$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huron
Aug 30, 2009

Good location and price

We went to Chicago for the weekend to visit with friends. The location was convenient and I liked the smaller hotel. The staff was very nice and our room was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 29, 2009

Convenient Stay

The hotel was great! Just south of the Art Museum and Millenium Park on Michigan Ave. Be ready for lots of walking! Grant Park, Millenium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Museums galore and even Willis Tower (formerly Sears). The only other thing is the rooms are very cold and there is no temperature control. It's either heat, cold or off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you wanna do major attractions and neighborhood tours, get day pass tickets with the Double Decker Chicago Co, just at the corner of the hotel. Great tours and convenient drop off points.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationing fool
Business
Newark, DE
Aug 26, 2009

Good location for downtown Chicago

Hotel has a fantastic location on Michigan Ave. You can walk anywhere and have easy access to the Red Line if you are going to Wrigley Field. However the rooms are small and our toilet backed up multiple times (and once it took 2 calls to get it fixed).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hartford, CT
Aug 20, 2009

Affordable and convenient

Affordable, nice rooms, comfortable beds, courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Essex Man
Business
Palatine, IL
Aug 18, 2009

Great Location

The staff was kind and courteous and the rooms were lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Grant Park located right across the street. It was perfect for Lollapalooza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mother on cross country trip
Business
upsate ny
Aug 18, 2009

Great location and accomidations

This was a great location for our family. We were primarily interested in visiting the museum complex area and the Navy Pier. Hotel right across the street from Millenimum Park and just blocks from museum complex. PERFECT. The room was great, pool area beautiful. Would go back with family in an instant and would recommend to anyone. The staff not overly friendly or accomidating but...with three kids in tow who could blame them. We didn't need much help while visiting anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain Town Travelers
Business
Mt. Pleasant, Michigan
Aug 10, 2009

Essex Inn ten minute walk to museums!

The hotel staff was excellent, very helpful with directions and visitor information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel staff told us about purchasing a one day bus pass--it saved us a lot of money, especially when we got on the wrong bus and saw more of Chicago than we intended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Aug 10, 2009

Lollapalooza Weekend

Dirty Windows. Very Small Bathroom and tight sleeping area. Expense parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wifety
Business
Detroit, Mi
Aug 9, 2009

Great place to stay

The Essex was located in the middle of everything we wanted to do. We walked to a lot of places, The Field, The Shedd, The Adler, and in the other direction, Navy Pier. However, the doorman, (I think it was [...] or something like that), was awesome. Directions, cabs, limos, whatever you needed, and he seemed to be there morning, noon, and night!! The room was clean and quiet. My only complaints would be they didn't have local stations on the tv, and I missed So You Think You Can Dance, and we could have used two chairs instead of 1. We had a great time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out different locations to dine in, we found Elevens, which is like a Jewish Diner, the atmosphere was comfortable and old-timey, the service was great, and the food was excellent!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mmcquarterback
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Aug 9, 2009

A Study in Contradictions

The Essex is a weird mix of world class hotel and bargain inn. For example, they have the most gorgeous pool and fitness center I have ever seen anywhere, and then give you work out towels to dry off with at the pool. They offer express checkout, but don't tell you what time checkout is. Our room had no guide to hotel services. Many hallway signs have either been vandalized or are in disrepair (for example, our "non-smoking" sign on our hall had had the "non" removed). The room was quite comfortable and the bed luxurious with lovely linens. The roll away we requested smelled of smoke and the sheets had holes. In short, the Essex was a fine hotel, but could have been great with a little attention to details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see Blue Man Group! It is unbelievably fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top