$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
99 reviews
One night stay

I came in for a Cubs game. Friends were staying at the hotel, so made sense for me to be there too.... See full review

  • Goatherder2
  • May 23, 2014
Weekend getaway

This is a great location in downtown Chicago away from the bigger hotels that can deliver an... See full review

  • CD0414
  • Apr 28, 2014
The Hotel Burnham is rich in architecture history and the sense of romance fills the lobby up to the guestrooms. Located in the heart of Chicago on historic State St. the Hotel Burnham projects an atmosphere of historical and whimsy decorated to the hotels theme of architecture. Dark finished mahogany wood rich colored leathers and silk drapery unite to recreate the mens club feel that once occupied this space. Tumbled stone flooring in the entry lobby compliment the restored stone floor used in the original lobby. Windows feature incredible views of downtown Chicago and are draped in handsome blue velvet and tie back panels with samplings of Mozarts symphonies.

Hotel Map

41.8828 -87.6287
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room
Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedrm
Millennium Lake Deluxe Suite
Millennium Lake DLX Ste1Q parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Millennium Lake Executive Suite
Millennium Lake EXEC Ste 1K parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Accessible DBL/DBL DLX Roll-in S
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room with roll in shower
Accessible Executive King Suite
Accessible Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedroom
Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll-in
Accessible Queen Deluxe with roll in shower
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1Q 175 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow Bath
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accesible Queen Deluxe room
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K 180 sqft bathrobes iHome docking station C.O. Bigelow Bath
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room
Deluxe Queen Suite
Deluxe Queen Suite 1Q Parlor and bedrm Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi

Dining

Atwood
The contemporary American cafe for any time of the day is an intimate 75 seat restaurant located in the heart of Chicagos central business district and the state street retail and theater district. The menu features a seasonal cuisine with creative interp

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun conference
Milwaukee
Apr 30, 2013

one night get away

Fun decor, grand old chicago architecture, wonderful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Janesville
Jul 6, 2008

Great surprise

We visit Chicago quite often but have almost stayed at hotels along the Magnificent Mile. On this trip we wanted to experience the Taste of Chicago so we chose Hotel Burnham which is an easy walk to Grant Park. The staff there couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. I forgot some toiletries, and after calling the desk, someone brought replacements to our room within minutes. The complimentary evening wine reception was relaxing, enjoyable, and a great way to meet fellow travelers. Our room was small but it was immaculate and beauifully decorated. After a day of sight-seeing, we returned to the hotel, always getting a nice welcome back and acknowledgement from the staff. We'll definitely return to this hotel. Although it's a little longer walk to the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier, the decor, service, and friendliness of the staff make the extra steps well worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 16, 2008

An historic presence

It was a bit of history.. quiet elegance with velvet and satin duvet,heavy drapes and granite bathroom counters. After reading The Devil & the White City I could almost imagine Mr.Dunham,himself. It was delightful. Coming from the Northwest to visit Chicago I found the location perfect. Easy walking to the park,shopping and even the river tour. The staff was very friendly and helpful and my husband and I felt quite at home coming and going in and out of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again. We did use the safe but had a smile about the leopard robes that hung in the clothes closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macys is across the street and has everything you might need and forgot to bring. Book store is close and walking to the park only two blocks away there is alovely outdoor cafe that serves lite lunch and great beer.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colin Caster
Michigan
Apr 7, 2013

Great for theatre and shopping

A quick walk to any downtown theatre, ideally located for shopping, there's no beating its location. The adjoining restaurant was also fantastic. Friendly and efficient staff, too. Prices are high, of course, including parking. And I wish there were better late night dining options. But I'd definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Brunch was a highlight. Eat at least one meal in the restaurant.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 7, 2008

Historical Haven

The Hotel Burnham is a journey into history. The hotel is located in the middle of the best of Chicago and convenient to all mass transit. The old Marshall Fields Building (now Macys) is across the street. We could see the lake from our Chicago-style windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the blue line train direct from O'Hare to Washington Street (40 minutes) and walk a block to the hotel. Also, gourmet fast food restaurants on the 7th floor of Macys (Marshall Fields) - Seven on State - is a great place for an excellent lunch. Argo Tea, Jamba Juice, and Corner Bakery are all great food places.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 20, 2008

Great location and architectural gem

The Hotel Burnham in Chicago was a very lovely, well-restored hotel. One member of our party is studying architecture in college and he was fascinated by the restoration of this former skyscraper and the detail included in the restoration. The bathroom was very large and easy to move around in - there was a large vanity, good hooks for hanging clothes, and nice toiletries. The hotel was in the Loop area of Chicago and many attractions were within walking distance -Millenium Park, The Art Institute, the Chicago ArchiCenter, and Sears Tower (to name a few.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paris at heart
Washington DC
Jan 1, 2013

People and dog friendly hotel in Chicago

I stayed for 5 nights over New Years week. All staff are do great and go out of their way to accommodate guests including dogs. Complimentary wine hour and hot chocolate bar. Location across the street from Macy's and two blocks from Michigan Ave is ideal location. Restaurant in hotel good for brunch but new years eve dinner disappointing with a fairly obnoxious server and chef. That was the only negative of ny stay. restaurant separate from hotel..not really hotel's fault. Other than that Burnham is a great hotel in a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Amazing dinner Girl and the Goat..if you can't get reservations sit in the lounge.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gurnee, IL
Aug 17, 2009

8-14-09 Burnham stay

Only criticism I have is they only had one room key for a room with two double beds. My brother had checked in and was waiting in the room. When I arrived at the front desk, there wasn't another key except with engineering staff. While the front desk did request it, I never went to pick it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JetJeff
Iowa
Feb 11, 2013

Great Hotel!

Everything I wanted and more. Staff is top notch and the hotel is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Villalba
Benicia, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Historical charm in the heart of the city

I would highly recommend this hotel for first timers to the Windy City looking for something in the middle of everything. My fiance and I loved the old elevators. It was like being back at my grandmother's apartment from when I was a child.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant, The Atwood Cafe, is a real gem compared to the colder more modern eateries in the Loop. But be forewarned, they close really early (around 9pm) compared to other nearby establishments so I recommend enjoying it more for a leisurely breakfast or brunch before hitting up nearby shops.

Back to menu Return to top