$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
101 reviews
One night stay

I came in for a Cubs game. Friends were staying at the hotel, so made sense for me to be there too.... See full review

  • Goatherder2
  • May 23, 2014
Weekend getaway

This is a great location in downtown Chicago away from the bigger hotels that can deliver an... See full review

  • CD0414
  • Apr 28, 2014
The Hotel Burnham is rich in architecture history and the sense of romance fills the lobby up to the guestrooms. Located in the heart of Chicago on historic State St. the Hotel Burnham projects an atmosphere of historical and whimsy decorated to the hotels theme of architecture. Dark finished mahogany wood rich colored leathers and silk drapery unite to recreate the mens club feel that once occupied this space. Tumbled stone flooring in the entry lobby compliment the restored stone floor used in the original lobby. Windows feature incredible views of downtown Chicago and are draped in handsome blue velvet and tie back panels with samplings of Mozarts symphonies.

Hotel Map

41.8828 -87.6287
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room
Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedrm
Millennium Lake Deluxe Suite
Millennium Lake DLX Ste1Q parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Millennium Lake Executive Suite
Millennium Lake EXEC Ste 1K parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Accessible DBL/DBL DLX Roll-in S
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room with roll in shower
Accessible Executive King Suite
Accessible Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedroom
Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll-in
Accessible Queen Deluxe with roll in shower
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1Q 175 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow Bath
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accesible Queen Deluxe room
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K 180 sqft bathrobes iHome docking station C.O. Bigelow Bath
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room
Deluxe Queen Suite
Deluxe Queen Suite 1Q Parlor and bedrm Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi

Dining

Atwood
The contemporary American cafe for any time of the day is an intimate 75 seat restaurant located in the heart of Chicagos central business district and the state street retail and theater district. The menu features a seasonal cuisine with creative interp

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WanderingJT
Philly, PA
Nov 9, 2010

Amazing

The staff was exceptional. The decor was pleasing. Had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sepia

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 4, 2008

Architectural gem with great service

The Hotel Burnham in the loop in Chicago was an architectural gem that has preserved the wonderful character of the building. I love hotels that are unique and have old world charm. This definitely had all that and more. Outstanding staff made it even more pleasurable. It was close to most of the things we wanted to do. God willing I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel was within walking distance of shopping, dining and parks. The museums were a long walk or short trolley away.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 16, 2008

An historic presence

It was a bit of history.. quiet elegance with velvet and satin duvet,heavy drapes and granite bathroom counters. After reading The Devil & the White City I could almost imagine Mr.Dunham,himself. It was delightful. Coming from the Northwest to visit Chicago I found the location perfect. Easy walking to the park,shopping and even the river tour. The staff was very friendly and helpful and my husband and I felt quite at home coming and going in and out of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again. We did use the safe but had a smile about the leopard robes that hung in the clothes closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macys is across the street and has everything you might need and forgot to bring. Book store is close and walking to the park only two blocks away there is alovely outdoor cafe that serves lite lunch and great beer.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenneth123
Edgewood, MD, USA
Aug 22, 2013

fantastic getway

the staff was so helpful and they went out of the way to help. the wine hours is the best the room was so comfort and the food at the atwood is so good cant wait to stay their agin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

every thing is right out side the door food, shopping and site seeing

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 20, 2008

Great location and architectural gem

The Hotel Burnham in Chicago was a very lovely, well-restored hotel. One member of our party is studying architecture in college and he was fascinated by the restoration of this former skyscraper and the detail included in the restoration. The bathroom was very large and easy to move around in - there was a large vanity, good hooks for hanging clothes, and nice toiletries. The hotel was in the Loop area of Chicago and many attractions were within walking distance -Millenium Park, The Art Institute, the Chicago ArchiCenter, and Sears Tower (to name a few.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Granny Way
Milford Michigan
Jul 21, 2013

Experience

It was very good, my grandson and I stayed at the Burnham because of it's location and it was marvelous, We went to the theater, shopping and site seeing . Most of the staff was above the call of duty, some of the women at the front desk were somewhat un attentive during the evening hours, Housekeeping and doormen were excellent. On Saturday the20th of July the desk person was fabulous, he was male and it was in the AM , I regret I did not get his name. I will certainly be going back to this hotel on my next visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 20, 2008

Great Hotel

My significant other and I stayed here this past weekend and had a wonderful visit. The rooms have tasteful decorations and adequate room to move about and stow luggage. The service / concierge offered appropriate helpful dining suggestions and walking directions. The rooms were immaculate and the turndown service is a nice touch. Hotel Burnham, in some ways is a destination in itself. Definitely recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Beef and Brandy for breakfast for some great comfort food.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Janesville
Jul 6, 2008

Great surprise

We visit Chicago quite often but have almost stayed at hotels along the Magnificent Mile. On this trip we wanted to experience the Taste of Chicago so we chose Hotel Burnham which is an easy walk to Grant Park. The staff there couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. I forgot some toiletries, and after calling the desk, someone brought replacements to our room within minutes. The complimentary evening wine reception was relaxing, enjoyable, and a great way to meet fellow travelers. Our room was small but it was immaculate and beauifully decorated. After a day of sight-seeing, we returned to the hotel, always getting a nice welcome back and acknowledgement from the staff. We'll definitely return to this hotel. Although it's a little longer walk to the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier, the decor, service, and friendliness of the staff make the extra steps well worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 4, 2008

GREAT ROMANTIC WEEKEND SPOT

The location of this historic hotel is perfect. My request for a top floor room with a view was granted cheerfully . We liked the touch of having a small goldfish in the room-the perfect pet for our stay! Very high quality furnishings and bedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macys is accross the street and you are right next to Nordstroms Rack for a fun bargain shopping experience.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 26, 2008

great for any trip

I loved the hotel, and so did my 13 year old son. location and facility were outstaning. Would do it again in a heartbeat. very pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

area has everything

Back to menu Return to top