$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Carlton Inn Midway

2 stars
4944 South Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
41 reviews
Great Overnight Stay! Perfect!

The Carlton Inn was perfect for our overnight stay. We needed a pet friendly hotel near Midway for... See full review

  • iankh
  • Jun 3, 2014
Carlton Inn /midway

The staff was super helpful in helping us get to/from the city. For the price, it's in a great... See full review

  • travellin' king
  • Jun 2, 2014
The Carlton Inn Midway is the only hotel in the Midway Airport area that is a short walk from a CTA Orange Line station. We'll always give you a ride upon request. The Carlton Inn Midway offers free parking, free Midway Airport shuttle service, free rides in the neighborhood, free breakfast, free internet (both free wifi, wireless internet, and free wired ethernet in your guestroom), and free use of the business center's computer and printer, as well as use of the fitness center. The Carlton Inn Midway motel of Chicago is within walking distance of shopping centers, convenience stores and many restaurants. Note: Hotel also offers Free Breakfast and Free Parking.

Hotel Map

41.8038 -87.7219
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport (ORD / KORD) and Midway International Airport (MDW / KMDW).
Area description
Easy access to I-55, and the entire interstate highway network
10-20 minutes from the food, shopping, and entertainment of downtown
A short drive to Brookfield Zoo
Easy acess to McCormick Place, University of Chicago, and University of Illinois at Chicago.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Inn Midway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Carlton Inn Midway Rooms

Traditional-Hotel
Two double beds
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable King bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable Double bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free high speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with premium movie channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Union Station: 6.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 6.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 6.8 mi
  • Grant Park: 6.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 6.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 6.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 6.9 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 6.9 mi
  • Opera House: 7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 7.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 7.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 7.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 7.2 mi
  • City Hall: 7.2 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.2 mi
  • State Street: 7.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 7.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 7.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 7.3 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 7.3 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 7.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 7.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Macys: 7.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 7.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Inn Midway

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 41
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manik000001
Memphis
Jun 25, 2014

Ok

Carpet dirty, Room too small for family. Good cust service,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharuby
Billings, MT
May 20, 2013

airport overnight

The staff was super, they even brought out breakfast before our 4am shuttle to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

we dropped off our rental car the night before and the hotel shuttle brought us back to the hotel-saved us a half hour in the wee hours of the morning

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
birthday thyrst
St Paul MN
May 14, 2013

birthday celebration

It's a 2 star hotel what do you expect. Free internet that doesn't work so with the TV set with aircon humming so loud. Far from downtown Chicago and airport. In the heart of Chicano land. It's clean though and free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sherryeldr
Kansas City, MO
May 9, 2013

Terrible Beds!

I'm not sure what is going on with this property. One of the negative reviews I saw before my trip has disappeared. It was from a gentleman who had just arrived in his room and could tell things weren't right. I figured his negative review was just a fluke. Big mistake! We arrived after midnight and it was too late to try to find anything else. First, the room was clean and the staff was friendly, but that should be expected anywhere. I did enjoy the shower. My teenage daughter was nervous because of the neighborhood the hotel is in. The beds were small and I have never slept on a more uncomfortable mattress. My mattress at home is pillow top, but nothing too fancy - not Sleep Number, Tempur-Pedic, or anything like that. I could feel the springs poking into me on the mattress at Carlton Inn. About the time I was able to finally get past my discomfort and get to sleep, the ridiculously loud heating/cooling unit would start up. It woke my husband and I up several times in the night. With the shape of the property, the parking was in the middle of all of the rooms, and every time someone else would arrive or depart, the noise would wake me up. I woke up early the next morning and called the hotel office immediately. I was informed that all of the hotel's beds are the same. I got on the phone with the travel company I booked through and made arrangements to check out and get as much of my money back as possible. We stopped by the Carlton's continental breakfast buffet before we left. The donuts were stale and the breakfast sandwich was still frozen. We moved to the Holiday Inn and Suites by O'hare. We got a two-room suite with 2 queen beds for $89 per night. Our rate at Carlton was $137. The Holiday Inn beds were plush and comfy and the bedding was good quality. I'll be looking for Holiday Inn and Suites from now on wherever I go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janice Jan
aurora,il
Sep 13, 2012

weekend fun

This hotel is at a great location not to far from down town and it has wonderful service at the front desk. If your looking to stay in the city for a night this is a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
duke8167
cincinnati, oh
Aug 12, 2012

A reasonable place near downtown chicago to stay

The hotel is about 8 miles from downtown Chicago. Room has lots of amenities - free wifi, coffee, microwave, refridgerator. Clean, small room but acceptable place to sleep. Breakfast included. Very friendly staff. Well lit place, located on a major street, so I felt quite safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ProfessorKM
Rochester, Michigan
Jun 21, 2012

Well run, excellent staff and service

If you want to enjoy Chicago, with a family of five, stay here. walk 2min to orange line train, to go in and put of the downtown fast and fun. Deep dish pizza around corner from this hotel is excellent. Petes fresh market up Pulaski is great for fresh fruit. Staff will give you a metro map and show you how to find anything. They have their own shuttles and offer to drop and pick up aroung the area. Parking is free for customers. Excellent hotel overall. Dr .M.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For $5.25 a day, get a 24 hour unlimited train, bus pass. You can zip back to this hotel for mid afternoon nap and to freshen up before zipping back to the navy pier for a good hotdog and evening air.

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
franklin tenn
Aug 10, 2010

Great location , close to rail travel .

great location, close to rail to down town. Quiet and very clean. Staff very helpful. We were there for the lallapolsa music fest. Great time. Hotel should state that it is close to rail and bus transit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search