$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
380 reviews
Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price. See full review

  • Cynthiamb123
  • May 10, 2014
Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean... See full review

  • Tony91
  • Jan 2, 2014
The Essex Inn is an intimate hotel providing excellent views of the city, Grant Park and Lake Michigan with convenient access to Chicago's Magnificent Mile, Millenium Park, world-famous museums, sporting venues, the Loop and McCormick Place. One of the focal points of the hotel is the Garden Pool and Fitness Center on the fourth floor rooftop. Adjacent to the pool is the 1,350 square foot Fitness Center with a large selection of Life Fitness and Schwinn equipment including Cross Trainers, Lifecycles, treadmills and weight machines as well as free weights. Six televisions complement this expansive facility. The 24-hour Business Center comes complete with computer workstations, printers and high-speed Internet connections. Minimum booking age is 21 years of age. Overnight parking $52 per night plus tax. ******************************************** We are proud to serve guests with disabled and other special needs at Chicago's Essex Inn. To that end, the public spaces at Chicago's Essex Inn are accessible and include, but are not limited to, the following: ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel; Valet parking in the hotel garage; and Accessible public restrooms. In addition, we have a number of designated accessible guest rooms and our guest rooms include such accessible features as: Grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; lowered security "peep" holes on the doors; ADA-compliant door hardware; touch lamps; and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. Our swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide such accessible features as: ***COOLERS OF ANY SIZE NOT ALLOWED IN GUEST ROOMS.****

Hotel Map

41.8712 -87.6247
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Midway
Area description
Millenium Park, Art Institute Chicago, Navy Pier, Adler Planetarium, Field Museum, McCormick Place, Buckingham Fountain, Lakefront, Grant Park

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Standard Room -ADA accessible
ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel, valet parking in the hotel garage and Accessible public restrooms. There are a number of designated accessible guest rooms which include accessible features as: grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; Lowered security "peep" holes on the doors. Touch lamps and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. The swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide ADA-compliant pool lift; and Accessible Fitness Center with ADA Universal Gym. There are accessible paths of travel to the restaurant located on the premises of the Essex Inn and the restaurant has accessible dining tables.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (380)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickie F.
Plainfield, IL
May 5, 2014

Great spot

It was easy in and out. We didn't stay long enough to use the pool or gym even though we planned on using the gym. Room was great except one wall is Windows so we could hear the loud people talking downstairs. Got the room to attend Wine Riot. Walked to Water Tower too. Overall, great location and room. Would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
no help
mankato mn
Apr 28, 2014

No help.

I was very dissatisfied with my stay. We drove from Mn and when we got there we were told to park our car in their ramp was $50 a night. As a guest i would think parking was inincluded. Then once we got to our room it was really small and not clean. There were socks left there from other guest. When i called the front desk to tell them they just said sorry. Didnt offer to clean it up or anything. The pool also was very dirty. There was items floating on the top of the pool, and what looked like mold growing around the edge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori Marie
chicago, il
Jan 13, 2014

Girls Weekend

The Essex has a great pool. One of the best in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ttravels
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Windy City Comfort

We enjoyed ANOTHER great stay at the Essex Inn, as staff and location keep us coming back, even through a snow storm! We'll be back!!! T & N

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony91
Crown Point, IN
Jan 2, 2014

Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jose tri
Green Bay, WI
Dec 14, 2013

essex Inn

great check in and check out. Clean adequate room. Lobby is a little under lack luster. The restaurant next to the hotel for breakfast was less than desirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bears Dan
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Dec 11, 2013

Excellent overnight for Bears game

Pretty much the closest hotel to soldier field. Was a great choice for an overnight after a night Bears game. Positives: Room was clean and recently modernized, with a comfortable bed. Not luxurious, but had an upscale feel. There was a nice french-style bistro attached, which was nice for a quick meal before the game. Negatives: cramped, spartan bathroom; not a lot of lobby amenities. Bottom line: if you can get this for a good price, it's an excellent south loop choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amfortas
Business
VA
Nov 26, 2013

Every thing is nice!

Everything is nice. The room is clean, and the staffs are friendly and willing ti help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetsi
Washington, D.C.
Nov 18, 2013

plumbing

The room was great, staff great, food at restaurant great, location great, and decor nice. The only problem was the cold water faucet handle fell off in my hand, and the shower drain was stopped up, and the water did not go down fast enough. Otherwise, excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gioco's , very close to hotel. Fabulous Italian food. Great service.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Daughter's Mom
Ohio
Oct 16, 2013

2013 chicago marathon

We stayed at the Essex because we were in Chicago to watch the Marathon and it was very close to start and finish; All of the hotels raise prices during this event. We loved the location but the room was extremely small. The beds were ok as far as comfort. The iron had some stuff stuck to it and it was quickly replaced by housekeeping. We parked in garage and paid the price but was easy to get to our room from there. I did notice some public parking nearby. So overall it was ok but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top