going on). The staff was very helpful, and the rooms were clean albeit small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed Mercat de la Planxa, which is only a few blocks up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DPC
Business
Dahinda IL
Jul 22, 2009

A great surprise

We have stayed previously at the Chicago Hilton across the street. The staff was very attentive to our needs. At 20% less than the Chicago Hilton, it was a great deal. This will be our hotel of choice when we visit Chicago. Valet parking was easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McHenry, IL
Jul 21, 2009

Good for the price

Everything was okay, it was not really noisy but our room was by the service elevator so there were times it was distracting. It probably was a very good deal except it was further away than we wanted to be which was more my fault. One thing that did bother me was one of their amenities, Bus shuttle for Michigan Avenue was limited and times were not posted. Also there were was no information in the room regarding room service or TV channels. Elevator service was slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Learn more about the public transportation system and the opportunities available for passes, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Jul 21, 2009

Not bad

Great location-walking distance from the museums. Pretty park across the street and a clean, safe area. Family environment. Not very romantic. Freezing pool and no hot tub! Great, friendly service. Really nice staff. Easy to find, but don't use their parking garage-way too pricey and there are tons within jumping distance. We paid $15.00 for 24 hours-amazing for Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not too far away-maybe 6 blocks, is Exchancelor (sp?) Great food at a modest price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanny K.
Business
Terre Haute, IN
Jul 21, 2009

Great service, good experience.

We enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Having Shuttle service was very nice. Our bathtub was poorly installed and taking a shower felt like trying to stand on a waterbed. Lights were out and damaged throughout the room which was a little annoying. It would be better to have a table and 2 chairs, rather than a desk and desk chair. The fitness room and pool area were excellent. Breakfast in the dining room was a little pricey but the food was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Red Lion PA
Jul 19, 2009

Great location for the price!

The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James Bent
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 19, 2009

Great Location

For the price the hotel was great. Good location near Art Institute, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Sears Tower. It's also near 2 subway stops for easy access to the rest of the city that's not walking distance. As well as a Friendly staff & clean rooms. I was sightseeing most of the time, but the time I was in the room it satisfied my needs and was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art lover in Chicago
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Jul 16, 2009

It's a great deal!

Although this is an old hotel, the rooms are up-to-date with wi-fi available (although not free), HD TV, and plenty of outlets available in the room. The room was spotless, with plenty of towels and bathroom amenities, and the bed was great! There is computer access downstairs 24/7 (again not free) but you could print your boarding passes at no charge. The fitness center was also quite good. Our room faced Michigan Avenue, and there was a lot of traffic noise that did come into the room, but perhaps that was not true in other parts of the hotel. There is a free shuttle to go up or down Michigan Avenue, but our location was so good (and the hotel price is so much better than farther north in the pricier parts of Michigan Ave.) that the walking was part of the fun experience. Our only other complaint was that there was no free breakfast, and the restaurant affiliated with the hotel was more costly and the food was not very good compared with anywhere else we ate! Nevertheless, there are several places within a block or two of the hotel that were quite good. There is also a fridge (but no microwave) in the room if you bring your own snacks, and there is also a coffee maker. All in all, with the ease of getting to the museums, Millenium Park, the Sears (now Willis) Tower,etc., as well as being only a 7-8 minute walk to the Metro to take the train back to the airport, this place is a great bargain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Each night, we would ask the front desk staff where to go to get a good meal at a decent price, and all the recommendations were super! The front desk people could not have been nicer or more patient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top