$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
73 reviews
Great stay for a BUSY Weekend

Stayed at this hotel during Lollapalooza weekend and it couldn't have been better. It was central... See full review

  • Lollapalooza Guest
  • Aug 5, 2014
One night stay

I came in for a Cubs game. Friends were staying at the hotel, so made sense for me to be there too.... See full review

  • Goatherder2
  • May 23, 2014
The Hotel Burnham is rich in architecture history and the sense of romance fills the lobby up to the guestrooms. Located in the heart of Chicago on historic State St. the Hotel Burnham projects an atmosphere of historical and whimsy decorated to the hotels theme of architecture. Dark finished mahogany wood rich colored leathers and silk drapery unite to recreate the mens club feel that once occupied this space. Tumbled stone flooring in the entry lobby compliment the restored stone floor used in the original lobby. Windows feature incredible views of downtown Chicago and are draped in handsome blue velvet and tie back panels with samplings of Mozarts symphonies.

Hotel Map

41.8828 -87.6287
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room
Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedrm
Millennium Lake Deluxe Suite
Millennium Lake DLX Ste1Q parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Millennium Lake Executive Suite
Millennium Lake EXEC Ste 1K parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Accessible DBL/DBL DLX Roll-in S
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room with roll in shower
Accessible Executive King Suite
Accessible Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedroom
Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll-in
Accessible Queen Deluxe with roll in shower
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1Q 175 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow Bath
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accesible Queen Deluxe room
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K 180 sqft bathrobes iHome docking station C.O. Bigelow Bath
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room
Deluxe Queen Suite
Deluxe Queen Suite 1Q Parlor and bedrm Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi

Dining

Atwood
The contemporary American cafe for any time of the day is an intimate 75 seat restaurant located in the heart of Chicagos central business district and the state street retail and theater district. The menu features a seasonal cuisine with creative interp

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Q Travels
San Francisco
Dec 30, 2012

Q Travels

My stay at the Burnham was flawless. The entire staff was excellent and helpful without being overbearing. My room had a wonderful view of the city and included the famous vertical Chicago sign. The bar (evening) and restaurant (breakfast) was also pleasant. The surrounding area offers much to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 21, 2010

Good, but not Great

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Burnham for our anniversary - mostly because it was in such a good location (e.g. 5 minute walk to the top musical theaters, Millennium Park, the Chicago Art Museum, etc.). Although we had a good experience here, I'd say that it was slightly overpriced for the value - but if you can stay in non-peak periods or with special discounts or promotions, it would be ideal. There is also an interesting architectural/historical significance to the hotel and it's original architect - Daniel Burnham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of parking garages near by to save on valet.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chimuslbear
London UK
Sep 2, 2009

Excellent experience

Excellent location hotell staff are spot on- the history of the building itself is very interesting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gurnee, IL
Aug 17, 2009

8-14-09 Burnham stay

Only criticism I have is they only had one room key for a room with two double beds. My brother had checked in and was waiting in the room. When I arrived at the front desk, there wasn't another key except with engineering staff. While the front desk did request it, I never went to pick it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 22, 2009

Lovely historical place!

Like other Kimpton's hotels, this was is nicely appointed in a great historical building. Free newspapers from all over the US for breakfast. Great location in midtown. The rooms to the street are noisy -- you are in the midst of town! It was fine with me but might now be with others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bowling Green
Dec 30, 2008

great location

My girl friends and I had great experience to stay at this hotel. Interior decoration and the view from the hotel was beautiful and staff was friendly. We loved to have wine glasses in the room! Great location for shopping and museum visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is on State St., right next to Nordstrom Rack. All the discount clothing stores are in 5 minute walk.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 1, 2008

Perfect location, modern and friendly

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Burnham in August 2008 with one exception. Major construction going on directly across the street. The workers are there day and night. Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid the noise. The room was on the small side but very stylish. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was delicious, exceeding our expectations. The location is perfect, close to shopping, museums, and Millenium Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 28, 2008

THIS HOTEL IS GREAT

My husband and I loved this hotel. The staff was wonderful and always checking to see if they could help you in any way. All the decor is beautiful. We loved the room; we had one of the best views we have ever had at any hotel! There was plenty of room and I loved that lounge next to the big window. We even got a kick out of the leopard and zebra robes! The location is excellent for shopping, dining, the theater and the trolley stops. All in all this was a great hotel and when we go back to Chicago this is where we plan to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right across from the old Marshall Field store. The trolley stop to Water Tower Mall and Navy Pier is about 1/2 block away. You are right in the middle of the theater district and there are restaurants all around.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 25, 2008

Weekend of Construction and Hell

I was not prepared for the Nightmare of the construction in the area. When i first checked in I couldn't find the hotel because of all the construction in the area. Washington street where the hotel is located was closed off to traffic. It took me approximately 45 minutes to finally get to the block. While checking in the hotel gave a suite on the third floor in ordinary btimes this would have been great but unfortunately there was construction going on 24 hrs around the clock. In the evening we asked to change our room this was around 11pm. The bellboy took u to the 12th floor suite when he walked in their was clothes on the floor, he immediately contacted the manager who came to the room to discover that room was still occupied. They finally gave us a regular room with a queen bed. The next day we wanted to speak with the manager he wasn't available. Bt the way construction was still going on all Saturday night we didn't get a quality night sleep. No suites were available to change on Sunday am. We did receive a comp bf. We stayed in the room Sunday nt the construction on the block was finally over by 4pm. The next am we finally spoke to the manager of the hotel he appologized to us about our stay. After speaking with him for an additional 15 minutes he finallyagreed to give us a gift certificate for a future weekend stay in Chicago. The construction which was going on for a year and ahalf is now complete. The hotel is a beautiful botique masterpiece but our stay was unfortunately a disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 20, 2008

Great location and architectural gem

The Hotel Burnham in Chicago was a very lovely, well-restored hotel. One member of our party is studying architecture in college and he was fascinated by the restoration of this former skyscraper and the detail included in the restoration. The bathroom was very large and easy to move around in - there was a large vanity, good hooks for hanging clothes, and nice toiletries. The hotel was in the Loop area of Chicago and many attractions were within walking distance -Millenium Park, The Art Institute, the Chicago ArchiCenter, and Sears Tower (to name a few.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 7, 2008

Historical Haven

The Hotel Burnham is a journey into history. The hotel is located in the middle of the best of Chicago and convenient to all mass transit. The old Marshall Fields Building (now Macys) is across the street. We could see the lake from our Chicago-style windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the blue line train direct from O'Hare to Washington Street (40 minutes) and walk a block to the hotel. Also, gourmet fast food restaurants on the 7th floor of Macys (Marshall Fields) - Seven on State - is a great place for an excellent lunch. Argo Tea, Jamba Juice, and Corner Bakery are all great food places.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search