$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
239 reviews
Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price. See full review

  • Cynthiamb123
  • May 10, 2014
Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean... See full review

  • Tony91
  • Jan 2, 2014
Affordable hotel south of Chicago's bustling downtown area
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Policies and fees
Parking fee is $50 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Standard Room -ADA accessible
ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel, valet parking in the hotel garage and Accessible public restrooms. There are a number of designated accessible guest rooms which include accessible features as: grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; Lowered security "peep" holes on the doors. Touch lamps and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. The swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide ADA-compliant pool lift; and Accessible Fitness Center with ADA Universal Gym. There are accessible paths of travel to the restaurant located on the premises of the Essex Inn and the restaurant has accessible dining tables.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisa in Indy
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jan 23, 2011

Very Disappointing

The room was so hot we had to turn off the heater and open windows - it was 19 degrees outside and more comfortable outside our room than inside. The restaurant is closed for renovation and that wasn't mentioned anywhere on their website. The walls are very thin, and it felt like we were never alone because of all the other conversations in other rooms. Definitely won't return - and we visit Chicago 5-6 times a year, so I'm back on the hunt for a hotel I can depend on for quality service and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodstock, Illinois
Jan 17, 2011

Cubs Convention

Extremely friendly. Checked in immediately at 9 a.m. which was perfect for us to drop off our clothes and jackets to run across the street for the cubs convention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern, WI
Jan 3, 2011

Great loc. for Grant park, Shedd, etc

Good location for museums, fast food nearby but not many other dining options. Nice pool and workout facility, these could have been a little cleaner and better maintained. Helpful and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jan 1, 2011

Great stay at Essex Inn

My son and I really enjoyed staying at the Essex Inn. The hotel was around since I was a kid and always wondered what it would be like to stay at one of the hotel on Michigan Avenue. We were there from Dec 25 - Jan 1. It was the perfect location, it was near everything you could need in Chicago. Near the subways, buses, Jewel Food Store, restaurants, Metro and South Shore train stations, Museums. I am a native Chicagoan, growing up in the suburbs and working in the city. I know just about everything as far as how to use public transportation and where to go and what to see in Chicago. Essex website also had some great links as to transportation. If you fly into O'Hare you can take the blue line train to Jackson. Walk 3 blocks east to Michigan Avenue, and then south 5 blocks to Michigan Ave and 8th Street. For eating you can't beat the Yolk. I had the eggs and cornbeef hash which is $9.95 and you get more potatoes or fruit, toast, english muffin or pancakes. You will not starve at the Yolk! From the hotel you can walk to the Field Museum, Planetarium and Aquarium or take the one way shuttle. The shuttle will also take you to Navy Pier, Hancock center. The pool is open till 10 PM and it's heated. Our room was great, we had two full size beds with 3 pillows on each bed with different firmness, down blanket, we slept good. They also have a refrigerator so if you like you can go to Jewel down the street and stock up. If you like to penny pinch a little you could have cereal for breakfast and make PB&J and a few snacks for on the go then eat out for dinner. Some of my choice places to eat: Carson's Ribs, Giordano's Pizza, Lawry's Prime Rib, Ed Debevic's for burgers, Portillo's for hotdogs, chili, maxwell street polish and lasagna, Maggiano's for Italian. But, I would skip the Billy Goat Tavern (Saturday Night Live) for the cheezborger cheezborger; it will leave you asking, where's the beef? Bus 29 will take you to Navy Pier (catch at on State Street), Bus 10, if that's not running you can take Bus 6 (a few more stops) will take you to Museum of Science and Industry. You can hear the subway but hey your in the city, if you want silence to to the burbs or country. I slept through it without a problem but for some you could bring earplugs if you never been to a city before. I won't say which room number I was in but I not only could see the Sear's Tower, I was able to see the fireworks from Navy Pier on New Years Eve. Hence, the reason why I won't say which room is because when I go back I want that room again! By the way, the rooms along the east side of the hotel which faces onto Michigan Avenue are all suites. Saw one reference to someone mentioning bed bugs and I didn't find any bugs of any kind. Chicago also has free events, Lincoln Park Zoo is always Free, use CTA bus 151. CTA has a great site for helping you get around. Essex Inn was convienently located to everything, a great place to stay, hotel staff was really friendly too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See comments in Experience at hotel. I'm giving the hotel 3 for the restaurant downstairs was closed most of the time I was there. They started offering a continential breakfast on Dec 28th but didn't check it out. They do have a few restaurants within a block or two of hotel and more a few blocks out further.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
brent c
Business
small town indiana
Dec 31, 2010

housekeeping stole my wifes tampons!!!

We came back from our room being cleaned and my wifes tampons were gone. Also my son pulled a dirty sock from under the bed GROSS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad&Co
Business
Bloomington, IL
Dec 14, 2010

Chicago Trip

I originally made the reservation for a single queen room. I was travelling with my wife and two y.o. son and we were staying a single night. When I got my email confirmation before the trip it said the reservation was for 1 guest. I called [...]two days before the reservation and talked to [...], to let him know there were actually three of us. He talked to [...]with the hotel and got back to me saying it was ok. Was pleasantly surprised at check-in that we were upgraded to a king. The added space made our night sleep much more comfortable and pleasant.The rooms aren't huge, but reasonable for the price and were clean and comfortable. The hotel has a very nice pool area which my son really enjoyed. The location is ideal. Walking distance to the Field and Shedd. Good restaurants and shopping all very close.Again, I want to thank [...] for their kind act. Overall my family very much enjoyed our trip, but my son isn't used to travelling and was a bit stressed. Small things like that can make a big difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Great Lakes, Il
Dec 6, 2010

Wonderful location, Great price!

Great getaway spot. Very close to all the necessaties. Cllose to Lincoln Park, the Museums, tons of place to eat within a mile radius. Loved the downstairs bar. Staff and Housekeeping were unbeatable. Would recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Justin Kim
Business
Iowa
Nov 27, 2010

Terrible trip with this hotel.

The first impression of this hotel was very nice. It was clean and neat. However, when we took a shower, we faced a drainage problem. so, we called the front dest, adn they sent an engineer to our room. So far, it wasn`t that bad. But the problem was that that engineer came to our room 20 mins later. We had to wait with being wet. Moreover, it wouldn`t be fixed perfectly even though that guy said " it is good as a new one". We call the font desk to ask about changing the room. but they didn`t do it for us. They dicided to sent the engineer to our room again. and we had to wait another 15 mins. Finally, our room was chaged. After we moved to 10th floor, we were pretty impressed by their careness. However, when we tried to sleep, heater made crazy noise.....I just didn`t want to complain again....So being tired of doing that....Also,,,neigbors on 10th floor..were crazy. they sang a song so loudly in the hall... In spite of their kindness they showed us, I won`t go this hotel again... One more, vending maching on 10th floor swallowed our money...I hope they can fix that machine..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Nov 23, 2010

The week before Thanksgiving

Absolutely delighted with the accomodations. Was lucky enough to get an end room so floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides. The room was small, but very tidy and perfect for what we needed. And we got a great rate. This place has obviously been recently upgraded becasue the hotel itself has been here for ages. Great location along Michican Ave, about 2 blocks to the Museum and Millennium Park. Only drawback was not being able to get into the free wifi but there's a Caribou Coffee a block away that served us well. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple very good, old-neighborhood restaurants along Wabash (1 block off Michigan)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed KRS
Business
Normal, IL
Nov 12, 2010

not so hot

I was in town for a funeral and I must say my stay was less than pleasant. The beds were HARD my daughter and I tossed and turned all night long, the bathroom was small and OLD! We were woke up around 6:30 in the morning to what appeared to be hammering on the walls, the maid banged on the door at 8 am to see when we were checking out. The food at the restarant was awful to put it lightly will NOT stay there ever again! Plus parking for ONE NIGHT in THEIR parking deck was almost $40!! Not impressed planning a trip again soon but will not be at that hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top