$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jan 1, 2011

Great stay at Essex Inn

My son and I really enjoyed staying at the Essex Inn. The hotel was around since I was a kid and always wondered what it would be like to stay at one of the hotel on Michigan Avenue. We were there from Dec 25 - Jan 1. It was the perfect location, it was near everything you could need in Chicago. Near the subways, buses, Jewel Food Store, restaurants, Metro and South Shore train stations, Museums. I am a native Chicagoan, growing up in the suburbs and working in the city. I know just about everything as far as how to use public transportation and where to go and what to see in Chicago. Essex website also had some great links as to transportation. If you fly into O'Hare you can take the blue line train to Jackson. Walk 3 blocks east to Michigan Avenue, and then south 5 blocks to Michigan Ave and 8th Street. For eating you can't beat the Yolk. I had the eggs and cornbeef hash which is $9.95 and you get more potatoes or fruit, toast, english muffin or pancakes. You will not starve at the Yolk! From the hotel you can walk to the Field Museum, Planetarium and Aquarium or take the one way shuttle. The shuttle will also take you to Navy Pier, Hancock center. The pool is open till 10 PM and it's heated. Our room was great, we had two full size beds with 3 pillows on each bed with different firmness, down blanket, we slept good. They also have a refrigerator so if you like you can go to Jewel down the street and stock up. If you like to penny pinch a little you could have cereal for breakfast and make PB&J and a few snacks for on the go then eat out for dinner. Some of my choice places to eat: Carson's Ribs, Giordano's Pizza, Lawry's Prime Rib, Ed Debevic's for burgers, Portillo's for hotdogs, chili, maxwell street polish and lasagna, Maggiano's for Italian. But, I would skip the Billy Goat Tavern (Saturday Night Live) for the cheezborger cheezborger; it will leave you asking, where's the beef? Bus 29 will take you to Navy Pier (catch at on State Street), Bus 10, if that's not running you can take Bus 6 (a few more stops) will take you to Museum of Science and Industry. You can hear the subway but hey your in the city, if you want silence to to the burbs or country. I slept through it without a problem but for some you could bring earplugs if you never been to a city before. I won't say which room number I was in but I not only could see the Sear's Tower, I was able to see the fireworks from Navy Pier on New Years Eve. Hence, the reason why I won't say which room is because when I go back I want that room again! By the way, the rooms along the east side of the hotel which faces onto Michigan Avenue are all suites. Saw one reference to someone mentioning bed bugs and I didn't find any bugs of any kind. Chicago also has free events, Lincoln Park Zoo is always Free, use CTA bus 151. CTA has a great site for helping you get around. Essex Inn was convienently located to everything, a great place to stay, hotel staff was really friendly too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See comments in Experience at hotel. I'm giving the hotel 3 for the restaurant downstairs was closed most of the time I was there. They started offering a continential breakfast on Dec 28th but didn't check it out. They do have a few restaurants within a block or two of hotel and more a few blocks out further.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
brent c
Business
small town indiana
Dec 31, 2010

housekeeping stole my wifes tampons!!!

We came back from our room being cleaned and my wifes tampons were gone. Also my son pulled a dirty sock from under the bed GROSS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad&Co
Business
Bloomington, IL
Dec 14, 2010

Chicago Trip

I originally made the reservation for a single queen room. I was travelling with my wife and two y.o. son and we were staying a single night. When I got my email confirmation before the trip it said the reservation was for 1 guest. I called [...]two days before the reservation and talked to [...], to let him know there were actually three of us. He talked to [...]with the hotel and got back to me saying it was ok. Was pleasantly surprised at check-in that we were upgraded to a king. The added space made our night sleep much more comfortable and pleasant.The rooms aren't huge, but reasonable for the price and were clean and comfortable. The hotel has a very nice pool area which my son really enjoyed. The location is ideal. Walking distance to the Field and Shedd. Good restaurants and shopping all very close.Again, I want to thank [...] for their kind act. Overall my family very much enjoyed our trip, but my son isn't used to travelling and was a bit stressed. Small things like that can make a big difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Great Lakes, Il
Dec 6, 2010

Wonderful location, Great price!

Great getaway spot. Very close to all the necessaties. Cllose to Lincoln Park, the Museums, tons of place to eat within a mile radius. Loved the downstairs bar. Staff and Housekeeping were unbeatable. Would recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Justin Kim
Business
Iowa
Nov 27, 2010

Terrible trip with this hotel.

The first impression of this hotel was very nice. It was clean and neat. However, when we took a shower, we faced a drainage problem. so, we called the front dest, adn they sent an engineer to our room. So far, it wasn`t that bad. But the problem was that that engineer came to our room 20 mins later. We had to wait with being wet. Moreover, it wouldn`t be fixed perfectly even though that guy said " it is good as a new one". We call the font desk to ask about changing the room. but they didn`t do it for us. They dicided to sent the engineer to our room again. and we had to wait another 15 mins. Finally, our room was chaged. After we moved to 10th floor, we were pretty impressed by their careness. However, when we tried to sleep, heater made crazy noise.....I just didn`t want to complain again....So being tired of doing that....Also,,,neigbors on 10th floor..were crazy. they sang a song so loudly in the hall... In spite of their kindness they showed us, I won`t go this hotel again... One more, vending maching on 10th floor swallowed our money...I hope they can fix that machine..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Nov 23, 2010

The week before Thanksgiving

Absolutely delighted with the accomodations. Was lucky enough to get an end room so floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides. The room was small, but very tidy and perfect for what we needed. And we got a great rate. This place has obviously been recently upgraded becasue the hotel itself has been here for ages. Great location along Michican Ave, about 2 blocks to the Museum and Millennium Park. Only drawback was not being able to get into the free wifi but there's a Caribou Coffee a block away that served us well. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple very good, old-neighborhood restaurants along Wabash (1 block off Michigan)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed KRS
Business
Normal, IL
Nov 12, 2010

not so hot

I was in town for a funeral and I must say my stay was less than pleasant. The beds were HARD my daughter and I tossed and turned all night long, the bathroom was small and OLD! We were woke up around 6:30 in the morning to what appeared to be hammering on the walls, the maid banged on the door at 8 am to see when we were checking out. The food at the restarant was awful to put it lightly will NOT stay there ever again! Plus parking for ONE NIGHT in THEIR parking deck was almost $40!! Not impressed planning a trip again soon but will not be at that hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland, oh
Nov 12, 2010

convenient and affordable

Very close to the museums and on Michigan avenue! The location was perfect. No continental breakfast, otherwise would have been excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mantooth
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 28, 2010

It was good

The Essex Inn was a clean and slightly modern hotel. It looked as though it had been newly rennovated and they did a good job. The hotel staff was helpful and polite although we did have a mysterious phone call charged to our room that we didn't make, but the front desk was helpful and removed the charge. It is close to downtown and good food. It was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oshkosh, WI
Oct 21, 2010

You get what you pay for on Michigan Ave

Hotel its self was fine. I was on business so I really didn't need anything fancy. My only complaint was the pillows. They were quite hard for my tastes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MillersPub was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top