$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandalf
Business
Des Moines
Jul 15, 2014

Great downtown hotel

Stayed for a few days, within walking distance of public transportation, nice restaurant on ground level, good view of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Goatherder2
Business
Clemson SC
May 23, 2014

One night stay

I came in for a Cubs game. Friends were staying at the hotel, so made sense for me to be there too. Usually stay up the street at a Marriott property on wife's points. Burnham was nicer. Also, great location to the L red line to Wrigley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you travel the red-line L, pay attention to which way to exit at Lake and which end of the train to be on.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
globaltrade
Business
Chicago IL
Apr 29, 2014

Okay Stay

I love old buildings/hotels and Burnham fits the bill. I don't mind the smallish bathroom/room or the noise from the streets. However, I do like a clean room and a accommodating staff. The walls in my bathroom were pretty nasty (i.e., had not been cleaned in long time) and the front desk person on Monday was clearly not in a good mood. The hotel was not full and I was point blank denied a late checkout - not 15 minutes, nothing. The business kiosk (not a business center) was not working and the same front desk person referred me to an office supply store a block away - "they open at 7:00". Great, I headed off through the wind/rain to the store. Oops, they does not open until 8:00. Little things, but to me little things are what takes a hotel to 4/5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CD0414
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 28, 2014

Weekend getaway

This is a great location in downtown Chicago away from the bigger hotels that can deliver an impersonal experience. Burnham delivers everything you would expect in a 5 star boutique hotel. The entire staff walks and talks hospitality plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to Lake Michigan - gardens, art, music

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Occasional Chicago Visito
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 28, 2014

Comfort, location, and support

A gracious and elegant hotel in a prime location - upper Loop, but away from the L (unlike the Silversmith, an otherwise similarly nice hotel). Service & Atwood restaurant are great. Rooms are poshly furnished but otherwise simple - not tarted up with loads of pretentious 'features', pillows, etc. that acdtually get in the way. While not cheap, worth the value. Only regret is the $12 charge for WiFi - even in the lobby - sometimes you just need that 5 min. and don't want to schlep over to the Cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teller
Business
Chicago
Apr 23, 2014

A good stay, but they need to change mattress covers!

My wife and I stayed here just the one night as we wanted to stay downtown for a visit to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra (4 blocks South). We enjoyed the stay, the decor of the hotel was full retro of interest which my wife loved and we ate dinner and then brunch at Atwoods restaurant located adjacent to the lobby. Our only real criticism was that the mattress cover beneath the cotton sheets made itself known too much with the sound of crinkling plastic and hotspots that became uncomfortable. This is a dog friendly hotel...we speculated that the mattress cover is heavy duty to protect against canine accidents!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler Buddy
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 14, 2014

An excellent stay

My wife and I came into Chicago for the weekend. We found the hotel staff very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Overall we felt is was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fencerv2
Business
Champaign, Illinois
Jan 13, 2014

a great experience

From the moment of pulling up to the hotel, to driving away, the staff was engaging and guest focused. Everything was done to insure an excellent stay. The conversion from iconic office building to hotel preserved the feel and details of a ground breaking builidng of the past while providing excellent comfort and ease. We were just blown away by the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PAcajun
Business
Allentown, PA
Nov 20, 2013

Incredible little boutique style in the heart of the Loop!

Even with a late arrival, the staff at the Burnham were outstanding! Lovely room with interesting accents and rich with architecture and history. Wine hour Monday evening was a nice bonus (might up the wine quality but hey it was free!!)...overall a well priced stay in a non- cookie cutter property that had charm and outstanding service levels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gpm614
Business
Phoenix
Nov 13, 2013

Excellent Stay

Like other Kimpton properties I've stayed at, a top notch, hassle free stay. Only there for one night, but everything was great: quick check-in, clean, quiet room, and very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top