$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
76 reviews
Perfect Hotel & Location

Everything was great! Staff were extremely friendly. Service was amazing. Price couldn't have... See full review

  • MDHRN
  • Nov 24, 2014
Burnham is the Best

Excellent location, awesome staff and very reasonable when it comes to cost. Will definitely stay... See full review

  • MDHRN
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Hotel Burnham is rich in architecture history and the sense of romance fills the lobby up to the guestrooms. Located in the heart of Chicago on historic State St. the Hotel Burnham projects an atmosphere of historical and whimsy decorated to the hotels theme of architecture. Dark finished mahogany wood rich colored leathers and silk drapery unite to recreate the mens club feel that once occupied this space. Tumbled stone flooring in the entry lobby compliment the restored stone floor used in the original lobby. Windows feature incredible views of downtown Chicago and are draped in handsome blue velvet and tie back panels with samplings of Mozarts symphonies.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll-in
Accessible Queen Deluxe with roll in shower
Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedrm
Millennium Lake Deluxe Suite
Millennium Lake DLX Ste1Q parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Millennium Lake Executive Suite
Millennium Lake EXEC Ste 1K parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1Q 175 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow Bath
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accesible Queen Deluxe room
Accessible DBL/DBL DLX Roll-in S
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room with roll in shower
Accessible Executive King Suite
Accessible Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedroom
Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K 180 sqft bathrobes iHome docking station C.O. Bigelow Bath
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room
Deluxe Queen Suite
Deluxe Queen Suite 1Q Parlor and bedrm Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi

Dining

Atwood
The contemporary American cafe for any time of the day is an intimate 75 seat restaurant located in the heart of Chicagos central business district and the state street retail and theater district. The menu features a seasonal cuisine with creative interp

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 76
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MDHRN
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 24, 2014

Perfect Hotel & Location

Everything was great! Staff were extremely friendly. Service was amazing. Price couldn't have gotten any better. Location just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pretentious fashion guy
Business
NY
Jul 24, 2014

Just fine

It's nothing I would write home about. Service seemed forced and mildly condesending. The building is a beautiful deco building perfectly fit in Chicago, close to the cloud gate. It's nice but all in all I will forget about the place soon enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Just go to New York, or keep going to London. Why you'd ever shop in Chicago is beyond me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Goatherder2
Business
Clemson SC
May 23, 2014

One night stay

I came in for a Cubs game. Friends were staying at the hotel, so made sense for me to be there too. Usually stay up the street at a Marriott property on wife's points. Burnham was nicer. Also, great location to the L red line to Wrigley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you travel the red-line L, pay attention to which way to exit at Lake and which end of the train to be on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gpm614
Business
Phoenix
Nov 13, 2013

Excellent Stay

Like other Kimpton properties I've stayed at, a top notch, hassle free stay. Only there for one night, but everything was great: quick check-in, clean, quiet room, and very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Granny Way
Business
Milford Michigan
Jul 21, 2013

Experience

It was very good, my grandson and I stayed at the Burnham because of it's location and it was marvelous, We went to the theater, shopping and site seeing . Most of the staff was above the call of duty, some of the women at the front desk were somewhat un attentive during the evening hours, Housekeeping and doormen were excellent. On Saturday the20th of July the desk person was fabulous, he was male and it was in the AM , I regret I did not get his name. I will certainly be going back to this hotel on my next visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paris at heart
Business
Washington DC
Jan 1, 2013

People and dog friendly hotel in Chicago

I stayed for 5 nights over New Years week. All staff are do great and go out of their way to accommodate guests including dogs. Complimentary wine hour and hot chocolate bar. Location across the street from Macy's and two blocks from Michigan Ave is ideal location. Restaurant in hotel good for brunch but new years eve dinner disappointing with a fairly obnoxious server and chef. That was the only negative of ny stay. restaurant separate from hotel..not really hotel's fault. Other than that Burnham is a great hotel in a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Amazing dinner Girl and the Goat..if you can't get reservations sit in the lounge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

Late Checkin

The Hotel Kimpton was a nice hotel. But at check in I called ahead to see if I could check in early about 2:30 instead of the 3:00 they said it wasn't possible. I had dinner plans at 4:15 so I was at the hotel at 3:00 they informed me it would be a bit around 3:20 I took a walk and came back at 3;30 and was informed that it would be 4:00 I told them this wasn't going to do. Front desk person said they would do the best the could I finally got into the room at 3:55 made my dinner and was happy. My only complaint was to inform guest of the correct times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top