$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K262626
Family
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Disappointed

We were suppose to have a nonsmoking floor but it reaked of smoke. The shower trickled out and the none of the drains worked so you told a shower in water shin deep and the sink to brush your teeth overflowed when you used it. I called to have someone. One look at t and thy never did. When I asked about it at checkout they were like too bad you alreadyed prepaid for your room. it says they have a restaurant onsite but it was closed. The pool was less than desirable and freezing cold. Overbid is added to a place I will never stay at again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
valenzze
Family
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Nov 1, 2011

Chicago baby

Perfect hotel to stay 5 days in Chicago, good location and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Navy pier! good stuff

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M and J
Couples
Kenosha, WI, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Good if you aren't hanging around your room much

My boyfriend and I had made plans to go the the Shedd Aquarium and do the Bucktown 5K so we figured we would get a hotel room and make a weekend of it. We were oh so excited after our 2.5 hour drive through Chicago traffic to find that parking at the hotel was $39 per night!!! That's an extra $80 for the weekend! A hotel just down the street was a little more expensive but offered free parking. The location was great- we were able to walk to the Shedd Aquarium and there were some great restaurants in the area. We had to keep our curtains closed in the room because the pool was right outside the windows. We also were woken up several times during each night by people coming back from the bars. They had no respect for anyone else staying there! The location was great but there are better hotels in the same area. We won't be staying here again. Oh, and to use the computers in the business center will cost you $5 for every 15 minutes. Hope you have your laptop with you if you stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's only a short walk away from the Shedd Aquarium and there are some great restaurants in the area. Check out Oysy if your a fan of sushi- fantastic food and very reasonable prices!

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heber74
Family
Prescott, AZ, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Family trip

We planned several days in downtown Chicago before heading up north for a family wedding and wanted to stay near the museums. Essex Inn was a perfect spot - easy access to the CTA bus and train, and we were able to walk to the Shedd Aquarium and Museum Campus. We had a great time and the hotel staff was wonderful - they gave us great directions and suggestions for local restaurants. I would definately recommend them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Musuem Campus was a 15 minute walk from the hotel

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe on the Go!
Family
Neenah, WI.
Aug 6, 2011

Great location

The rooms were less than to be desired. The rooms were a little small and dated. However, the workout area and pool were great for my kids. My wife and I were able to swim laps each morning. The patio area was really nice too! To be able to watch people go by on Michigan was great! The hotel was close to dining, and museum campus. A little ways to Mag. mile, but doable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila
Jul 23, 2011

Good Location, small adequate room, area

Next to Hilton; good if you plan to use their nice 4th floor pool and deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

red line to Wrigley field takes you riht there

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Detroit, MI
Jul 4, 2011

Good stay for a girls weekend

My good friend and I drove in for the Tastefest over the holiday weekend. This location was very convenient for that. Nice clean room, though a bit small. The in room fridge came in handy for storing water and snacks. The continental breakfast was just ok, but you cant complain about free food. Other than that, everything was fine; and I'd love to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
4 star wants on a 3 star budget
Couples
Chicago
May 25, 2011

Three Star Disappointment

The Lobby is showing wear and tear. The restaurant was being renovated so no Room Service. The mattresses were too soft and lumpy and didn't use fitted sheets. The bed kept becoming undone every time you turned. The best part was the bath-- clean and modern but some towels looked too worn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPMMusic
Family
Michigan
May 16, 2011

Very nice stay

The stay was great after taking care of the issue of [...]not contacting the hotel with our reservation information (we had reserved 2 rooms). The front desk staff handled the situation very professionally and got us into our room quite quickly.This is a very nice, clean hotel toward the south end of Michigan Avenue. The staff was very friendly and the price was fair. The pool and workout area were very nice. Shuttle service was provided to a few of the more distant locations like Navy Pier. We were in the area for a family get together. There were only two issues with the hotel that they actually had control over and that was the heating/cooling for the room. The hotel determines weather the units will either heat or cool. They had it set on heat for the first few days and the rooms were way too warm.The other was their "breakfast. It consisted of prepackaged muffins and danishes, coffee and juice.Other than that, it really was a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 20, 2011

Chicago Essex Inn

I attended a conference across the street from the Essex at the Hilton. This was my 1st time in Chicago and I can honestly say that I will NOT stay at the Essex Inn again. During my first day in the room, the iron was old and rusted at the bottom thus ripping a hole in my business suit. Although the hotel reimbursed me for my suit (the 1 good thing that happened while I was there), there were still enough other things that went wrong which will make me not recommend this hotel. The walls are very thin (you can hear every detailed conversation from people in the next room), 2 light bulbs blew in my room, and my curling iron "disappeared" (side note - no one was in my room during the entire conference except me and the cleaning crew....so I have no idea why my curling iron was no longer plugged into the wall, but completely missing, when I was ready to use it on my last day there). Oh yeah, and what they are calling "breakfast" is awful!! Such a shame :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top