$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Apex, NC
Jun 19, 2011

Cozy & Convenient

Perfect location for doing the tourist thing in the Windy City. Chose the hotel for the proximity to the CTA Blue line. We took the train to/from O'Hare (Washington stop). We were a few blocks from Millenium Park, the Willis Tower, river boat tour dock & Michigan Ave. The hotel staff was very friendly. I had no reason to call the front desk. Fitness center was well-equipped, clean and modern. Nice room decor, historic structure, and a beautiful lobby with a lively cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 28, 2011

Incredible location

Perfect location in downtown Chicago. You're close to Millennium Park as well as the CTA to get anywhere you need yet it seemed like a more quiet street at night when it was time to sleep. There was free wine tasting every night from 5-6 and the cafe in the hotel was really nice. The room was clean and just perfect for a couple getaway. It was antique and old-fashioned yet well kept. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Millennium Park's website during the summer for a list of free music shows. It's very close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M-Travel
Business
New York, NY
Mar 18, 2011

Everything I needed was there

Easy, low key, elegant, quiet, clean, comfortable. close to Art Institute, Cultural Center, shopping, and Millenium Park. Easy to use public transit (a block away) to get to O'Hare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jan 24, 2011

frigid temp warm memories

Gracious service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Reasonable walk to and from station, theaters, loop shopping and arts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WanderingJT
Business
Philly, PA
Nov 9, 2010

Amazing

The staff was exceptional. The decor was pleasing. Had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sepia

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 13, 2010

Good boutique hotel, great location

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Burnham. The rooms were nice, the architecture historic (and well renovated), but most of all - we liked the location. It was just a short walk to restaurants, Millennium Park, shopping, and the theater district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park public garage

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 21, 2010

Good, but not Great

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Burnham for our anniversary - mostly because it was in such a good location (e.g. 5 minute walk to the top musical theaters, Millennium Park, the Chicago Art Museum, etc.). Although we had a good experience here, I'd say that it was slightly overpriced for the value - but if you can stay in non-peak periods or with special discounts or promotions, it would be ideal. There is also an interesting architectural/historical significance to the hotel and it's original architect - Daniel Burnham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of parking garages near by to save on valet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chimuslbear
Business
London UK
Sep 2, 2009

Excellent experience

Excellent location hotell staff are spot on- the history of the building itself is very interesting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gurnee, IL
Aug 17, 2009

8-14-09 Burnham stay

Only criticism I have is they only had one room key for a room with two double beds. My brother had checked in and was waiting in the room. When I arrived at the front desk, there wasn't another key except with engineering staff. While the front desk did request it, I never went to pick it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 22, 2009

Lovely historical place!

Like other Kimpton's hotels, this was is nicely appointed in a great historical building. Free newspapers from all over the US for breakfast. Great location in midtown. The rooms to the street are noisy -- you are in the midst of town! It was fine with me but might now be with others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top