$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gmanancy
Business
Illinois
Oct 24, 2009

Excellent place!

It was raining very hard and the staff was very helpful with directions and what a cab would cost. The shuttle was nice. I have stayed at the Essex now 5 times and have enjoyed every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ELKHART IN
Oct 19, 2009

in need of....

THE LOCATION IS FANTASTIC FOR FAMILY BASED ACTIVITY...BUT THERE WERE SOME ISSUES AS TO THE AIR QUALITY OF THE ROOMS ..WAS RATHER DUSTY...AND HAD A STALE SMELL...NOT OVER-POWERING..BUT PRESENT TO THE POINT OF TASTING IT. ONE POINT I FIND FRUSTRATING..IS THE COST FOR PARKING YOUR VEHICLE AT THE HOTEL...I UNDERSTAND THAT IS SOMEWHAT A NORM CONSIDERING INNER CITY LOCATION...NONE THE LESS..I THINK THE $37.00 A NIGHT IS EXCESSIVE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

EXCELLENT LOCATION FOR FAMILY BASED ACTIVITES WITHIN A SHORT WALK.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Oct 14, 2009

It was all I expected and more

Very good, very friendly, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gurnee, IL
Oct 4, 2009

Nice, cozy place along the lake.

Very nice. The staff was polite,and accommodating. We were able change the reservation, check-in early and stretch checkout thanks to the friendly front desk. We got special requests and answers to questions quickly. The local resraurant advice was perfect. The room was average size and the bathroom a little small. But the room and bath fixtures were new and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Oct 1, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

I spend only a night at the hotel and was not able to realy do much but generally speaking,i enjoyed my stay at the hotel and the staff was very friendly.The only problem i had was there is no heat in my room when it was cold and when i requested for the heat to be turned on,my request was not granted which i think was unforturnate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was good and the price very reasonable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tfaray
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 28, 2009

Small,comfortable room.Amazing location!

There is a plethora to do in downtown Chicago. Essex Inn was a perfect central hub for my excursions. As their slogan goes, "Essex Inn, your key to the city." I was shocked by the tiny size of the room considering the cost of the room. Also, the a/c and heat are centrally controlled. No temperature adjustment. This proved to be no problem. I just added an extra blanket if I was cold and vice versa when I was warm. Amazing pool with atrium glass. Breathtaking view of Grant Park and downtown at night is picturesque when viewed from rooftop garden adjacent to pool. Despite the oddities of a tiny room and centrally controlled temp., the amenities were quite comfortable and more than adequate. For the price I don't think on can find a better location. Ask for a corner room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hot Doug's - World Renowned hot dog dive (or as it's lovingly known "encased meat emporium"). Just google it. You must make this trek. Take the Blue Line toward O'Hare. Get off at California. Exit the train platform and walk north (right) on California. Stop at the first bus stop for route 52. Take route 52 bus to Roscoe/California (Stop ID: 3204). Hot Doug's is on your left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ca
Sep 27, 2009

so so

not too good the parking was super expensive and i was unaware of that...as well as the wireless interenet. the fornt desck was not very informative! dissappointing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Oh
Sep 26, 2009

Convenient, comfy and cost effecient

I missed not having a folder with hotel info such as: the room service menu; where things are, such as pool, sauna and exercise equipment; list of television stations. We were gone most of the day and when we returned in the evening the pool was closed and we didn't know the sauna and gym were on the other side of the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cubsluvr
Business
Indiana
Sep 26, 2009

Will stay again! Great customer service.

Enjoyed this hotel stay. Staff was exceptional. Customer service was exceptional. Able to check in early so we didn't have to pay to park elsewhere for a few hours. Enjoyed the Museum Campus and Miracle Mile. This hotel is in the college district. Room wasn't large however, pool, fitness center, and 4th floor deck were rather enjoyable. 4th floor deck had a great garden and tables so, you could eat there if you wanted and enjoy the outdoors as well. Able to watch fireworks from Navy Pier while on 4th floor deck. It's the only hotel I've ever stayed in with a lifeguard on duty. Also enjoyed the sauna. We enjoyed our stay and would come again. Only drawback, there is no continental breakfast. There is a greek style restaurant with a large menu connected to the hotel with good food and a bar. We would suggest this to anyone looking for a Chicago getaway that is also looking for great customer serice and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum Campus is nearby. Medium walk to miracle mile. Next to the Loop. Much city transit available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago,il
Aug 31, 2009

essex inn

the hotel was a great deal. excellent view of the sears tower and fantastic location. definitely recommend staying here to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top