$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Q Travels
San Francisco
Dec 30, 2012

Q Travels

My stay at the Burnham was flawless. The entire staff was excellent and helpful without being overbearing. My room had a wonderful view of the city and included the famous vertical Chicago sign. The bar (evening) and restaurant (breakfast) was also pleasant. The surrounding area offers much to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fencerv2
Business
Champaign, Illinois
Jan 13, 2014

a great experience

From the moment of pulling up to the hotel, to driving away, the staff was engaging and guest focused. Everything was done to insure an excellent stay. The conversion from iconic office building to hotel preserved the feel and details of a ground breaking builidng of the past while providing excellent comfort and ease. We were just blown away by the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PAcajun
Business
Allentown, PA
Nov 20, 2013

Incredible little boutique style in the heart of the Loop!

Even with a late arrival, the staff at the Burnham were outstanding! Lovely room with interesting accents and rich with architecture and history. Wine hour Monday evening was a nice bonus (might up the wine quality but hey it was free!!)...overall a well priced stay in a non- cookie cutter property that had charm and outstanding service levels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gpm614
Business
Phoenix
Nov 13, 2013

Excellent Stay

Like other Kimpton properties I've stayed at, a top notch, hassle free stay. Only there for one night, but everything was great: quick check-in, clean, quiet room, and very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkRC
Business
Springfield, IL, USA
Nov 11, 2013

Weekend getaway

Wonderful historical hotel in the theatre district and close to the lake and Michigan ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apulia
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 10, 2013

Better Then Expected - In Fact Fantastic!

What a beautiful designed place. The room was beautifully designed and very cozy. The lobby was small,but its beauty made up for it. Yes, you aren't going to spend the day in the hotel, but what time you spend there is extremely pleasant. Loved the complimentary wine hour! The Atwood Cafe located in the hotel, was a bit on the expensive side. Well, that's the way it is when you get quality. Food was excellent! The staff was great too. Folks at the desk, at least those on duty while I was there, were friendly and helpful at every turn. Location is great is you aren't driving. You can get easily pretty much everywhere from the Loop. I'll be staying there again on my next trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenneth123
Business
Edgewood, MD, USA
Aug 22, 2013

fantastic getway

the staff was so helpful and they went out of the way to help. the wine hours is the best the room was so comfort and the food at the atwood is so good cant wait to stay their agin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

every thing is right out side the door food, shopping and site seeing

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Granny Way
Business
Milford Michigan
Jul 21, 2013

Experience

It was very good, my grandson and I stayed at the Burnham because of it's location and it was marvelous, We went to the theater, shopping and site seeing . Most of the staff was above the call of duty, some of the women at the front desk were somewhat un attentive during the evening hours, Housekeeping and doormen were excellent. On Saturday the20th of July the desk person was fabulous, he was male and it was in the AM , I regret I did not get his name. I will certainly be going back to this hotel on my next visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LizandJoe
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jun 10, 2013

Fantastic Short Vacation

Hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We got a list of 'new' restaurants to try from the concierge.... not a bad one on the list. Location is #1: take the Blue Line train in from O'Hare, get off at Washington station and simply cross the street and you are there. No other hotel I have visited serves guests wine [free!] every night from 5:00-6:00pm; especially wonderful if you are travelling alone on business #especially women#. You get to meet a lot of interesting people from all over the US/Canada etc. After being at the hotel 3x, I would never stay anywhere else in Chicago. Rooms are clean, well appointed and well cared for. We lacked for nothing but then we don't use the mini bar etc. They have a list of items that they will provide you with #i.e. shaving cream, shower cap# free if you have forgotten to bring them....delivered right to you door. Wonderful also to stay in one of the oldest 'skyscrapers' in Chicago. They have retained many of the ornamentation from the past...just wonderful. And don't forget the main dining room, excellent anytime but great for Sunday brunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go and eat at the Purple Pig (just 2 blocks north of the Wrigley Building. If you don't care about eating early, get there about 5:45pm and you won't have to wait. Sometimes it is so busy that it is 2 hours. The food is unique and very tasty. We met a couple that flew in from Winnipeg, Manitoba just to eat there for their 18th wedding anniversary.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Windy City Lover
Business
Wisconsin
May 7, 2013

Our favorite hotel

Just the perfect place to stay in Chicago. We walked to everything we planned to do. Took the river boat tour and highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Holy Cow" that would be Harry Carey's.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun conference
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 30, 2013

one night get away

Fun decor, grand old chicago architecture, wonderful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top