$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rafael m.
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

wonderful family trip

it was great staying in this hotel, everything is close,the park,museums,aquarium our best choose !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the sheed aquarium,awesome!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Movingtrgt
Business
PALM SPRINGS
Jan 20, 2015

Friendly personal touch

Even before I checked in, I was greeted in a personal way. After I checked in I was told to dial ) if I needed help. There was never the need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fuyj
Business
Hager City
Jan 19, 2015

perfect location

Although the room was small, it was very tidy and the staff was pleasant. The shuttle driver went out of his way to drop us at the place we wanted to go and was very helpful in showing us other places to see on his route.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the Field Museum, Adler Planetarium and Sheded Aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will S
Business
N/A
Jan 18, 2015

Very happy

This was our first stay here and we were very pleased with our experience. We had a corner room overlooking grant park and the lake, and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The pool area and fitness center area was one of the best we have experienced. The only thing that was a surprise was the $75 charge up front for incidentals, but understandable when you pre pay for a room. Overall very pleased and would definitely return and definitely recommend the Essex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asia m.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Nice for our time there

First had problems with booking had my reservation in as February instead of January.... 25-30 min within everything. Had to take many many many cabs . It was nice for our small trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gwiran K.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

holiday gathering

The location was excellent, near my apartment and we had family friend came over from other country. This location was perfect for me to walk to my house and walk to see all the downtown christmas excitement, and shopping. The room was clean and the staff were kind. I was very satisfied for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Family trip.

The staff at the hotel made our visit wonderful. They allowed us an extended check-out, and were always courteous with all interactions. This hotel is a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tat J
Business
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Nov 25, 2014

Very reasonable, conveniet hotel

I stay there for 3 days for my business at the convention center. Very convenient to go to the convention center, and also close to the city center. Excellent staff, very clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Malnati' Pitzza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fluffy's friend
Business
Chicago
Nov 24, 2014

Still A Nice Place To Be

The Essex isn't a fancy, luxury hotel. It is a clean, relatively inexpensive, and totally pleasant place to be with a great location and friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant menu is limited, but the food is good and the wait staff is also friendly and reasonably efficient. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ttravels
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Nov 24, 2014

HIGH-FIVE!

Travel cheers to: 1. LOCATION 2. SERVICE 3. AMMENITIES 4. FOOD 5. LAKEVIEW We'll return, as ALWAYS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top