$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
102 reviews
One night stay

I came in for a Cubs game. Friends were staying at the hotel, so made sense for me to be there too.... See full review

  • Goatherder2
  • May 23, 2014
Weekend getaway

This is a great location in downtown Chicago away from the bigger hotels that can deliver an... See full review

  • CD0414
  • Apr 28, 2014
The Hotel Burnham is rich in architecture history and the sense of romance fills the lobby up to the guestrooms. Located in the heart of Chicago on historic State St. the Hotel Burnham projects an atmosphere of historical and whimsy decorated to the hotels theme of architecture. Dark finished mahogany wood rich colored leathers and silk drapery unite to recreate the mens club feel that once occupied this space. Tumbled stone flooring in the entry lobby compliment the restored stone floor used in the original lobby. Windows feature incredible views of downtown Chicago and are draped in handsome blue velvet and tie back panels with samplings of Mozarts symphonies.

Hotel Map

41.8828 -87.6287
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room
Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedrm
Millennium Lake Deluxe Suite
Millennium Lake DLX Ste1Q parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Millennium Lake Executive Suite
Millennium Lake EXEC Ste 1K parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Accessible DBL/DBL DLX Roll-in S
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room with roll in shower
Accessible Executive King Suite
Accessible Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedroom
Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll-in
Accessible Queen Deluxe with roll in shower
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1Q 175 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow Bath
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accesible Queen Deluxe room
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K 180 sqft bathrobes iHome docking station C.O. Bigelow Bath
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room
Deluxe Queen Suite
Deluxe Queen Suite 1Q Parlor and bedrm Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi

Dining

Atwood
The contemporary American cafe for any time of the day is an intimate 75 seat restaurant located in the heart of Chicagos central business district and the state street retail and theater district. The menu features a seasonal cuisine with creative interp

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 102
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Apex, NC
Jun 19, 2011

Cozy & Convenient

Perfect location for doing the tourist thing in the Windy City. Chose the hotel for the proximity to the CTA Blue line. We took the train to/from O'Hare (Washington stop). We were a few blocks from Millenium Park, the Willis Tower, river boat tour dock & Michigan Ave. The hotel staff was very friendly. I had no reason to call the front desk. Fitness center was well-equipped, clean and modern. Nice room decor, historic structure, and a beautiful lobby with a lively cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Granpa Don
Palmdale, Ca
Aug 1, 2011

Great service, great location!

We reserved a 2 double bed room as we were traveling with our adult daughter. Checked in about 7:00 and they had rented the room. With no hesitation,and profuse apologies, the desk clerk insisted we have 2 rooms, both with queen beds! The young man that brought up our luggage was very nice, explained everything about the room, gave a recommendation for a wondeful pizza place near by and chated knowledgably about air shows (we'd just come from Oshkosh). Both he and the desk clerk remembered us when we passed through the lobby the next day and made us feel as if we were their friends. We're looking for qanother excuse to return to Chicago so we can sty there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizano's

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Q Travels
San Francisco
Dec 30, 2012

Q Travels

My stay at the Burnham was flawless. The entire staff was excellent and helpful without being overbearing. My room had a wonderful view of the city and included the famous vertical Chicago sign. The bar (evening) and restaurant (breakfast) was also pleasant. The surrounding area offers much to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenneth123
Edgewood, MD, USA
Aug 22, 2013

fantastic getway

the staff was so helpful and they went out of the way to help. the wine hours is the best the room was so comfort and the food at the atwood is so good cant wait to stay their agin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

every thing is right out side the door food, shopping and site seeing

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 20, 2008

Great location and architectural gem

The Hotel Burnham in Chicago was a very lovely, well-restored hotel. One member of our party is studying architecture in college and he was fascinated by the restoration of this former skyscraper and the detail included in the restoration. The bathroom was very large and easy to move around in - there was a large vanity, good hooks for hanging clothes, and nice toiletries. The hotel was in the Loop area of Chicago and many attractions were within walking distance -Millenium Park, The Art Institute, the Chicago ArchiCenter, and Sears Tower (to name a few.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 26, 2008

great for any trip

I loved the hotel, and so did my 13 year old son. location and facility were outstaning. Would do it again in a heartbeat. very pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

area has everything

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 7, 2008

Historical Haven

The Hotel Burnham is a journey into history. The hotel is located in the middle of the best of Chicago and convenient to all mass transit. The old Marshall Fields Building (now Macys) is across the street. We could see the lake from our Chicago-style windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the blue line train direct from O'Hare to Washington Street (40 minutes) and walk a block to the hotel. Also, gourmet fast food restaurants on the 7th floor of Macys (Marshall Fields) - Seven on State - is a great place for an excellent lunch. Argo Tea, Jamba Juice, and Corner Bakery are all great food places.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 26, 2008

great for any trip

I loved the hotel, and so did my 13 year old son. location and facility were outstaning. Would do it again in a heartbeat. very pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

area has everything

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Granpa Don
Palmdale, Ca
Aug 1, 2011

Great service, great location!

We reserved a 2 double bed room as we were traveling with our adult daughter. Checked in about 7:00 and they had rented the room. With no hesitation,and profuse apologies, the desk clerk insisted we have 2 rooms, both with queen beds! The young man that brought up our luggage was very nice, explained everything about the room, gave a recommendation for a wondeful pizza place near by and chated knowledgably about air shows (we'd just come from Oshkosh). Both he and the desk clerk remembered us when we passed through the lobby the next day and made us feel as if we were their friends. We're looking for qanother excuse to return to Chicago so we can sty there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizano's

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Apex, NC
Jun 19, 2011

Cozy & Convenient

Perfect location for doing the tourist thing in the Windy City. Chose the hotel for the proximity to the CTA Blue line. We took the train to/from O'Hare (Washington stop). We were a few blocks from Millenium Park, the Willis Tower, river boat tour dock & Michigan Ave. The hotel staff was very friendly. I had no reason to call the front desk. Fitness center was well-equipped, clean and modern. Nice room decor, historic structure, and a beautiful lobby with a lively cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top