$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Q Travels
San Francisco
Dec 30, 2012

Q Travels

My stay at the Burnham was flawless. The entire staff was excellent and helpful without being overbearing. My room had a wonderful view of the city and included the famous vertical Chicago sign. The bar (evening) and restaurant (breakfast) was also pleasant. The surrounding area offers much to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTyler
Business
Indiana
Sep 4, 2012

Great location!

The hotel was in a fabulous location, right across from the amphitheater and art museum, near shopping, and within easy walking distance of a lot of great sights. The staff was very nice, and offered good advice on places to eat and visit. The room was clean and very nice, although a very basic one queen room. Excellent value though, as the price was within my budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grantastic
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 3, 2012

Great weekend retreat

We were in town celebrating my wife's birthday and had an amazing time. The staff were nice enough to surprise us with two delicious cupcakes! Hotel is withing walking distance to much of what Chicago has to offer. Nice sized room was very clean. Although we did receive a 6am wake up call we didn't order, everything else was great. VERY friendly staff willing to help with every detail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Order (and print) tickets to the aquarium in advance! Would have saved us over an hour wait in the ticket line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret kay
Business
Louisville
May 31, 2012

Fantastic!

The hotel is right downtown in a great location. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The metro blue and red just steps away. We had a great View including Trump Tower. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens has great fresh take out vegetable dumplings and specialty sandwiches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiraSev
Business
Laval Quebec
May 28, 2012

Really Nice Hotel

Location is awesome if you want to be near the Loop (Millennium Park) and a nice walk (or $6 cab ride) from everything else that might interest you - touristy, shopping, restaurants. The room was very clean and nice... a little old but nice none-the-less. The front desk staff was very kind, however every time we asked them about a place to grab a bite (we wanted to be like locals) they kept suggesting restaurants that they had partnered with for appetizer discounts. The housekeepers change daily and I'm sure they appreciate tips. Valet Parking was $50 per day and it takes them 20 minutes to fetch the car (they park it in a lot down the street). If you're staying for 5 days or so, the parking isn't worth it unless you're driving far out of town often. Even though it's pet friendly, my allergies never acted up and the room or hotel never smelled like cats or dogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Caffe Baci is just down Washington on North Michigan. For around $10 per person you can have an awesome breakfast with the best authentic Cafe Latte nearby (I don't consider Starbucks authentic). We went there every morning. They're very friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deEZe
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Cozy Weekend Retreat with Access

The room was small for the price but the quality was top notch every detail of this renovated office was done to perfection. The breakfast in the lobby restaurant the atwood cafe was amazing and very reasonable price for the quality. With walgreens next door and the heart of chicago out the door everything needed is only a walk away. Loved the bed and pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

restock the mini bar from the walgreens next door for cheep

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santi Wine Traveller
Business
Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Mar 20, 2012

Perfect location, great hotel and hospitality!!!

The hotel is much more than I was expecting and the location is unbelievable and public transportation gets you anywhere. Just one subway ride from the O'Hare airport!!! The rooms were very comfortable and the staff was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
honey badger 1
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great Location

I was one block from the theater and two blocks from millennium park. A little pricey but I got off season rates which made it very reasonable. Free wine and coffee was a big plus. Very comfortable beds. I'd definitely stay again at off season rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pens73
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Pleasant experience

Stayed here on NYE. Very pleasant, nice central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theatre district is just around the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny B.
Business
Sacranento, CA
Oct 24, 2011

Great spot, small rooms

Centrally located, easy to get to everything downtown. The rooms were a little on the small side, but were well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

StateLake Restaurant at The Wit hotel @ State & Lake (NEC). The food was fantastic and prices were reasonable. Also, Intelligentsia Coffee on Randolff is really close and fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Granpa Don
Business
Palmdale, Ca
Aug 1, 2011

Great service, great location!

We reserved a 2 double bed room as we were traveling with our adult daughter. Checked in about 7:00 and they had rented the room. With no hesitation,and profuse apologies, the desk clerk insisted we have 2 rooms, both with queen beds! The young man that brought up our luggage was very nice, explained everything about the room, gave a recommendation for a wondeful pizza place near by and chated knowledgably about air shows (we'd just come from Oshkosh). Both he and the desk clerk remembered us when we passed through the lobby the next day and made us feel as if we were their friends. We're looking for qanother excuse to return to Chicago so we can sty there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizano's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top