$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 7, 2015

Carlton Inn Midway

2 stars
View map of 4944 South Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
41 reviews
Great service and room

The staff were extremely helpful and had many resources to offer us. The room was clean and the... See full review

  • Mr. Traveler from MN
  • Oct 20, 2014
Great Overnight Stay! Perfect!

The Carlton Inn was perfect for our overnight stay. We needed a pet friendly hotel near Midway for... See full review

  • iankh
  • Jun 3, 2014
The Carlton Inn Midway is the only hotel in the Midway Airport area that is a short walk from a CTA Orange Line station. We'll always give you a ride upon request. The Carlton Inn Midway offers free parking, free Midway Airport shuttle service, free rides in the neighborhood, free breakfast, free internet (both free wifi, wireless internet, and free wired ethernet in your guestroom), and free use of the business center's computer and printer, as well as use of the fitness center. The Carlton Inn Midway motel of Chicago is within walking distance of shopping centers, convenience stores and many restaurants. Note: Hotel also offers Free Breakfast and Free Parking.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Inn Midway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Carlton Inn Midway Rooms

Traditional-Hotel
Two double beds
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable King bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable Double bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free high speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with premium movie channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Union Station: 6.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 6.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 6.8 mi
  • Grant Park: 6.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 6.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 6.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 6.9 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 6.9 mi
  • Opera House: 7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 7.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 7.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 7.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 7.2 mi
  • City Hall: 7.2 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.2 mi
  • State Street: 7.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 7.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 7.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 7.3 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 7.3 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 7.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 7.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Macys: 7.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 7.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Inn Midway

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sakoda
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 6, 2014

Good stayover

Stayed here a couple nights while stuck in Chicago, and it was very convenient to the airport. Amazing cable, and the room was very spacious. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, although the breakfast was a little lacking. There's also not too much near it, besides Midway Airport, so it wouldn't be the best place to stay if you're actually interested in seeing more of Chicago. Still, I'd strongly recommend to anyone who needs to stay over in Chicago a day or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordanos pizza is within walking distance Really good pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Have Time Will Travel
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 10, 2013

Bad Experience

This hotel is a dump. Went to front desk to check in and immediately left forfeiting pre-paid night stay. This type of place (flop house) is not a bargain at any price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CSW0831
Business
Oxford Mississippi
Jun 23, 2013

Carlton Inn...NO

Room smelled foul, plumbing did not work, carpets had my white socks black after one night --10:30 p.m. arrival so one hour of getting settled in and they were black. I checked out into a hotel that was cleaner, did not smell, and was in a safer neighborhood. The free breakfast is at a restaurant four blocks away and you can only order certain items and sit in certain areas. I do not recommend at all. I am seeking a refund

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cabs are much faster than the subway........subway not clean at all and not as efficient as NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southside stayer
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 20, 2013

Ratings are subjective

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. This was undoubtedly the quietest hotel I have stayed at in a long time. It's not fancy, but excellent for a small operation. The location is great for getting to/from Midway, and I felt the neighborhood was safe. The breakfast was a bit misleading, unless you don't want to eat much. You get a voucher for $7.00 good at a restaurant 2 doors down. Most items started at $6.95 without a beverage. So, it was not exactly a "free" breakfast. Not a 3 or 4 star hotel by most large hotel standards, but at least a 3 + star rating for a small operation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharuby
Business
Billings, MT
May 20, 2013

airport overnight

The staff was super, they even brought out breakfast before our 4am shuttle to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

we dropped off our rental car the night before and the hotel shuttle brought us back to the hotel-saved us a half hour in the wee hours of the morning

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
birthday thyrst
Business
St Paul MN
May 14, 2013

birthday celebration

It's a 2 star hotel what do you expect. Free internet that doesn't work so with the TV set with aircon humming so loud. Far from downtown Chicago and airport. In the heart of Chicano land. It's clean though and free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Visitor 987
Business
Minnesota
May 13, 2013

Chicago Weekend

The staff are extremely helpful. They graciously rearranged room assignments to get our group of friends as close together as possible when we checked in. They offered great restaurant recommendations (Bree Thai was great!) and even offered to have their shuttle take us to the restaurant and back. Shuttle driver was very nice. The motel is an older facility with all exterior entrances, but has been well updated. Good value for the proximity to Chicago downtown, and the neighborhood felt safe and walkable. Only less than 5 because saw a roach in bathroom the last night there. Perhaps an unavoidable thing in an aging city building, but caught me by surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bree Thai - hotel staff had it on their list, it had great online ratings. Mostly carry-out, with tiny dining room, but the best Thai food I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sherryeldr
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 9, 2013

Terrible Beds!

I'm not sure what is going on with this property. One of the negative reviews I saw before my trip has disappeared. It was from a gentleman who had just arrived in his room and could tell things weren't right. I figured his negative review was just a fluke. Big mistake! We arrived after midnight and it was too late to try to find anything else. First, the room was clean and the staff was friendly, but that should be expected anywhere. I did enjoy the shower. My teenage daughter was nervous because of the neighborhood the hotel is in. The beds were small and I have never slept on a more uncomfortable mattress. My mattress at home is pillow top, but nothing too fancy - not Sleep Number, Tempur-Pedic, or anything like that. I could feel the springs poking into me on the mattress at Carlton Inn. About the time I was able to finally get past my discomfort and get to sleep, the ridiculously loud heating/cooling unit would start up. It woke my husband and I up several times in the night. With the shape of the property, the parking was in the middle of all of the rooms, and every time someone else would arrive or depart, the noise would wake me up. I woke up early the next morning and called the hotel office immediately. I was informed that all of the hotel's beds are the same. I got on the phone with the travel company I booked through and made arrangements to check out and get as much of my money back as possible. We stopped by the Carlton's continental breakfast buffet before we left. The donuts were stale and the breakfast sandwich was still frozen. We moved to the Holiday Inn and Suites by O'hare. We got a two-room suite with 2 queen beds for $89 per night. Our rate at Carlton was $137. The Holiday Inn beds were plush and comfy and the bedding was good quality. I'll be looking for Holiday Inn and Suites from now on wherever I go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travlin' along
Business
newport, or
Apr 8, 2013

Best staff, safe and secure

Although they still have exterior-entry, the vigilance andcare of the staff makes up for it. It had all the basics...flat screen, great cable choices, WiFi, cont. bfast, comfortable mattresses, well-maintained hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Worst luck airports girl
Business
Champaign, IL
Dec 22, 2012

Great midway airport

My midway flight got cancelled this winter, and I had to stay at a hotel. The Carlton was the cheapest in the area, so I made reservations, not expecting much. But I was very surprised how much I enjoyed my stay! After making my reservation online, I called the inn and they sent over a shuttle to pick me up within 10 minutes. The room itself was clean and well furnished, with a fridge, microwave and flat screen. Toothpaste and other amenities could be asked for at the front desk, as well as Ethernet cords. Their Internet truly is high-speed, fast enough to stream online videos. The shuttle will take you to any of the nearby restaurants to eat. Definitely enjoyed my stay at the carlton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top