$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
klinf
Family
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Basic, but affordable

The pool and terrace are great, making up for the small rooms. The beds were very comfy, though rooms were a bit drab. Bathrooms are very basic. you can't beat the location, which was the most important aspect for me and my 3 children.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ljohnson
Single
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 12, 2012

expecting better

I know you don't get a lot of space in a city hotel but for almost $200/night, I was expecting a bit more than a minuscule sink (literally, barely large/deep enough to wash my hands) with serious drainage problems; large flat screen TV with no cable signal; and a toilet which looked like it had taken out a public restroom stall and plopped down into the hotel bathroom. The room was just not cozy ... and it didn't help that teenagers' shouts could be heard the ENTIRE night. When I told the staff about our issues, all I got was, "Thank you for your input. We'll take that into consideration." In other words, 'Sorry you had a bad time but I could care less. See ya later.' I think next time we'll pay the extra $20 and try the larger hotel chain next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gioco's is cute, rustic Italian restaurant less than a mile's walk from the hotel. The atmosphere is cozy, prices are fairly average and the food is good!

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich chgo
Single
Worcester England
Mar 5, 2012

Regular visitor

I have been a regulaor visitor to Chicago since 2006 & nowadays always stay at the Essex. Excellent hotel, good rooms, facilities & helpfull staff. Great location too, have not used a cab in years as the nearby red line will get you anywhere in the city. Have stayed in other Chicago hotels but find the Essex by far the best, for value, location, comfort & friendlness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Red line CTA 2 blocks away

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emva
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Great location and inexpensive price

The Essex hotel is in a great location that is walking distance from the Orange line to Midway, 2 blocks away from the Red line, and has bus stops right in front. There are plenty of tourist attractions walking distance from the hotel, including Buckingham fountain and the Bean! The hotel room is small and has an incredibly small sink. It was hard to share with 4 people because there was not enough storage space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
waiwai
Friends
Champaign, IL, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Perfect semi-budget stay

Shared a room with a friend, room was spacious and equipped with all the essentials we need! Even come with hair dryer, ironing board and iron, flat screen TV etc. Also, it's near the loop and attractions, we just walked everywhere, and the free shuttle from the inn was just awesome. And luggage storage service after we checked out. Really value for money for all the facilities offered, very satisfied stay overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKL FL
Couples
Cocoa, FL, USA
Feb 5, 2012

My favorite heart of Chicago retreat

Walk everywhere easily, metro to/from airport, museums, restaurants, theater, symphony-- free wireless internet, coffee, fridge in room, easy to check in/out, friendly and convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk everywhere easily, metro to/from airport, museums, restaurants, theater, symphony-- free wireless internet, coffee, fridge in room, easy to check in/out, friendly and convenient

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richardfl
Business
Plantation, FL, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Good location

Near good restaurants and convention center. Nice staff attitude, very helpful at all times. Gym and Restaurant closed, which made me qualify with a low score, they should make arrangements for breakfast availability either in the room or the lobby to overcome the closed restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekly biz travel
Business
Fremont, MI
Jan 6, 2012

exactly what I needed

The room was clean, small but adequate, interesting, inexpensive, and perfect for my one-night business stay. They provide Rusk toiletries. My only minor complaint was that the vending machines on 5 floors would not accept my change - all my quarters were perhaps too new and the machines too old? - so I gave up (and did not pursue with the hotel staff, so perhaps a fix was available). But I will definitely return for all my business trips, and have already suggested to my husband using this hotel as a base for future leisure travel to Chicago. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a short walk - 10 min maximum - from the Red Line Jackson station.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sus74s7s
Friends
grand rapids
Dec 29, 2011

it was alright

the location was great. located near three trains and walkind distance from lake shore drive. i was not impressed with the 39 a night in and out parking tab and no free breakfast in the morning like many other hotels that i have stayed at. plus the restaurant in the hotel was closed the entire weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Not Applicable

rannilis is amazing and they do deliver . the food and portion size is out tof this world for the price.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lakota Music Dad
Couples
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Dec 19, 2011

2-Day Getaway

We attended the Midwest Clinic held at the McCormick Center. The Essex was very close to the McCormick Convention Center and served our purpose quite well. The rate was reasonable, the room roomier than other 'loop' hotels, and traffic was not an issue despite the detour on Congress. On the down side, the hotel's restaurant was closed for renovation, making meals an excursion, but in Chicago, not a problem. In addition, we attended the Nutcracker at The Auditorium, two shorts blocks from the Essex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check for shows at the Auditorium Theatre...well worth the expense....Also there's a nice jazz/blues club just minutes away from the Essex.

Back to menu Return to top