$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Carlton Inn Midway

2 stars
4944 South Archer Avenue, Chicago, IL 60632
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
39 reviews
Great Overnight Stay! Perfect!

The Carlton Inn was perfect for our overnight stay. We needed a pet friendly hotel near Midway for... See full review

  • iankh
  • Jun 3, 2014
Carlton Inn /midway

The staff was super helpful in helping us get to/from the city. For the price, it's in a great... See full review

  • travellin' king
  • Jun 2, 2014
The Carlton Inn Midway is the only hotel in the Midway Airport area that is a short walk from a CTA Orange Line station. We'll always give you a ride upon request. The Carlton Inn Midway offers free parking, free Midway Airport shuttle service, free rides in the neighborhood, free breakfast, free internet (both free wifi, wireless internet, and free wired ethernet in your guestroom), and free use of the business center's computer and printer, as well as use of the fitness center. The Carlton Inn Midway motel of Chicago is within walking distance of shopping centers, convenience stores and many restaurants. Note: Hotel also offers Free Breakfast and Free Parking.

Hotel Map

41.8038 -87.7219
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport (ORD / KORD) and Midway International Airport (MDW / KMDW).
Area description
Easy access to I-55, and the entire interstate highway network
10-20 minutes from the food, shopping, and entertainment of downtown
A short drive to Brookfield Zoo
Easy acess to McCormick Place, University of Chicago, and University of Illinois at Chicago.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Inn Midway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Carlton Inn Midway Rooms

Traditional-Hotel
Two double beds
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable King bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free High Speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with Premium Movie Channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.
Traditional-Hotel
One comfortable Double bed
Reduced-waste spa products including shampoos, soaps, and lotions
Free high speed internet access (Ethernet and wireless)
Voice Mail with off-site access
TVs with premium movie channels
Microwave oven & mini refrigerator
Coffee maker & gourmet coffee
Hair dryer
Clock-radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Cellular Field: 4.9 mi
  • Toyota Park: 5.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 5.3 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 5.6 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 5.7 mi
  • United Center: 5.8 mi
  • Dusable Museum of African American: 5.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 6 mi
  • Dusable Museum: 6 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 6.2 mi
  • Burnham Park: 6.3 mi
  • University of Chicago: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 6.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 6.6 mi
  • Union Station: 6.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 6.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 6.8 mi
  • Grant Park: 6.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 6.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 6.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 6.9 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 6.9 mi
  • Opera House: 7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 7.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 7.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 7.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 7.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 7.2 mi
  • City Hall: 7.2 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.2 mi
  • State Street: 7.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 7.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 7.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 7.3 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 7.3 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 7.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 7.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Macys: 7.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 7.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Inn Midway

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ProfessorKM
Rochester, Michigan
Jun 21, 2012

Well run, excellent staff and service

If you want to enjoy Chicago, with a family of five, stay here. walk 2min to orange line train, to go in and put of the downtown fast and fun. Deep dish pizza around corner from this hotel is excellent. Petes fresh market up Pulaski is great for fresh fruit. Staff will give you a metro map and show you how to find anything. They have their own shuttles and offer to drop and pick up aroung the area. Parking is free for customers. Excellent hotel overall. Dr .M.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For $5.25 a day, get a 24 hour unlimited train, bus pass. You can zip back to this hotel for mid afternoon nap and to freshen up before zipping back to the navy pier for a good hotdog and evening air.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jp16loney
cleveland, oh
Aug 4, 2014

good value

Rooms were clean and comfortable...the staff was awesome, offered advice on getting around the city, provided maps and resources, was willing to help in any way. The location is very close to public transportation which saved us from driving and paying for parking in the city. Only negative, if you can even call it that is they don't have king size beds but that's about the only thing I can recommend to improve upon. other than that, thanks to all the staffin helping add to our great time there in Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pass up the chains, go to d'agastinos on addison for the best deep dish in chicago.. my favorite when I lived there and ne ver disappoints when I go back to visit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snuffy's Mom
Cedar Rapids, IA
Jul 26, 2014

Just close enough but just far enough away!

We booked here after reading other reviews saying how great the location was for the price. We agree! Parking is included, which usually costs at least another $30/day closer into the city. The drive to the Museum of Science and Industry and to Second City weren't bad at all. We didn't take the train, but the staff recommended it as an option - the train stop was super close. Bonus - they serve Dunkin Donuts for breakfast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chaz Michael
Business
NOVA
Jul 18, 2014

Close to airport

The location may leave something to be desired, but convenient to Midway, great staff, clean comfortable (smallish, but certainly fine) rooms, great morning breakfast, shuttle to the airport. All around positive experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zchen
Champaign, IL
Jul 6, 2014

Free shuttle; Friendly staff; Small but clean room

My friends and I selected Carlton Inn when we flew into Chicago to attend a concert at the United Center. Hotel is near the airport, not near the United Center though The staff is so super friendly and helpful. The free shuttle was a real help to and from the airport and taking us to the local Walgreens for things we forgot to bring. Nice free breakfast - we loved the pancake machine! My friends asked for late checkout due to late afternoon flight home and that was accommodated with a smile. It isn't very close to any major attractions but the shuttle will take you to the train station a few blocks away for that. There is also a very good restaurant with home-style meals right next door. We had a room with 2 queen beds which were comfy, A/C worked, nice having fridge in room, bathroom was rather small but functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manik000001
Memphis
Jun 25, 2014

Ok

Carpet dirty, Room too small for family. Good cust service,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iankh
Chicago
Jun 3, 2014

Great Overnight Stay! Perfect!

The Carlton Inn was perfect for our overnight stay. We needed a pet friendly hotel near Midway for the night before our flight. Somewhere that would accommodate us and our 2 small dogs (Maltese). The room was very very comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff were consistently wonderful. I've travelled the globe extensively on business and can honestly say that all of the the staff we interacted with at the Carlton were as friendly, helpful and accommodating as any 5 star hotel I've stayed in. The Carlton is a 2-star hotel, but the room was very clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was a surprise because, though simple was quite varied and good. We took the shuttle to Midway. We had 5 suitcases plus the 2 dogs and their in-cabin carriers. The driver picked us up outside our room and was helpful with the bags. The Carlton was perfect for our needs and perfect for our night before our flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We found that the best place take our dogs was the bank next that had some grassy strips. It was a short walk and avoided having to cross the rather busy Archer Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travellin' king
New Hampshire
Jun 2, 2014

Carlton Inn /midway

The staff was super helpful in helping us get to/from the city. For the price, it's in a great location, right off the El orange line that goes directly into the city and the train operates until 1am. If you don't mind the experience of the El, the Carlton Inn Midwway is a good choice for people on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Very satisfied customers
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 17, 2014

Exactly what we needed!

Our stay at the Carlton Inn by midway was great! The staff was very polite, helpful, and informative. The rooms were a little on the smaller side, but we're very clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed (microwave, fridge, closet space, desk,cable, etc.)The location was ten min from midway and there was food and shopping near by. We were fifteen minutes from rush and division (bar scene) and not very far from major highways. The parking was a little tight, but it was free and we worked it out! We would definitely stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sakoda
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 6, 2014

Good stayover

Stayed here a couple nights while stuck in Chicago, and it was very convenient to the airport. Amazing cable, and the room was very spacious. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, although the breakfast was a little lacking. There's also not too much near it, besides Midway Airport, so it wouldn't be the best place to stay if you're actually interested in seeing more of Chicago. Still, I'd strongly recommend to anyone who needs to stay over in Chicago a day or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordanos pizza is within walking distance Really good pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Have Time Will Travel
Chicago, IL
Jul 10, 2013

Bad Experience

This hotel is a dump. Went to front desk to check in and immediately left forfeiting pre-paid night stay. This type of place (flop house) is not a bargain at any price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search