$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
One West Washington, Chicago, IL 60602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
73 reviews
Great stay for a BUSY Weekend

Stayed at this hotel during Lollapalooza weekend and it couldn't have been better. It was central... See full review

  • Lollapalooza Guest
  • Aug 5, 2014
One night stay

I came in for a Cubs game. Friends were staying at the hotel, so made sense for me to be there too.... See full review

  • Goatherder2
  • May 23, 2014
The Hotel Burnham is rich in architecture history and the sense of romance fills the lobby up to the guestrooms. Located in the heart of Chicago on historic State St. the Hotel Burnham projects an atmosphere of historical and whimsy decorated to the hotels theme of architecture. Dark finished mahogany wood rich colored leathers and silk drapery unite to recreate the mens club feel that once occupied this space. Tumbled stone flooring in the entry lobby compliment the restored stone floor used in the original lobby. Windows feature incredible views of downtown Chicago and are draped in handsome blue velvet and tie back panels with samplings of Mozarts symphonies.

Hotel Map

41.8828 -87.6287
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room
Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedrm
Millennium Lake Deluxe Suite
Millennium Lake DLX Ste1Q parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Millennium Lake Executive Suite
Millennium Lake EXEC Ste 1K parlor and bedrm Views of Michigan Lake and Millennium Park
Accessible DBL/DBL DLX Roll-in S
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room with roll in shower
Accessible Executive King Suite
Accessible Executive King Suite 1K parlor and bedroom
Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll-in
Accessible Queen Deluxe with roll in shower
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1Q 175 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow Bath
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accesible Queen Deluxe room
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 1K 180 sqft bathrobes iHome docking station C.O. Bigelow Bath
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room
Deluxe Queen Suite
Deluxe Queen Suite 1Q Parlor and bedrm Bathrobes iHome Docking C.O. Bigelow bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.1 mi

Dining

Atwood
The contemporary American cafe for any time of the day is an intimate 75 seat restaurant located in the heart of Chicagos central business district and the state street retail and theater district. The menu features a seasonal cuisine with creative interp

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deEZe
Lansing, MI, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Cozy Weekend Retreat with Access

The room was small for the price but the quality was top notch every detail of this renovated office was done to perfection. The breakfast in the lobby restaurant the atwood cafe was amazing and very reasonable price for the quality. With walgreens next door and the heart of chicago out the door everything needed is only a walk away. Loved the bed and pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

restock the mini bar from the walgreens next door for cheep

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lollapalooza Guest
Santa Barbara, CA
Aug 5, 2014

Great stay for a BUSY Weekend

Stayed at this hotel during Lollapalooza weekend and it couldn't have been better. It was central to the park, which made for an easy walk to and from the venue. It is also right next to the subway stop, which is great for getting around town, and to Wrigley Field. The staff was excellent and always had a smile on their faces. A nice escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, and the festival. Didn't notice the street noise too much, only some of the street performers later in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pretentious fashion guy
NY
Jul 24, 2014

Just fine

It's nothing I would write home about. Service seemed forced and mildly condesending. The building is a beautiful deco building perfectly fit in Chicago, close to the cloud gate. It's nice but all in all I will forget about the place soon enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Just go to New York, or keep going to London. Why you'd ever shop in Chicago is beyond me.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rals
Oakville, Ontario
Jul 21, 2014

Weekend Get Away

Excellent location. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandalf
Des Moines
Jul 15, 2014

Great downtown hotel

Stayed for a few days, within walking distance of public transportation, nice restaurant on ground level, good view of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Goatherder2
Clemson SC
May 23, 2014

One night stay

I came in for a Cubs game. Friends were staying at the hotel, so made sense for me to be there too. Usually stay up the street at a Marriott property on wife's points. Burnham was nicer. Also, great location to the L red line to Wrigley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you travel the red-line L, pay attention to which way to exit at Lake and which end of the train to be on.

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
globaltrade
Business
Chicago IL
Apr 29, 2014

Okay Stay

I love old buildings/hotels and Burnham fits the bill. I don't mind the smallish bathroom/room or the noise from the streets. However, I do like a clean room and a accommodating staff. The walls in my bathroom were pretty nasty (i.e., had not been cleaned in long time) and the front desk person on Monday was clearly not in a good mood. The hotel was not full and I was point blank denied a late checkout - not 15 minutes, nothing. The business kiosk (not a business center) was not working and the same front desk person referred me to an office supply store a block away - "they open at 7:00". Great, I headed off through the wind/rain to the store. Oops, they does not open until 8:00. Little things, but to me little things are what takes a hotel to 4/5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Occasional Chicago Visito
Madison, WI
Apr 28, 2014

Comfort, location, and support

A gracious and elegant hotel in a prime location - upper Loop, but away from the L (unlike the Silversmith, an otherwise similarly nice hotel). Service & Atwood restaurant are great. Rooms are poshly furnished but otherwise simple - not tarted up with loads of pretentious 'features', pillows, etc. that acdtually get in the way. While not cheap, worth the value. Only regret is the $12 charge for WiFi - even in the lobby - sometimes you just need that 5 min. and don't want to schlep over to the Cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CD0414
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 28, 2014

Weekend getaway

This is a great location in downtown Chicago away from the bigger hotels that can deliver an impersonal experience. Burnham delivers everything you would expect in a 5 star boutique hotel. The entire staff walks and talks hospitality plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to Lake Michigan - gardens, art, music

Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teller
Chicago
Apr 23, 2014

A good stay, but they need to change mattress covers!

My wife and I stayed here just the one night as we wanted to stay downtown for a visit to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra (4 blocks South). We enjoyed the stay, the decor of the hotel was full retro of interest which my wife loved and we ate dinner and then brunch at Atwoods restaurant located adjacent to the lobby. Our only real criticism was that the mattress cover beneath the cotton sheets made itself known too much with the sound of crinkling plastic and hotspots that became uncomfortable. This is a dog friendly hotel...we speculated that the mattress cover is heavy duty to protect against canine accidents!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Burnham, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler Buddy
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 14, 2014

An excellent stay

My wife and I came into Chicago for the weekend. We found the hotel staff very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Overall we felt is was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search