$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cxmi
Business
davenport
Mar 3, 2015

worst

The worst customer service. Bed is small. Waste my time to waiting their call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erwin B.
Business
Rego Park
Feb 27, 2015

Excellent service

The hotel staff was very accommodating. I had both a later check-in and an early check-out both times, the concierge was helpful and answered all my questions. It is a very basic hotel, but you do get quality service for your money. Great and safe location as well, located right next to the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AHZ18
Business
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

Ignore the pool, eat the French cuisine in room service, instead!

Most children want to stay in a hotel with a pool when on vacation. The photos of the Essex pool are incredible from every angle. However, you cannot see in a photo how awfully freezing cold and over-chlorinated this pool with, seemingly, a roof of flags like your family might be visiting an Olympic stadium, really is! No hot tubs AT ALL!! However, the linens, several perfectly plump pillows, as well as gorgeous gauzy coral colored drapes letting in the perfect amount of filtered sun, as well as an unobstructed view of Grant Park, as well as the glittering wake of several boats spending the day out on Lake Michigan was unique for this mid-price range. The man at the front desk was awfully rude, most were except a woman later Friday night at the desk. But if you eat as much fresh truly French, truly Parisian cuisine as possible, well then it's easy to forget. The shuttle was "broken down" while we were there so there went our supposedly free transportation. Not even a warning! However, the sLk feomGrant Park down to Millennium Oark was so gorgeous, most especially at twilight, when sunset colors reect on statues, tiles, metals, statuesque and historical lips with smiles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carina V.
Business
N/A
Feb 20, 2015

last minute hotel

Flight got canceled and I needed to stay an extra night in a cheap hotel for a few hours. You get what you pay for and since the room only cost about $55 I knew that I wasn't going to have the most amazing experience. Better than sleeping at the airport so it did the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leonidut
Business
Salt Lake City
Feb 9, 2015

Great location.

Great location Hotel. With walking distance to train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie Maj
Business
Canoga Park
Feb 4, 2015

Great stay

This was a great stay, clean room, great staff, helpful bellman, great restaurant, awesome location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie Maj
Business
Canoga Park
Feb 4, 2015

Great !

Had an excellent weekend stay. Very affordable Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Movingtrgt
Business
PALM SPRINGS
Jan 20, 2015

Friendly personal touch

Even before I checked in, I was greeted in a personal way. After I checked in I was told to dial ) if I needed help. There was never the need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fuyj
Business
Hager City
Jan 19, 2015

perfect location

Although the room was small, it was very tidy and the staff was pleasant. The shuttle driver went out of his way to drop us at the place we wanted to go and was very helpful in showing us other places to see on his route.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to the Field Museum, Adler Planetarium and Sheded Aquarium

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will S
Business
N/A
Jan 18, 2015

Very happy

This was our first stay here and we were very pleased with our experience. We had a corner room overlooking grant park and the lake, and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The pool area and fitness center area was one of the best we have experienced. The only thing that was a surprise was the $75 charge up front for incidentals, but understandable when you pre pay for a room. Overall very pleased and would definitely return and definitely recommend the Essex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top