$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baseball enthusiast
Friends
Orange, California
Jun 1, 2012

Great location and area

The hotel room is small, for a group of four. We have no complaints of the area or what the hotel had to offer. They have ironing boards, hair dryer, and one quick call down stairs and they were prompt with extra towels and cups. They do have a laundry facility, and its a buck for the wash and dryer. The mini fridge was great for our leftovers and water/drinks. The tv had basic cable and hob, in the area for food, you can find a mini mart, a coffee shop and a sandwich shop. a further walk you can find a well know grocery store, also a wing place thats open till midnight. Not every store sells beer or alcohol. getting around town we took the bus and the CTA(subway system) buy your 1/3/7 day passes at cvs or walgreens. and their good for the bus and the train. The hotel also offers shuttle to the Navy pier. Also the bus stop is right out side the hotel and their we always found cabs sitting outside the hotel waiting for costumers. overall the hotel was great and so was the staff, i planned early and saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Theirs a Lou Malnaties in the area, and the WIllis towe is about 15 min walk and across the street is a Giordanos pizzeria(some of the best pizza we had during our trip. ANd if you plan on taking pizza on the plane. we had no problem in fact we took three 12'' pizza, (no special packaging just in their take out boxes, although we did manage to fit two in one of our carry on bag. I am also active military and it never hurts to ask for discounts, I was able to get a free ticket to the White sox game and a complimentary ticket for the Wendella bout tour. If you stop by the USO at the Navy Pier, you can get free water and snacks as well as a print out of freebees and discounted places.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
saurav
Family
bloomington,IL
May 14, 2010

Great location,good price

great family hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb mellow sis
Family
Grand Blanc, MI
May 13, 2010

Good location, helpful staff, clean room

I went to Chicago for a couple days with an adult child and wanted to try the rail system, and public transportation. Bellman was very helpful giving us tips, maps, and money saving advice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MissBusyBody
Single
St. Louis
May 9, 2010

Simply nice

The hotel staff were friendly. They gave great recommendations. There is also a van that takes you to Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short distance from the Magnificent Mile and eateries

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kentucky
May 2, 2010

Our April 2010 Trip

Staff were very, very helpful and pleasant to deal with everyday. The only issues was the heating/cooling system was off, but you could request a room on the north side of the building to avoid this problem. They would serve hotel guests better by either adding microwaves to the rooms, or having an area for microwaves (maybe by the ice machines). Still, staff assisted with even this issue. I would definitely stay at the Essex again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The cultural center a few blocks up from the Essex, is a wonderful place to learn how to navigate travel around town. It is worth stopping at (plus the building is beautiful).

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Midland, MI
Apr 9, 2010

family getaway

great location. Room temperature was too hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free WiFi at Carabou

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Midwest
Apr 8, 2010

Nicely located by public transit

There was not enough space or frequency of trips of the complimentary shuttle service to major attractions or the service limitations were not fully explained. Extra "free" day's offering with two nights was a real incentive to stay longer. Basically clean, quiet and comfortable for discounted room in an accessible location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Walgreen's or some other Chicago Transit Office and load a CTA card with enough money for getting around to attractions.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 6, 2010

Great Pool facilities but not much more.

Hot day in April, and the whole hotel's heating and air conditioning system is on a season cycle. So the rooms air conditioners would not work since they were still on a winter cycle. Cracking open a window (that is as far as they would go) was very noisy and made little difference in the heat. Older hotel building, slow drains, very small bathrooms and sleeping areas. Great pool area, the kids loved that. And extremely close to the museums and many, many other attractions. Would not stay there again, pay a little extra and get a nicer room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Family Flyer
Family
Pittsburgh PA
Apr 6, 2010

Springtime in Chicago

Location is very convenient to park, tennis courts, restaurants. Short walk or cab ride to Miracle Mile shopping and Navy Pier. Cool contemporary furniture and carpeting and tribute to fine artists on each floor. Friendly accomodating staff. Didn't try the restaurant but it looked decent. Our visit between seasons (Easter holiday) made it difficult to control room temperatures with no heat and no A/C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice pool on 4th floor. Skateboard park and tennis courts across the street (and across Metra tracks)

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
momntum
Family
Southern Illinois
Apr 3, 2010

Some good, some not so great

Although the hotel was centally located and nice, the temperature in the rooms were not individually controlled. The room became unbearably uncomfortable during the night. Also, we stayed busy throughout the day; however at night we wanted to relax and watch some of our favorite shows. The cable selection there was very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manologwapo
Family
Southaven, Ms
Mar 31, 2010

very nice as in very nice

i like the Chicago's Essex Inn. i expect great things and they deliver. (this is on the mind of a Budget minded person)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

to lou malnatis' pizza, flattop grill, buddy guy's bar

Back to menu Return to top