Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
81 reviews
Friendly Staff

The staff was friendly and accommodating. They offered suggestions and dircections multiple times.... See full review

  • Amy P.
  • Jul 7, 2015
Great location, great hotel!

We loved this boutique hotel in the heart of Chicago. The hotels been recently renovated, keeping... See full review

  • Jeanne H.
  • Jun 23, 2015
The Hotel Burnham is rich in architecture history and the sense of romance fills the lobby up to the guestrooms. Located in the heart of Chicago on historic State St. the Hotel Burnham projects an atmosphere of historical and whimsy decorated to the hotels theme of architecture. Dark finished mahogany wood rich colored leathers and silk drapery unite to recreate the mens club feel that once occupied this space. Tumbled stone flooring in the entry lobby compliment the restored stone floor used in the original lobby. Windows feature incredible views of downtown Chicago and are draped in handsome blue velvet and tie back panels with samplings of Mozarts symphonies.

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll-in
Accessible Queen Deluxe with roll in shower
Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedrm
Millennium Lake Deluxe Suite
Millennium Lake DLX Ste1Q parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Millennium Lake Executive Suite
Millennium Lake EXEC Ste 1K parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1Q 175 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow Bath
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accesible Queen Deluxe room
Accessible DBL/DBL DLX Roll-in S
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room with roll in shower
Accessible Executive King Suite
Accessible Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedroom
Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K 180 sqft bathrobes iHome docking station C.O. Bigelow Bath
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room
Deluxe Queen Suite
Deluxe Queen Suite 1Q Parlor and bedrm Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

41.8828 -87.6287
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi

Dining

Atwood
The contemporary American cafe for any time of the day is an intimate 75 seat restaurant located in the heart of Chicagos central business district and the state street retail and theater district. The menu features a seasonal cuisine with creative interp

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fencerv2
Business
Champaign, Illinois
Jan 13, 2014

a great experience

From the moment of pulling up to the hotel, to driving away, the staff was engaging and guest focused. Everything was done to insure an excellent stay. The conversion from iconic office building to hotel preserved the feel and details of a ground breaking builidng of the past while providing excellent comfort and ease. We were just blown away by the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CD0414
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 28, 2014

Weekend getaway

This is a great location in downtown Chicago away from the bigger hotels that can deliver an impersonal experience. Burnham delivers everything you would expect in a 5 star boutique hotel. The entire staff walks and talks hospitality plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to Lake Michigan - gardens, art, music

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deEZe
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Cozy Weekend Retreat with Access

The room was small for the price but the quality was top notch every detail of this renovated office was done to perfection. The breakfast in the lobby restaurant the atwood cafe was amazing and very reasonable price for the quality. With walgreens next door and the heart of chicago out the door everything needed is only a walk away. Loved the bed and pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

restock the mini bar from the walgreens next door for cheep

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelmore300
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 15, 2012

Great quick Chicago trip!

This is my fourth sty at the Burham. Love this hotel, it feels like home when I arrive, even some of the staff remember me from my previous stay! It is a great location, close to the loop. Love the small size and the ambience. Restaurant is great for breakfast, haven't had any other meals here yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Join the Kimpton Loyalty club for extra benefits!

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Q Travels
Business
San Francisco
Dec 30, 2012

Q Travels

My stay at the Burnham was flawless. The entire staff was excellent and helpful without being overbearing. My room had a wonderful view of the city and included the famous vertical Chicago sign. The bar (evening) and restaurant (breakfast) was also pleasant. The surrounding area offers much to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colin Caster
Business
Michigan
Apr 7, 2013

Great for theatre and shopping

A quick walk to any downtown theatre, ideally located for shopping, there's no beating its location. The adjoining restaurant was also fantastic. Friendly and efficient staff, too. Prices are high, of course, including parking. And I wish there were better late night dining options. But I'd definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Brunch was a highlight. Eat at least one meal in the restaurant.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun conference
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 30, 2013

one night get away

Fun decor, grand old chicago architecture, wonderful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Windy City Lover
Business
Wisconsin
May 7, 2013

Our favorite hotel

Just the perfect place to stay in Chicago. We walked to everything we planned to do. Took the river boat tour and highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Holy Cow" that would be Harry Carey's.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LizandJoe
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jun 10, 2013

Fantastic Short Vacation

Hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We got a list of 'new' restaurants to try from the concierge.... not a bad one on the list. Location is #1: take the Blue Line train in from O'Hare, get off at Washington station and simply cross the street and you are there. No other hotel I have visited serves guests wine [free!] every night from 5:00-6:00pm; especially wonderful if you are travelling alone on business #especially women#. You get to meet a lot of interesting people from all over the US/Canada etc. After being at the hotel 3x, I would never stay anywhere else in Chicago. Rooms are clean, well appointed and well cared for. We lacked for nothing but then we don't use the mini bar etc. They have a list of items that they will provide you with #i.e. shaving cream, shower cap# free if you have forgotten to bring them....delivered right to you door. Wonderful also to stay in one of the oldest 'skyscrapers' in Chicago. They have retained many of the ornamentation from the past...just wonderful. And don't forget the main dining room, excellent anytime but great for Sunday brunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go and eat at the Purple Pig (just 2 blocks north of the Wrigley Building. If you don't care about eating early, get there about 5:45pm and you won't have to wait. Sometimes it is so busy that it is 2 hours. The food is unique and very tasty. We met a couple that flew in from Winnipeg, Manitoba just to eat there for their 18th wedding anniversary.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Granny Way
Business
Milford Michigan
Jul 21, 2013

Experience

It was very good, my grandson and I stayed at the Burnham because of it's location and it was marvelous, We went to the theater, shopping and site seeing . Most of the staff was above the call of duty, some of the women at the front desk were somewhat un attentive during the evening hours, Housekeeping and doormen were excellent. On Saturday the20th of July the desk person was fabulous, he was male and it was in the AM , I regret I did not get his name. I will certainly be going back to this hotel on my next visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top