$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CookieV
Business
Marblehead, OH
Mar 31, 2010

Two times is enough, won't return

No WiFi, unless you paid for it in 24 hour increments. No hotel info in the room. Website said room service, yet no menu. TV had strange channels, yet no directory to find where any station was. Not all the staff was unfriendly, only one particular woman at check-in, that's always a great way to start out a vacation! Had to pay for valet parking, with no alternative. Cannot control your own room temperature, it is set by the hotel! We picked the Essex because we stayed before, I guess we forgot all the negative features. We won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Mar 11, 2010

Good price, good location.

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! This hotel was right in the center of everything in Downtown Chicago. I was in Chicago for a conference and I was able to save myself a ton of money and be in the down town area in a classy, active part of the city. It was a great experience and I would definitely recommend it. The only other downside is this hotel has very limited hours for the pool and rec area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The young and fly weekender
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 9, 2010

Not to be Under Estimated

Just a weekend getaway with friends. Its a great hotel for the money we spent. They even upgraded us to a suite for our conveniece. The staff was extremely accomdating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 10, 2010

I like it

I like it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AKMS
Business
Alabama
Jan 4, 2010

Great Trip

My sister and I stayed at this hotel over New Year's. We were very pleased with the room, it was comfortable and clean and we got it at a great price. We stayed on the 15th floor and had a great view of the Museum Campus (Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Adler Planeterium) and Lake Michigan. The location was great. It was a little far from North Michigan Ave, but we were able to walk (despite the extreme cold!) almost anywhere we wanted to go and in the spring or summer that walk to the shops along Magnificent Mall would be very pleasant! They were also close to an "el" train stop and so that was very convenient. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and were willing to answer any and all of our questions ranging from how to get somewhere to recommendations for a great restaurant. I definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a nice place to stay at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy Missing Couples
Business
Great Falls, Mt
Dec 30, 2009

Great place when going to football game

It's a great location, across from Grant Park, close to subway and within walking distance of Soldier Field, Field Museum and Shedd Aquarium as well as Lake Michigan and Millennium Park. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. The price is great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We always go to Ditka's. Great food, great atmosphere, good lounge singer and once we got to meet Mike, my husband's favorite coach.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tee~Ecstatic Mom
Business
Severn,MD
Dec 22, 2009

Great Place to Stay on a Budget

When I arrived I asked if my room had 2 beds. I was advised 1 king bed. I told desk manager that my daughter may come and stay and I prefer 2 beds. I told him that this is a mini vacation for me and if the room with 2 beds is not as nice as the room I have, don't change it. Well he did one better. He provided me with a king suite with a queen pull out. My daughter did stay and used the pull out and I stretched out in the king bed. The furnishings were beautiful and the view of Lake Michigan from my room was fabulous. I would definitely stay again. I found the accomodations to be more than worth the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tee~Ecstatic Mom
Business
Severn,MD
Dec 22, 2009

Great Place to Stay on a Budget

When I arrived I asked if my room had 2 beds. I was advised 1 king bed. I told desk manager that my daughter may come and stay and I prefer 2 beds. I told him that this is a mini vacation for me and if the room with 2 beds is not as nice as the room I have, don't change it. Well he did one better. He provided me with a king suite with a queen pull out. My daughter did stay and used the pull out and I stretched out in the king bed. The furnishings were beautiful and the view of Lake Michigan from my room was fabulous. I would definitely stay again. I found the accomodations to be more than worth the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chicagokate
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Dec 16, 2009

Decent Location Horrible Service

The website and reviews made this sound like a four star hotel- it wasn't. The lobby and check-in area was dingy and the staff was unhelpful and unfriendly. Parking cost almost as much as the hotel and it didn't mention it on their website. Wireless internet was expensive and there was no hub to plug in my internet cable. Our shower was broken and only would spray halfway and the rest of the water ran out of the bottom faucet and the temp control was broken as well- it was either scalding or cold. When we asked the desk for directions to the nearest train or bus they had no clue and weren't helpful. Upon checkout it was packed and they only had 2 luggage carts for the whole hotel so we had to wait a long time and the man was rude to us and also unhelpful and disappeared with our stuff. When we went to get our car they mixed up our tags so our car was sitting parked in the garage exit for twenty minutes. Their ATM was broken as well. I hope to never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Wrigleyville it is similar to college bar life!

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison WI
Dec 14, 2009

great location, easy check out,

walking distance to Soldier Field and Museum Campus, Willis tower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top