$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Central Loop Hotel

3 stars
111A West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
314 reviews
perfect spot in the city!

Visited Chicago for a very quick weekend trip with my sister and could not have been more pleased... See full review

  • JayL.
  • Nov 10, 2014
This place was great

It doesn't have a big name, but who cares. It's right in the loop, it has everything you'd want... See full review

  • iceblocky
  • Aug 29, 2014
Chicago hotel with British pub and free bottled water near attractions
As the name implies, the Central Loop Hotel sits in the heart of the historic Loop, the bustling business and cultural district of downtown Chicago. Find good value at this contemporary hotel with an on-site pub at the edge of the theatre district. Top landmarks within a mile include Willis Tower, Grant Park, Magnificent Mile, the Art Institute of Chicago and Millennium Park. Choose from simple rooms or kitchenette suites and enjoy free bottled water, Internet access, a fitness center and complementary laundry facility at the Central Loop Hotel.

 

Highlights
  • Free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • On-site neighborhood pub and restaurant with British flair
  • Fitness center
  • Free chilled bottled water on every floor and a free laundry facility
  • Close to transportation

 

Rooms
For inviting, modern accommodations at economical prices, the Central Loop Hotel offers a range of small rooms for solo travelers to suites with kitchenettes. Designed for comfort, guest rooms pair pillow-top mattresses and down duvets with a flat-screen TV, MP3 docking station and ergonomic work station with free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Order room service or check out the restaurant menus for 24-hour delivery. Upgrade to find an in-room kitchenette or book a corporate apartment for extended stays at the Central Loop Hotel.

 

Features
Imported draft beers, an extensive scotch selection and a British-infused menu tempt guests to Elephant & Castle, the lively restaurant and pub at the Central Loop Hotel. Walk to coffee shops and convenience stores which sit near several subway stops. Chat with the 24-hour concierge for local suggestions and take advantage of on-site valet parking with in-and-out privileges (fees apply) or park at an affiliated garage nearby (fees apply). Request same-day dry cleaning or use the self-service laundry and free detergent at the Central Loop Hotel.

 

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (11.4 mi/18.4 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.2 mi/29.4 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Willis Tower (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Soldier Field (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Navy Pier (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • U.S. Cellular Field (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • McCormick Place (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Wrigley Field (6.4 mi/10.4 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary use of lobby computer with Internet access and printer
  • Elephant & Castle restaurant offers lobby-level meeting rooms

 

Policies and fees
The Central Loop Hotel is affiliated with the South Loop Garage located at 318 S. Federal Street. The cost is $20 USD for 24 hours with no in-and-out privileges. Valet parking also is available on site for $34 USD per night with in-and-out privileges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Central Loop Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Central Loop Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Single Small Double -Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water
Standard Room
Non-smoking room-1 queen bed, work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Union Station: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.8 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 1.3 mi

Dining

Elephant and Castle Pub and Restaurant
Onsite restaurant with authentic British decor boasts Chicagos most comprehensive menu of beer and whiskey. The breakfast lunch and dinner menus feature both American and British classic casual fare at reasonable prices.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to hotel guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for Central Loop Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jhawks
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 16, 2012

Better than I imagined!

We were in from the suburbs for a birthday party, so while the location was fantastic, we didn't explore much around the area. My boyfriend works close by and said there are a lot of restaurant choices in the area. The hotel has computer stations in the lobby to check yourself in and out, which was nice as there were several big groups waiting. The room was beautiful - modern, sleek, extremely clean. It was right downtown in a great location. The attached restaurant, Elephant & Castle, was terrific - we had both dinner & breakfast there! I researched options by price and this was far less expensive than other hotels which I think weren't as nice. The staff was courteous, kind, and polite. Fantastic place, would go back there in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nong
Business
MN
Jul 7, 2011

Quick booking turned into a headache

I booked a twin bed room for a Sunday evening check-in in downtown Chicago. The parking garage affiliated with the hospital was a few blocks away, so after parking we carted all of our luggage to the hotel. This was around 9pm. When we got to the hotel, we were told that the floor we were on had been closed earlier in the evening due to electrical problems and they had no open rooms for us. Instead, we would be redirected to their sister hotel. Although we received a gift certificate for a free night's stay and was told that they would comp our parking at the other hotel, I was angry because we were not informed of the change beforehand, had to walk back to the parking garage, pay the ridiculous $34 parking fee, then drive to other hotel. When we got to the other hotel, we immediately went in to checking and despite telling the concierge that the other hotel agreed to comp our parking, he attempted to tell us that we needed to drive our cars to their garage. I was not having it since it was 11pm by that time and he finally agreed that we would get free valet parking and late check out. It was an absolute debacle...and what was more annoying was that the room was insanely small at the new hotel! The room barely had any walking room between the twin beds, with a desk crowded to one side. This experience was ruined the end of my vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Still sleepy in Chicago
Business
New York
Sep 7, 2010

Nice area, not so nice room

First of all, they do not allow early check-in's whatsoever. So be aware. The hotel was at a great location, but the rooms ruined it completely. When we arrived the room wreaked of lemon cleaner to the point that I had a horrible headache. Also, the shower was so tiny I couldn't hardly bathe. The real problem was that I was supposed to have a Queen bed and when I got to my room they had pushed together two twin beds and put some fabric in between. It was the most uncomfortable bed to say the least. After finally getting to sleep, I had to be awoken by the heavily obese neighbors dirty sexual endeavors because the walls were so thin it felt as if they were in our room. It is very hard to sleep when all you hear is [*]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ELGIN,IL.
Jun 14, 2009

OVER BOOKING - NO NOTIFICATION

THERE WAS NO EXPERIENCE AT THIS HOTEL!!! AFTER WE HAD HANDED OVER OUR KEYS & CAR TO THE VALET STAFF AT 6:45PM AND WALKED TO THE FRONT DESK WERE TOLD THAT ORBITZ HAD OVER BOOKED THE HOTEL AND THEY WERE SENDING US TO THE WILLOWS HOTEL AT 555 WEST SURF ST. IN CHICAGO APPOX 4-1/2 MILES NORTH. DO TO THE FACT THAT MY WIFE & I WERE DELAYED GETTING TO THE HOTEL BECAUSE OF THE 2-1/2 HOURS WE SPENT IN TRAFFIC DRIVING FROM OUR HOME IN ELGIN,IL ON INTERSTATE RT 90/94 WE WERE RUNNING OUT TIME. WE NEEDED TO BE ONBOARD THE ODDSSEY CRUISE BOAT AT NAVY PIER FOR A SUPRISE 60TH BIRTHDAY PARTY MY FAMILY AND I WERE HAVING FOR MY WIFE BUT WE NEEDED TO BE THERE BY 7:30PM. SO BY THE TIME WE GOT THE CAR BACK WE HAD ONLY 35MINS TO DRIVE TO THE WILLOW HOTEL,PARK THE CAR IN A PARKING GARAGE NEXT DOOR TO THE HOTEL,CHANGE OUR CLOTHS AND CATCH A TAXI TO NAVY PIER IN TIME TO BE ONBOARD THE BOAT BEFORE IT PULLED AWAY FROM THE DOCK WITH ALL OUR GUESTS ONBOARD & US STANDING ON THE DOCK WAVING GOODBYE. SOME HOW WE MADE IT ONBOARD JUST A FEW MINS BEFORE DEPARTURE TIME AT 8:00PM. WHAT MAKES ME MAD ABOUT THE WHOLE SITUATION NO ONE FROM FROM GUEST QUARTERS HOTEL GROUP OR ORBITZ BOTHERED TO CALL US TO LET US KNOW WHAT WAS GOING ON AHEAD OF TIME... WE USED ORBITZ SERVICES BEFORE AND WE WERE CALLED AND ADVISE OUR FLIGHT WAS DELAYED BUT NOT THIS TIME. I ADMIT TRAFFIC CAUSED PROBLEMS BUT NO CALLS - NOT GOOD!!!!! THAT'S NOT A WAY TO KEEP A CUSTOMER HAPPY,NO SIR. IT DID NOT MAKE THE NIGHT WHAT I HAD HOPED IT WOULD BE. SO WHATS YOUR TAKE ON WHAT HAPPENED ORBITZ ? IN GUEST QUARTERS DEFENSE THEY GAVE US A COMPLIMENTARY ONE NITE STAY BUT I STILL FEEL WE SHOULD HAVE RECIEVED A PHONE CALL E-MAIL SOMETHING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 16, 2009

Will look for a better hotel next time.

We chose this hotel because of its value. With value, usually comes a lack of ammenaties and perks- which we fully expected. We figured that we just needed a decent place to sleep at night since much of our trip kept us on the go and away from the hotel. BUT- the bed was so terrible that we didn't sleep much at all. The one thing that a value minded hotel should be good for, this one failed. I learned a valuable lessen on this trip: Spot the extra fifty bucks for a room and you get to sleep at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
May 3, 2009

Good Location with trade-offs

Was in Chicago for business-leisure trip, booked in this hotel because location seemed good. Room left a lot to be desired, NO WINDOWS!!, cheap linen, overheated room at 72F ( cannot lower because all hotel is in heating mode), no bathtub, everything was in very small proportions. Do not rent/drive a car if using this hotel as valet will park it 3 blocks away and need 20-30 min to get your car everytime you need it. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is really very good. It is a very long walk to magnificient mile though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 22, 2009

Horrible

The only thing good about this hotel is its proximity to the W Hotel. Run over to the W and pay the money, this hotel is HORRIBLE. Rooms were probably supposed to be part of an office complex. I felt like I was a private in the army again, living very low class. Would never recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lola and Louie
Business
Denver, CO
May 31, 2009

Not all it's cracked up to be.

First of all, we walked into the small room and my wife attempted to open the luggage table and it immediately crashed to the floor. We had wait in the room to have a repair man come in and fix it. The table wasn't repaired, he merely capped off the wall attachment and left. Then, when I went to use the facilities, the toilet wouldn't completely flush unless I held down the handle. I had to do this four times before the toilet would completely flush. Also, there was no bathtub, and the bathroom wasn't stocked for two people--there was only one washcloth, two towels, one small round soap and no bathmat. The television was placed in a small alcove in the corner of the room, very difficult to see from the bed in the center of the room. In addition, the temperature of the room was cold, no matter how high we set the thermostat. Finally, when we were turning in, the alarm clock didn't work at all. We went expecting this historic and classy hotel. Needless to say, we were extremely disappointed and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Oh, and by the way, if you are expecting a first-class restaurant in the hotel, you'd be better off going to Bennigan's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
missmonochrome
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 28, 2012

Great location, middling hotel

You can't ask for a better location, near most of the major train/bus lines. While I can't say this was an awful hotel, it was extremely average and minimal, and I'd have expected better at this price point. Room was clean, but very small, walls were very thin. Staff was helpful when asked a direct question, happy to ignore you otherwise. The overall experience was an overpriced Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 7, 2011

U 2 will suffer

Very small room !!!! Not enough space in room for two people. Bathroom very small. No sink space. No air vent, no exhaust fan! Room very humid, made the popcorn from Garrett's stale within a few hours of purchase and the bags sealed. One ice machine for the entire hotel. Washer and dryer available for free, nice. If I had to describe the hotel in two words: bare bones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Txhoosier
Business
dc
Mar 13, 2011

Meh.

the "king size" bed was 2 doubles shoved together. Good location though. A fine place to stay for Chicago on the cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top