$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
77 reviews
Lovely place, excellent staff

The title says it all. It's also a perfect location to explore the city. The building preserves the... See full review

  • fencerv2
  • Dec 23, 2014
Perfect Hotel & Location

Everything was great! Staff were extremely friendly. Service was amazing. Price couldn't have... See full review

  • MDHRN
  • Nov 24, 2014
The Hotel Burnham is rich in architecture history and the sense of romance fills the lobby up to the guestrooms. Located in the heart of Chicago on historic State St. the Hotel Burnham projects an atmosphere of historical and whimsy decorated to the hotels theme of architecture. Dark finished mahogany wood rich colored leathers and silk drapery unite to recreate the mens club feel that once occupied this space. Tumbled stone flooring in the entry lobby compliment the restored stone floor used in the original lobby. Windows feature incredible views of downtown Chicago and are draped in handsome blue velvet and tie back panels with samplings of Mozarts symphonies.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll-in
Accessible Queen Deluxe with roll in shower
Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedrm
Millennium Lake Deluxe Suite
Millennium Lake DLX Ste1Q parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Millennium Lake Executive Suite
Millennium Lake EXEC Ste 1K parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1Q 175 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow Bath
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accesible Queen Deluxe room
Accessible DBL/DBL DLX Roll-in S
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room with roll in shower
Accessible Executive King Suite
Accessible Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedroom
Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K 180 sqft bathrobes iHome docking station C.O. Bigelow Bath
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room
Deluxe Queen Suite
Deluxe Queen Suite 1Q Parlor and bedrm Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi

Dining

Atwood
The Atwood restaurant will be closed December 29 March 1 2015 All guests staying at our hotel will be provided with a grab and go breakfast every morning included in their guest rate The contemporary American cafe for any time of the day is an intimate

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 25, 2008

Weekend of Construction and Hell

I was not prepared for the Nightmare of the construction in the area. When i first checked in I couldn't find the hotel because of all the construction in the area. Washington street where the hotel is located was closed off to traffic. It took me approximately 45 minutes to finally get to the block. While checking in the hotel gave a suite on the third floor in ordinary btimes this would have been great but unfortunately there was construction going on 24 hrs around the clock. In the evening we asked to change our room this was around 11pm. The bellboy took u to the 12th floor suite when he walked in their was clothes on the floor, he immediately contacted the manager who came to the room to discover that room was still occupied. They finally gave us a regular room with a queen bed. The next day we wanted to speak with the manager he wasn't available. Bt the way construction was still going on all Saturday night we didn't get a quality night sleep. No suites were available to change on Sunday am. We did receive a comp bf. We stayed in the room Sunday nt the construction on the block was finally over by 4pm. The next am we finally spoke to the manager of the hotel he appologized to us about our stay. After speaking with him for an additional 15 minutes he finallyagreed to give us a gift certificate for a future weekend stay in Chicago. The construction which was going on for a year and ahalf is now complete. The hotel is a beautiful botique masterpiece but our stay was unfortunately a disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shadowz0406
Business
neenah, wi
Oct 4, 2012

not for kids

it felt cluster phobic. not to good for kids and would have been nice to get a complimentary breakfast. also had to pay $50 a night to park my car! They will charge you for everything! nothing comes with the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

dont bring your car just take a cab. everytime you have to park your car somewhere in chicago it costs 20 bucks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teller
Business
Chicago
Apr 23, 2014

A good stay, but they need to change mattress covers!

My wife and I stayed here just the one night as we wanted to stay downtown for a visit to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra (4 blocks South). We enjoyed the stay, the decor of the hotel was full retro of interest which my wife loved and we ate dinner and then brunch at Atwoods restaurant located adjacent to the lobby. Our only real criticism was that the mattress cover beneath the cotton sheets made itself known too much with the sound of crinkling plastic and hotspots that became uncomfortable. This is a dog friendly hotel...we speculated that the mattress cover is heavy duty to protect against canine accidents!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
globaltrade
Business
Chicago IL
Apr 29, 2014

Okay Stay

I love old buildings/hotels and Burnham fits the bill. I don't mind the smallish bathroom/room or the noise from the streets. However, I do like a clean room and a accommodating staff. The walls in my bathroom were pretty nasty (i.e., had not been cleaned in long time) and the front desk person on Monday was clearly not in a good mood. The hotel was not full and I was point blank denied a late checkout - not 15 minutes, nothing. The business kiosk (not a business center) was not working and the same front desk person referred me to an office supply store a block away - "they open at 7:00". Great, I headed off through the wind/rain to the store. Oops, they does not open until 8:00. Little things, but to me little things are what takes a hotel to 4/5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 21, 2010

Good, but not Great

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Burnham for our anniversary - mostly because it was in such a good location (e.g. 5 minute walk to the top musical theaters, Millennium Park, the Chicago Art Museum, etc.). Although we had a good experience here, I'd say that it was slightly overpriced for the value - but if you can stay in non-peak periods or with special discounts or promotions, it would be ideal. There is also an interesting architectural/historical significance to the hotel and it's original architect - Daniel Burnham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of parking garages near by to save on valet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pretentious fashion guy
Business
NY
Jul 24, 2014

Just fine

It's nothing I would write home about. Service seemed forced and mildly condesending. The building is a beautiful deco building perfectly fit in Chicago, close to the cloud gate. It's nice but all in all I will forget about the place soon enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Just go to New York, or keep going to London. Why you'd ever shop in Chicago is beyond me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 13, 2010

Good boutique hotel, great location

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Burnham. The rooms were nice, the architecture historic (and well renovated), but most of all - we liked the location. It was just a short walk to restaurants, Millennium Park, shopping, and the theater district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park public garage

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny B.
Business
Sacranento, CA
Oct 24, 2011

Great spot, small rooms

Centrally located, easy to get to everything downtown. The rooms were a little on the small side, but were well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

StateLake Restaurant at The Wit hotel @ State & Lake (NEC). The food was fantastic and prices were reasonable. Also, Intelligentsia Coffee on Randolff is really close and fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pens73
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Pleasant experience

Stayed here on NYE. Very pleasant, nice central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theatre district is just around the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
honey badger 1
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great Location

I was one block from the theater and two blocks from millennium park. A little pricey but I got off season rates which made it very reasonable. Free wine and coffee was a big plus. Very comfortable beds. I'd definitely stay again at off season rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top