$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Carlton Inn Midway

2 stars
View map of 4944 South Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
40 reviews
Great service and room

The staff were extremely helpful and had many resources to offer us. The room was clean and the... See full review

  • Mr. Traveler from MN
  • Oct 20, 2014
Good stuff!

Great night stay! Quiet, Clean and a great staff. Great restaurants within walking distance and... See full review

  • Overnight Guy
  • Sep 11, 2014
The Carlton Inn Midway is the only hotel in the Midway Airport area that is a short walk from a CTA Orange Line station. We'll always give you a ride upon request. The Carlton Inn Midway offers free parking, free Midway Airport shuttle service, free rides in the neighborhood, free breakfast, free internet (both free wifi, wireless internet, and free wired ethernet in your guestroom), and free use of the business center's computer and printer, as well as use of the fitness center. The Carlton Inn Midway motel of Chicago is within walking distance of shopping centers, convenience stores and many restaurants. Note: Hotel also offers Free Breakfast and Free Parking.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Inn Midway also booked these hotels.

★★★
$109
3.3 / 5 39 reviews
★★
$139
3.7 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$136
3.9 / 5 23 reviews
★★
$66
3.0 / 5 258 reviews
★★
$59
3.2 / 5 52 reviews
★★
$132
3.2 / 5 22 reviews
$65
3.4 / 5 68 reviews
★★★
$129
3.9 / 5 68 reviews

Carlton Inn Midway Rooms

Traditional-Hotel
Two double beds
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable King bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable Double bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free high speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with premium movie channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Union Station: 6.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 6.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 6.8 mi
  • Grant Park: 6.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 6.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 6.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 6.9 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 6.9 mi
  • Opera House: 7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 7 mi
  • Auditorium Theatre: 7.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 7.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 7.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 7.2 mi
  • City Hall: 7.2 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.2 mi
  • State Street: 7.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 7.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 7.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 7.3 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 7.3 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 7.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 7.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Macys: 7.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 7.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Inn Midway

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Very satisfied customers
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 17, 2014

Exactly what we needed!

Our stay at the Carlton Inn by midway was great! The staff was very polite, helpful, and informative. The rooms were a little on the smaller side, but we're very clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed (microwave, fridge, closet space, desk,cable, etc.)The location was ten min from midway and there was food and shopping near by. We were fifteen minutes from rush and division (bar scene) and not very far from major highways. The parking was a little tight, but it was free and we worked it out! We would definitely stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lildragon
Couples
Missouri
Oct 10, 2011

Super friendly, helpful staff/ sketch part of town

The Carlton Inn staff were very helpful. We stayed just one night before running the Chicago marathon. We chose the inn based on the best combination of positive reviews, access to public transportation and nearness to downtown. My first phone call, before we booked, confirmed what other reviews said about the staff. They provided a free 24hr shuttle to the train station and plenty of maps and tools for getting around. They were friendly, allowed us to keep the car there even after checkout and served breakfast early for the runners. The room was small but clean and comfortable, with a fridge for our Powerade. The only thing I didn't like was the neighborhood. the hotel itself is tucked around a safe-feeling corner, but we went for a walk at night to the grocery store and saw some rough sites. Then again, I'm sure if it were in nicer part of town it wouldn't be so affordable. We don't know the neighborhood, it may not in actuality be that rough, it was just a feeling we got. I recommend this place for adults who are traveling to and from the airport or who need a base from which to launch their Chicago tour, but families with young children or single people who need to be out at night may be taking a risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ProfessorKM
Family
Rochester, Michigan
Jun 21, 2012

Well run, excellent staff and service

If you want to enjoy Chicago, with a family of five, stay here. walk 2min to orange line train, to go in and put of the downtown fast and fun. Deep dish pizza around corner from this hotel is excellent. Petes fresh market up Pulaski is great for fresh fruit. Staff will give you a metro map and show you how to find anything. They have their own shuttles and offer to drop and pick up aroung the area. Parking is free for customers. Excellent hotel overall. Dr .M.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For $5.25 a day, get a 24 hour unlimited train, bus pass. You can zip back to this hotel for mid afternoon nap and to freshen up before zipping back to the navy pier for a good hotdog and evening air.

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fange'
Couples
Cairns Australia
Sep 23, 2012

Great place to stay if you need to and from Midway airport

We had no trouble getting to with the GPS . We wanted to leave our bags early as we had to take the hire car back to o'hare. They took our bags and stored them for us with no fuss, they even carried them in for us. The shuttle service is very efficient and helpful. The rooms are clean and well kept. All amenities, good service and friendly staff. Continental breakfast. We would have no worries about recommending this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China Ho restaraunt near rail station. In mall area.

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travellin' king
Friends
New Hampshire
Jun 2, 2014

Carlton Inn /midway

The staff was super helpful in helping us get to/from the city. For the price, it's in a great location, right off the El orange line that goes directly into the city and the train operates until 1am. If you don't mind the experience of the El, the Carlton Inn Midwway is a good choice for people on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iankh
Chicago
Jun 3, 2014

Great Overnight Stay! Perfect!

The Carlton Inn was perfect for our overnight stay. We needed a pet friendly hotel near Midway for the night before our flight. Somewhere that would accommodate us and our 2 small dogs (Maltese). The room was very very comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff were consistently wonderful. I've travelled the globe extensively on business and can honestly say that all of the the staff we interacted with at the Carlton were as friendly, helpful and accommodating as any 5 star hotel I've stayed in. The Carlton is a 2-star hotel, but the room was very clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was a surprise because, though simple was quite varied and good. We took the shuttle to Midway. We had 5 suitcases plus the 2 dogs and their in-cabin carriers. The driver picked us up outside our room and was helpful with the bags. The Carlton was perfect for our needs and perfect for our night before our flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We found that the best place take our dogs was the bank next that had some grassy strips. It was a short walk and avoided having to cross the rather busy Archer Avenue.

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Traveler from MN
Friends
Saint Paul, MN
Oct 20, 2014

Great service and room

The staff were extremely helpful and had many resources to offer us. The room was clean and the complimentary breakfast from Dunk N Donuts was good. The only thing that bothered me was the location. The Inn was located in a rougher part of the city. However, the train was located within a mile's walk, which was convenient with traveling around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the train. You save time on getting stuck in traffic and you don't have to pay $20 for the first 30 minutes in a ramp.

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Overnight Guy
Business
Lake St. Louis, Mo
Sep 11, 2014

Good stuff!

Great night stay! Quiet, Clean and a great staff. Great restaurants within walking distance and only 9 miles from downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sakoda
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 6, 2014

Good stayover

Stayed here a couple nights while stuck in Chicago, and it was very convenient to the airport. Amazing cable, and the room was very spacious. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, although the breakfast was a little lacking. There's also not too much near it, besides Midway Airport, so it wouldn't be the best place to stay if you're actually interested in seeing more of Chicago. Still, I'd strongly recommend to anyone who needs to stay over in Chicago a day or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordanos pizza is within walking distance Really good pizza.

Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Bust Traveler
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Business Trip

The room was very clean and the bed was conmfortable. The owner of the hotel was very friendly and went out of his way to make the experience a good one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top