$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
77 reviews
Great stay for a BUSY Weekend

Stayed at this hotel during Lollapalooza weekend and it couldn't have been better. It was central... See full review

  • Lollapalooza Guest
  • Aug 5, 2014
One night stay

I came in for a Cubs game. Friends were staying at the hotel, so made sense for me to be there too.... See full review

  • Goatherder2
  • May 23, 2014
The Hotel Burnham is rich in architecture history and the sense of romance fills the lobby up to the guestrooms. Located in the heart of Chicago on historic State St. the Hotel Burnham projects an atmosphere of historical and whimsy decorated to the hotels theme of architecture. Dark finished mahogany wood rich colored leathers and silk drapery unite to recreate the mens club feel that once occupied this space. Tumbled stone flooring in the entry lobby compliment the restored stone floor used in the original lobby. Windows feature incredible views of downtown Chicago and are draped in handsome blue velvet and tie back panels with samplings of Mozarts symphonies.

Hotel Map

41.8828 -87.6287
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room
Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedrm
Millennium Lake Deluxe Suite
Millennium Lake DLX Ste1Q parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Millennium Lake Executive Suite
Millennium Lake EXEC Ste 1K parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Accessible DBL/DBL DLX Roll-in S
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room with roll in shower
Accessible Executive King Suite
Accessible Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedroom
Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll-in
Accessible Queen Deluxe with roll in shower
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1Q 175 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow Bath
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accesible Queen Deluxe room
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K 180 sqft bathrobes iHome docking station C.O. Bigelow Bath
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room
Deluxe Queen Suite
Deluxe Queen Suite 1Q Parlor and bedrm Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi

Dining

Atwood
The contemporary American cafe for any time of the day is an intimate 75 seat restaurant located in the heart of Chicagos central business district and the state street retail and theater district. The menu features a seasonal cuisine with creative interp

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 20, 2008

Great location and architectural gem

The Hotel Burnham in Chicago was a very lovely, well-restored hotel. One member of our party is studying architecture in college and he was fascinated by the restoration of this former skyscraper and the detail included in the restoration. The bathroom was very large and easy to move around in - there was a large vanity, good hooks for hanging clothes, and nice toiletries. The hotel was in the Loop area of Chicago and many attractions were within walking distance -Millenium Park, The Art Institute, the Chicago ArchiCenter, and Sears Tower (to name a few.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Janesville
Jul 6, 2008

Great surprise

We visit Chicago quite often but have almost stayed at hotels along the Magnificent Mile. On this trip we wanted to experience the Taste of Chicago so we chose Hotel Burnham which is an easy walk to Grant Park. The staff there couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. I forgot some toiletries, and after calling the desk, someone brought replacements to our room within minutes. The complimentary evening wine reception was relaxing, enjoyable, and a great way to meet fellow travelers. Our room was small but it was immaculate and beauifully decorated. After a day of sight-seeing, we returned to the hotel, always getting a nice welcome back and acknowledgement from the staff. We'll definitely return to this hotel. Although it's a little longer walk to the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier, the decor, service, and friendliness of the staff make the extra steps well worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Castro Valley
May 27, 2008

Great Hotel

This is a great hotel. The staff is very friendly, the hotel is in a perfect location, right near the red,orange, green, brown line on the L, one block up from Millenium Park (a must see). I especially liked the decor of the room, it made you feel like you were staying in a royal guest room. And the toiletries were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ariss, ON
Jul 27, 2008

My review of Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Burnham. All of the staff were pleasant, helpful and very accomodating. The hotel itself is beautiful. We had a corner suite with king size bed, large sitting room with love seat, chair and desk; plenty of room to be comfortable. It's central location made it very easy to go out and enjoy the Chicago night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The dining, jazz club and piano bar we went to were incredible. In truth we could have walked instead of the $6.85 cab ride.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 4, 2008

Architectural gem with great service

The Hotel Burnham in the loop in Chicago was an architectural gem that has preserved the wonderful character of the building. I love hotels that are unique and have old world charm. This definitely had all that and more. Outstanding staff made it even more pleasurable. It was close to most of the things we wanted to do. God willing I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel was within walking distance of shopping, dining and parks. The museums were a long walk or short trolley away.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 3, 2008

Great hotel, great staff.

This is a beautiful hotel with a top notch, friendly and professional staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium Park, the Art Institute, Grant Park and lots of shopping.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 28, 2008

THIS HOTEL IS GREAT

My husband and I loved this hotel. The staff was wonderful and always checking to see if they could help you in any way. All the decor is beautiful. We loved the room; we had one of the best views we have ever had at any hotel! There was plenty of room and I loved that lounge next to the big window. We even got a kick out of the leopard and zebra robes! The location is excellent for shopping, dining, the theater and the trolley stops. All in all this was a great hotel and when we go back to Chicago this is where we plan to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right across from the old Marshall Field store. The trolley stop to Water Tower Mall and Navy Pier is about 1/2 block away. You are right in the middle of the theater district and there are restaurants all around.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lollapalooza Guest
Santa Barbara, CA
Aug 5, 2014

Great stay for a BUSY Weekend

Stayed at this hotel during Lollapalooza weekend and it couldn't have been better. It was central to the park, which made for an easy walk to and from the venue. It is also right next to the subway stop, which is great for getting around town, and to Wrigley Field. The staff was excellent and always had a smile on their faces. A nice escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, and the festival. Didn't notice the street noise too much, only some of the street performers later in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler Buddy
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 14, 2014

An excellent stay

My wife and I came into Chicago for the weekend. We found the hotel staff very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Overall we felt is was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Occasional Chicago Visito
Madison, WI
Apr 28, 2014

Comfort, location, and support

A gracious and elegant hotel in a prime location - upper Loop, but away from the L (unlike the Silversmith, an otherwise similarly nice hotel). Service & Atwood restaurant are great. Rooms are poshly furnished but otherwise simple - not tarted up with loads of pretentious 'features', pillows, etc. that acdtually get in the way. While not cheap, worth the value. Only regret is the $12 charge for WiFi - even in the lobby - sometimes you just need that 5 min. and don't want to schlep over to the Cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search