$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler Buddy
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 14, 2014

An excellent stay

My wife and I came into Chicago for the weekend. We found the hotel staff very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Overall we felt is was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Occasional Chicago Visito
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 28, 2014

Comfort, location, and support

A gracious and elegant hotel in a prime location - upper Loop, but away from the L (unlike the Silversmith, an otherwise similarly nice hotel). Service & Atwood restaurant are great. Rooms are poshly furnished but otherwise simple - not tarted up with loads of pretentious 'features', pillows, etc. that acdtually get in the way. While not cheap, worth the value. Only regret is the $12 charge for WiFi - even in the lobby - sometimes you just need that 5 min. and don't want to schlep over to the Cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 13, 2010

Good boutique hotel, great location

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Burnham. The rooms were nice, the architecture historic (and well renovated), but most of all - we liked the location. It was just a short walk to restaurants, Millennium Park, shopping, and the theater district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park public garage

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny B.
Business
Sacranento, CA
Oct 24, 2011

Great spot, small rooms

Centrally located, easy to get to everything downtown. The rooms were a little on the small side, but were well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

StateLake Restaurant at The Wit hotel @ State & Lake (NEC). The food was fantastic and prices were reasonable. Also, Intelligentsia Coffee on Randolff is really close and fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pens73
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Pleasant experience

Stayed here on NYE. Very pleasant, nice central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theatre district is just around the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
honey badger 1
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great Location

I was one block from the theater and two blocks from millennium park. A little pricey but I got off season rates which made it very reasonable. Free wine and coffee was a big plus. Very comfortable beds. I'd definitely stay again at off season rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santi Wine Traveller
Business
Ciudad Aut├│noma de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Mar 20, 2012

Perfect location, great hotel and hospitality!!!

The hotel is much more than I was expecting and the location is unbelievable and public transportation gets you anywhere. Just one subway ride from the O'Hare airport!!! The rooms were very comfortable and the staff was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret kay
Business
Louisville
May 31, 2012

Fantastic!

The hotel is right downtown in a great location. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The metro blue and red just steps away. We had a great View including Trump Tower. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens has great fresh take out vegetable dumplings and specialty sandwiches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiraSev
Business
Laval Quebec
May 28, 2012

Really Nice Hotel

Location is awesome if you want to be near the Loop (Millennium Park) and a nice walk (or $6 cab ride) from everything else that might interest you - touristy, shopping, restaurants. The room was very clean and nice... a little old but nice none-the-less. The front desk staff was very kind, however every time we asked them about a place to grab a bite (we wanted to be like locals) they kept suggesting restaurants that they had partnered with for appetizer discounts. The housekeepers change daily and I'm sure they appreciate tips. Valet Parking was $50 per day and it takes them 20 minutes to fetch the car (they park it in a lot down the street). If you're staying for 5 days or so, the parking isn't worth it unless you're driving far out of town often. Even though it's pet friendly, my allergies never acted up and the room or hotel never smelled like cats or dogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Caffe Baci is just down Washington on North Michigan. For around $10 per person you can have an awesome breakfast with the best authentic Cafe Latte nearby (I don't consider Starbucks authentic). We went there every morning. They're very friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grantastic
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 3, 2012

Great weekend retreat

We were in town celebrating my wife's birthday and had an amazing time. The staff were nice enough to surprise us with two delicious cupcakes! Hotel is withing walking distance to much of what Chicago has to offer. Nice sized room was very clean. Although we did receive a 6am wake up call we didn't order, everything else was great. VERY friendly staff willing to help with every detail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Order (and print) tickets to the aquarium in advance! Would have saved us over an hour wait in the ticket line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top