$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Carlton Inn Midway

2 stars
4944 South Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
41 reviews
Great service and room

The staff were extremely helpful and had many resources to offer us. The room was clean and the... See full review

  • Mr. Traveler from MN
  • Oct 20, 2014
Great Overnight Stay! Perfect!

The Carlton Inn was perfect for our overnight stay. We needed a pet friendly hotel near Midway for... See full review

  • iankh
  • Jun 3, 2014
The Carlton Inn Midway is the only hotel in the Midway Airport area that is a short walk from a CTA Orange Line station. We'll always give you a ride upon request. The Carlton Inn Midway offers free parking, free Midway Airport shuttle service, free rides in the neighborhood, free breakfast, free internet (both free wifi, wireless internet, and free wired ethernet in your guestroom), and free use of the business center's computer and printer, as well as use of the fitness center. The Carlton Inn Midway motel of Chicago is within walking distance of shopping centers, convenience stores and many restaurants. Note: Hotel also offers Free Breakfast and Free Parking.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Inn Midway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Carlton Inn Midway Rooms

Traditional-Hotel
Two double beds
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable King bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable Double bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free high speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with premium movie channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Union Station: 6.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 6.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 6.8 mi
  • Grant Park: 6.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 6.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 6.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 6.9 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 6.9 mi
  • Opera House: 7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 7.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 7.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 7.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 7.2 mi
  • City Hall: 7.2 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.2 mi
  • State Street: 7.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 7.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 7.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 7.3 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 7.3 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 7.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 7.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Macys: 7.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 7.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Inn Midway

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cupidlove
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Great for budget

We stayed at this hotel for a week while we were down in chicago for a seminar. The staff was wonderful right at check-in and the rooms were very comfortable for the limited amount of time that we were actually in our rooms! They had a cute dog at the lobby and his pictures was in the rooms; what a wonderful personal touch the owner has put into the design of the place! There were lots of restaurants nearby and the trains were close enough to walk to. Could get a little loud if you are a light sleeper as the trains and the airplanes passed by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Target and grocery store nearby for those last minute stuff that you forgot to pack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lildragon
Business
Missouri
Oct 10, 2011

Super friendly, helpful staff/ sketch part of town

The Carlton Inn staff were very helpful. We stayed just one night before running the Chicago marathon. We chose the inn based on the best combination of positive reviews, access to public transportation and nearness to downtown. My first phone call, before we booked, confirmed what other reviews said about the staff. They provided a free 24hr shuttle to the train station and plenty of maps and tools for getting around. They were friendly, allowed us to keep the car there even after checkout and served breakfast early for the runners. The room was small but clean and comfortable, with a fridge for our Powerade. The only thing I didn't like was the neighborhood. the hotel itself is tucked around a safe-feeling corner, but we went for a walk at night to the grocery store and saw some rough sites. Then again, I'm sure if it were in nicer part of town it wouldn't be so affordable. We don't know the neighborhood, it may not in actuality be that rough, it was just a feeling we got. I recommend this place for adults who are traveling to and from the airport or who need a base from which to launch their Chicago tour, but families with young children or single people who need to be out at night may be taking a risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 10, 2011

Great for lay-over between flights

Very helpful and friendly staff. Since there is no elevator, staff offered to help get our bags to the 2nd floor room. Outstanding continental breakfast. Very quick transportation to Midway - 15 minutes. We had a lay-over after a European trip. Would definitely use this hotel again for the same purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful ice cream shop just a block from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IL
May 7, 2011

Much better than expected.

Good location. Nice rooms. Good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ambryt
Business
Atlanta
Apr 13, 2011

Personnel are GREAT...!!!

It was ok..bed was uncomfortable to me but I may be a bit spoiled. The desk personnel were precious...very helpful with ALL of our questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Apr 12, 2011

Good Location, Good Price!

The staff was really helpful in directing us on getting around the city. They have a personal shuttle to take you to nearby places. The motel was surprisingly clean, if not much to look at. If you are bringing pets, the motel has no grass immediately around the premises, so its a short walk across the street or up the block. Overall the experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The "L" and buses are essential for getting around Chicago!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
iowa
Mar 21, 2011

nice place

clean room friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandpap
Business
Saxonburg, Pa
Dec 3, 2010

Chicago Trip

The Motel is near the train station to downtown and has a shuttle to cover the 2 blocks in bad weather. The staff is friendly and knows the area well. The room was comfortable and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Shop ans Save grocery store with all sorts of good local foods

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 21, 2010

godd location to Midway, great price and

vry clean, good location friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pugpugian
Business
Concord, ca
Aug 10, 2010

Fair Hotel

I booked a non-smoking room. However, I smelled funny when I stepped in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top