$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 24, 2007

Excellent Loop Location

The Burnham is one block from the Daley Center in the heart of the Loop. This is a great spot for the business traveler. It has the hallmarks of Kimpton hotels: small, well-appointed room; very cool public areas; sharp bar and restaurant. My only beef was the construction. There will be a superstop from both airports, though; so the convenience of the Burnham will be even better when they are done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't want a $25 cab drive from Midway, train stops are 2-3 blocks away. Look for coming front-door subway stop.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Apr 20, 2008

Great Hotel

My significant other and I stayed here this past weekend and had a wonderful visit. The rooms have tasteful decorations and adequate room to move about and stow luggage. The service / concierge offered appropriate helpful dining suggestions and walking directions. The rooms were immaculate and the turndown service is a nice touch. Hotel Burnham, in some ways is a destination in itself. Definitely recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Beef and Brandy for breakfast for some great comfort food.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jun 16, 2008

An historic presence

It was a bit of history.. quiet elegance with velvet and satin duvet,heavy drapes and granite bathroom counters. After reading The Devil & the White City I could almost imagine Mr.Dunham,himself. It was delightful. Coming from the Northwest to visit Chicago I found the location perfect. Easy walking to the park,shopping and even the river tour. The staff was very friendly and helpful and my husband and I felt quite at home coming and going in and out of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again. We did use the safe but had a smile about the leopard robes that hung in the clothes closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macys is across the street and has everything you might need and forgot to bring. Book store is close and walking to the park only two blocks away there is alovely outdoor cafe that serves lite lunch and great beer.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 7, 2008

Historical Haven

The Hotel Burnham is a journey into history. The hotel is located in the middle of the best of Chicago and convenient to all mass transit. The old Marshall Fields Building (now Macys) is across the street. We could see the lake from our Chicago-style windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the blue line train direct from O'Hare to Washington Street (40 minutes) and walk a block to the hotel. Also, gourmet fast food restaurants on the 7th floor of Macys (Marshall Fields) - Seven on State - is a great place for an excellent lunch. Argo Tea, Jamba Juice, and Corner Bakery are all great food places.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 4, 2008

GREAT ROMANTIC WEEKEND SPOT

The location of this historic hotel is perfect. My request for a top floor room with a view was granted cheerfully . We liked the touch of having a small goldfish in the room-the perfect pet for our stay! Very high quality furnishings and bedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macys is accross the street and you are right next to Nordstroms Rack for a fun bargain shopping experience.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Bowling Green
Dec 30, 2008

great location

My girl friends and I had great experience to stay at this hotel. Interior decoration and the view from the hotel was beautiful and staff was friendly. We loved to have wine glasses in the room! Great location for shopping and museum visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is on State St., right next to Nordstrom Rack. All the discount clothing stores are in 5 minute walk.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
May 26, 2008

great for any trip

I loved the hotel, and so did my 13 year old son. location and facility were outstaning. Would do it again in a heartbeat. very pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

area has everything

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Feb 2, 2008

Good things come in small packages

The Burnham is a small hotel which has many things going for it: 1)great location in the loop, particularly if you are in town for theater, opera,concerts, shopping on State Street, etc; 2) wonderful preservation of an historic building; 3) rooms while on the small side are loaded with wonderful amenities; 4) great restaurant-the Atwood; 5) courteous and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Aug 20, 2008

Great location and architectural gem

The Hotel Burnham in Chicago was a very lovely, well-restored hotel. One member of our party is studying architecture in college and he was fascinated by the restoration of this former skyscraper and the detail included in the restoration. The bathroom was very large and easy to move around in - there was a large vanity, good hooks for hanging clothes, and nice toiletries. The hotel was in the Loop area of Chicago and many attractions were within walking distance -Millenium Park, The Art Institute, the Chicago ArchiCenter, and Sears Tower (to name a few.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Janesville
Jul 6, 2008

Great surprise

We visit Chicago quite often but have almost stayed at hotels along the Magnificent Mile. On this trip we wanted to experience the Taste of Chicago so we chose Hotel Burnham which is an easy walk to Grant Park. The staff there couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. I forgot some toiletries, and after calling the desk, someone brought replacements to our room within minutes. The complimentary evening wine reception was relaxing, enjoyable, and a great way to meet fellow travelers. Our room was small but it was immaculate and beauifully decorated. After a day of sight-seeing, we returned to the hotel, always getting a nice welcome back and acknowledgement from the staff. We'll definitely return to this hotel. Although it's a little longer walk to the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier, the decor, service, and friendliness of the staff make the extra steps well worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top