$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deEZe
Lansing, MI, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Cozy Weekend Retreat with Access

The room was small for the price but the quality was top notch every detail of this renovated office was done to perfection. The breakfast in the lobby restaurant the atwood cafe was amazing and very reasonable price for the quality. With walgreens next door and the heart of chicago out the door everything needed is only a walk away. Loved the bed and pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

restock the mini bar from the walgreens next door for cheep

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkRC
Business
Springfield, IL, USA
Nov 11, 2013

Weekend getaway

Wonderful historical hotel in the theatre district and close to the lake and Michigan ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apulia
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 10, 2013

Better Then Expected - In Fact Fantastic!

What a beautiful designed place. The room was beautifully designed and very cozy. The lobby was small,but its beauty made up for it. Yes, you aren't going to spend the day in the hotel, but what time you spend there is extremely pleasant. Loved the complimentary wine hour! The Atwood Cafe located in the hotel, was a bit on the expensive side. Well, that's the way it is when you get quality. Food was excellent! The staff was great too. Folks at the desk, at least those on duty while I was there, were friendly and helpful at every turn. Location is great is you aren't driving. You can get easily pretty much everywhere from the Loop. I'll be staying there again on my next trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenneth123
Business
Edgewood, MD, USA
Aug 22, 2013

fantastic getway

the staff was so helpful and they went out of the way to help. the wine hours is the best the room was so comfort and the food at the atwood is so good cant wait to stay their agin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

every thing is right out side the door food, shopping and site seeing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Granny Way
Business
Milford Michigan
Jul 21, 2013

Experience

It was very good, my grandson and I stayed at the Burnham because of it's location and it was marvelous, We went to the theater, shopping and site seeing . Most of the staff was above the call of duty, some of the women at the front desk were somewhat un attentive during the evening hours, Housekeeping and doormen were excellent. On Saturday the20th of July the desk person was fabulous, he was male and it was in the AM , I regret I did not get his name. I will certainly be going back to this hotel on my next visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LizandJoe
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jun 10, 2013

Fantastic Short Vacation

Hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We got a list of 'new' restaurants to try from the concierge.... not a bad one on the list. Location is #1: take the Blue Line train in from O'Hare, get off at Washington station and simply cross the street and you are there. No other hotel I have visited serves guests wine [free!] every night from 5:00-6:00pm; especially wonderful if you are travelling alone on business #especially women#. You get to meet a lot of interesting people from all over the US/Canada etc. After being at the hotel 3x, I would never stay anywhere else in Chicago. Rooms are clean, well appointed and well cared for. We lacked for nothing but then we don't use the mini bar etc. They have a list of items that they will provide you with #i.e. shaving cream, shower cap# free if you have forgotten to bring them....delivered right to you door. Wonderful also to stay in one of the oldest 'skyscrapers' in Chicago. They have retained many of the ornamentation from the past...just wonderful. And don't forget the main dining room, excellent anytime but great for Sunday brunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go and eat at the Purple Pig (just 2 blocks north of the Wrigley Building. If you don't care about eating early, get there about 5:45pm and you won't have to wait. Sometimes it is so busy that it is 2 hours. The food is unique and very tasty. We met a couple that flew in from Winnipeg, Manitoba just to eat there for their 18th wedding anniversary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Windy City Lover
Business
Wisconsin
May 7, 2013

Our favorite hotel

Just the perfect place to stay in Chicago. We walked to everything we planned to do. Took the river boat tour and highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Holy Cow" that would be Harry Carey's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun conference
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 30, 2013

one night get away

Fun decor, grand old chicago architecture, wonderful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colin Caster
Business
Michigan
Apr 7, 2013

Great for theatre and shopping

A quick walk to any downtown theatre, ideally located for shopping, there's no beating its location. The adjoining restaurant was also fantastic. Friendly and efficient staff, too. Prices are high, of course, including parking. And I wish there were better late night dining options. But I'd definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Brunch was a highlight. Eat at least one meal in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhyNotYou
Business
Michigan
Mar 17, 2013

Nice place

Close to all the reasons you come to Chicago, nice place, FYI, parking is $50 per night, not per Stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast at Beef n' Brandy a couple blocks south on State

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JetJeff
Business
Iowa
Feb 20, 2013

Clean, Comfortable and Convenient

Very pleased with my recent stay. The Burnham's convenient location combined with theit very competent staff made for a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top