$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bourbonnais, Il
Aug 23, 2012

End of Summer vacation Trip

Staff was wonderful and the room was spotless. We had a wonderful view of Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekly biz travel
Business
Fremont, MI
Jan 6, 2012

exactly what I needed

The room was clean, small but adequate, interesting, inexpensive, and perfect for my one-night business stay. They provide Rusk toiletries. My only minor complaint was that the vending machines on 5 floors would not accept my change - all my quarters were perhaps too new and the machines too old? - so I gave up (and did not pursue with the hotel staff, so perhaps a fix was available). But I will definitely return for all my business trips, and have already suggested to my husband using this hotel as a base for future leisure travel to Chicago. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a short walk - 10 min maximum - from the Red Line Jackson station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sus74s7s
Business
grand rapids
Dec 29, 2011

it was alright

the location was great. located near three trains and walkind distance from lake shore drive. i was not impressed with the 39 a night in and out parking tab and no free breakfast in the morning like many other hotels that i have stayed at. plus the restaurant in the hotel was closed the entire weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

rannilis is amazing and they do deliver . the food and portion size is out tof this world for the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juliea
Business
Peoria, IL, USA
Dec 20, 2011

perfect location for football

very nice room, gentleman at check in was very nice. lady at check out not so nice. would we stay again absolutely. great location, very nice room and parking (for a fee) worth it because its right on location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to soldier field

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lakota Music Dad
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Dec 19, 2011

2-Day Getaway

We attended the Midwest Clinic held at the McCormick Center. The Essex was very close to the McCormick Convention Center and served our purpose quite well. The rate was reasonable, the room roomier than other 'loop' hotels, and traffic was not an issue despite the detour on Congress. On the down side, the hotel's restaurant was closed for renovation, making meals an excursion, but in Chicago, not a problem. In addition, we attended the Nutcracker at The Auditorium, two shorts blocks from the Essex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check for shows at the Auditorium Theatre...well worth the expense....Also there's a nice jazz/blues club just minutes away from the Essex.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K262626
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Disappointed

We were suppose to have a nonsmoking floor but it reaked of smoke. The shower trickled out and the none of the drains worked so you told a shower in water shin deep and the sink to brush your teeth overflowed when you used it. I called to have someone. One look at t and thy never did. When I asked about it at checkout they were like too bad you alreadyed prepaid for your room. it says they have a restaurant onsite but it was closed. The pool was less than desirable and freezing cold. Overbid is added to a place I will never stay at again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
valenzze
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Nov 1, 2011

Chicago baby

Perfect hotel to stay 5 days in Chicago, good location and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Navy pier! good stuff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M and J
Business
Kenosha, WI, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Good if you aren't hanging around your room much

My boyfriend and I had made plans to go the the Shedd Aquarium and do the Bucktown 5K so we figured we would get a hotel room and make a weekend of it. We were oh so excited after our 2.5 hour drive through Chicago traffic to find that parking at the hotel was $39 per night!!! That's an extra $80 for the weekend! A hotel just down the street was a little more expensive but offered free parking. The location was great- we were able to walk to the Shedd Aquarium and there were some great restaurants in the area. We had to keep our curtains closed in the room because the pool was right outside the windows. We also were woken up several times during each night by people coming back from the bars. They had no respect for anyone else staying there! The location was great but there are better hotels in the same area. We won't be staying here again. Oh, and to use the computers in the business center will cost you $5 for every 15 minutes. Hope you have your laptop with you if you stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's only a short walk away from the Shedd Aquarium and there are some great restaurants in the area. Check out Oysy if your a fan of sushi- fantastic food and very reasonable prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heber74
Business
Prescott, AZ, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Family trip

We planned several days in downtown Chicago before heading up north for a family wedding and wanted to stay near the museums. Essex Inn was a perfect spot - easy access to the CTA bus and train, and we were able to walk to the Shedd Aquarium and Museum Campus. We had a great time and the hotel staff was wonderful - they gave us great directions and suggestions for local restaurants. I would definately recommend them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Musuem Campus was a 15 minute walk from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe on the Go!
Business
Neenah, WI.
Aug 6, 2011

Great location

The rooms were less than to be desired. The rooms were a little small and dated. However, the workout area and pool were great for my kids. My wife and I were able to swim laps each morning. The patio area was really nice too! To be able to watch people go by on Michigan was great! The hotel was close to dining, and museum campus. A little ways to Mag. mile, but doable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila
Jul 23, 2011

Good Location, small adequate room, area

Next to Hilton; good if you plan to use their nice 4th floor pool and deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

red line to Wrigley field takes you riht there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top