$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Carlton Inn Midway

2 stars
View map of 4944 South Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
40 reviews
Great service and room

The staff were extremely helpful and had many resources to offer us. The room was clean and the... See full review

  • Mr. Traveler from MN
  • Oct 20, 2014
Good stuff!

Great night stay! Quiet, Clean and a great staff. Great restaurants within walking distance and... See full review

  • Overnight Guy
  • Sep 11, 2014
The Carlton Inn Midway is the only hotel in the Midway Airport area that is a short walk from a CTA Orange Line station. We'll always give you a ride upon request. The Carlton Inn Midway offers free parking, free Midway Airport shuttle service, free rides in the neighborhood, free breakfast, free internet (both free wifi, wireless internet, and free wired ethernet in your guestroom), and free use of the business center's computer and printer, as well as use of the fitness center. The Carlton Inn Midway motel of Chicago is within walking distance of shopping centers, convenience stores and many restaurants. Note: Hotel also offers Free Breakfast and Free Parking.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Inn Midway also booked these hotels.

★★★
$109
3.3 / 5 39 reviews
★★
$139
3.7 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$136
3.9 / 5 23 reviews
★★
$66
3.0 / 5 258 reviews
★★
$59
3.2 / 5 52 reviews
★★
$132
3.2 / 5 22 reviews
$65
3.4 / 5 68 reviews
★★★
$129
3.9 / 5 68 reviews

Carlton Inn Midway Rooms

Traditional-Hotel
Two double beds
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable King bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable Double bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free high speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with premium movie channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Union Station: 6.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 6.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 6.8 mi
  • Grant Park: 6.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 6.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 6.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 6.9 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 6.9 mi
  • Opera House: 7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 7 mi
  • Auditorium Theatre: 7.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 7.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 7.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 7.2 mi
  • City Hall: 7.2 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.2 mi
  • State Street: 7.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 7.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 7.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 7.3 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 7.3 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 7.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 7.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Macys: 7.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 7.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Inn Midway

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 40
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apacherosep
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Sep 29, 2014

Convenient and affordable

Parking is free, which was a big plus after seeing the overnight fees at the hotels downtown. The location is great - right down the road from the CTA station, where you can take the train to downtown or to the airport. The rooms were very tidy and looked as though they had been recently renovated. There was a large variety for breakfast - donuts and croissant sandwiches from Dunkin' Donuts, yogurt, fruit, bagels, cereal, orange juice, coffee. We thought it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jp16loney
Couples
cleveland, oh
Aug 4, 2014

good value

Rooms were clean and comfortable...the staff was awesome, offered advice on getting around the city, provided maps and resources, was willing to help in any way. The location is very close to public transportation which saved us from driving and paying for parking in the city. Only negative, if you can even call it that is they don't have king size beds but that's about the only thing I can recommend to improve upon. other than that, thanks to all the staffin helping add to our great time there in Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pass up the chains, go to d'agastinos on addison for the best deep dish in chicago.. my favorite when I lived there and ne ver disappoints when I go back to visit

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alice in Eden
Couples
sf, ca
Jul 31, 2014

Simply an overnight rest stop

We had a very late night flight and needed someplace cheap and quick for an overnight stay before leaving on the morning. This fit the bill, but don't expect any creature comforts. Average room, average bed, average shower. Didn't avail of the free breakfast. Airport shuttle pickup at 2am was a Godsend. Staff was very helpful and friendly. What more to say - it's a place to rest your weary head for the night and take a shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snuffy's Mom
Couples
Cedar Rapids, IA
Jul 26, 2014

Just close enough but just far enough away!

We booked here after reading other reviews saying how great the location was for the price. We agree! Parking is included, which usually costs at least another $30/day closer into the city. The drive to the Museum of Science and Industry and to Second City weren't bad at all. We didn't take the train, but the staff recommended it as an option - the train stop was super close. Bonus - they serve Dunkin Donuts for breakfast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zchen
Couples
Champaign, IL
Jul 6, 2014

Free shuttle; Friendly staff; Small but clean room

My friends and I selected Carlton Inn when we flew into Chicago to attend a concert at the United Center. Hotel is near the airport, not near the United Center though The staff is so super friendly and helpful. The free shuttle was a real help to and from the airport and taking us to the local Walgreens for things we forgot to bring. Nice free breakfast - we loved the pancake machine! My friends asked for late checkout due to late afternoon flight home and that was accommodated with a smile. It isn't very close to any major attractions but the shuttle will take you to the train station a few blocks away for that. There is also a very good restaurant with home-style meals right next door. We had a room with 2 queen beds which were comfy, A/C worked, nice having fridge in room, bathroom was rather small but functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Very satisfied customers
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 17, 2014

Exactly what we needed!

Our stay at the Carlton Inn by midway was great! The staff was very polite, helpful, and informative. The rooms were a little on the smaller side, but we're very clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed (microwave, fridge, closet space, desk,cable, etc.)The location was ten min from midway and there was food and shopping near by. We were fifteen minutes from rush and division (bar scene) and not very far from major highways. The parking was a little tight, but it was free and we worked it out! We would definitely stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sakoda
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 6, 2014

Good stayover

Stayed here a couple nights while stuck in Chicago, and it was very convenient to the airport. Amazing cable, and the room was very spacious. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, although the breakfast was a little lacking. There's also not too much near it, besides Midway Airport, so it wouldn't be the best place to stay if you're actually interested in seeing more of Chicago. Still, I'd strongly recommend to anyone who needs to stay over in Chicago a day or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordanos pizza is within walking distance Really good pizza.

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fange'
Couples
Cairns Australia
Sep 23, 2012

Great place to stay if you need to and from Midway airport

We had no trouble getting to with the GPS . We wanted to leave our bags early as we had to take the hire car back to o'hare. They took our bags and stored them for us with no fuss, they even carried them in for us. The shuttle service is very efficient and helpful. The rooms are clean and well kept. All amenities, good service and friendly staff. Continental breakfast. We would have no worries about recommending this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China Ho restaraunt near rail station. In mall area.

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
highwayrob
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jul 18, 2012

Chicago Taste Fest

Very Friendly hotel staff, I would stay again when I return to Chicago....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lildragon
Couples
Missouri
Oct 10, 2011

Super friendly, helpful staff/ sketch part of town

The Carlton Inn staff were very helpful. We stayed just one night before running the Chicago marathon. We chose the inn based on the best combination of positive reviews, access to public transportation and nearness to downtown. My first phone call, before we booked, confirmed what other reviews said about the staff. They provided a free 24hr shuttle to the train station and plenty of maps and tools for getting around. They were friendly, allowed us to keep the car there even after checkout and served breakfast early for the runners. The room was small but clean and comfortable, with a fridge for our Powerade. The only thing I didn't like was the neighborhood. the hotel itself is tucked around a safe-feeling corner, but we went for a walk at night to the grocery store and saw some rough sites. Then again, I'm sure if it were in nicer part of town it wouldn't be so affordable. We don't know the neighborhood, it may not in actuality be that rough, it was just a feeling we got. I recommend this place for adults who are traveling to and from the airport or who need a base from which to launch their Chicago tour, but families with young children or single people who need to be out at night may be taking a risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top