$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
474 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (474)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    30 out of 474
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3.6
    Room comfort:
    3.5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3.3

    80% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Alpha nurse
    Windsor,CT
    Jul 8, 2014

    Best Western Hotel: perfect location

    Grant Park is in the perfect location to enjoy all the activities of Chicago. The price was right, the room was just what I wanted during my trip, and they have public computers to use so you don't need to bring a laptop in order to deal with the daily checks of emails, etc.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    katekat
    Madison, WI
    May 30, 2014

    Great deal for the location

    I booked this room last minute for an unexpected one-night stay in Chicago. My main considerations were finding something cheap in the downtown area and this fit the bill perfectly. They were offering a special price of $75/night when I booked. I probably wouldn't pay more than that, but it was by far the least expensive option that close to the city center. The hotel and rooms were clean but outdated. While my room was a decent size, the bathroom was tiny. The bed was comfortable and the AC was working quite well. Valet parking is $38/night and includes in an out privileges. The staff also recommended a couple of nearby lots that were a bit cheaper if you didn't need access to your car. The number 3 bus right outside goes straight down Michigan Avenue to the heart of the Miracle Mile. Overall a good place to stay if you get a deal and don't need anything fancy.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Fahd
    Yemen
    May 2, 2014

    Great location

    The Hotel location is Great , near to most attractive locations and museums , universities . The cleaning was good but the floor corridor is narrow . you would like to stay there , i like it and i will return to this hotel on my next visit to Chicago . thanks

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    NSz123
    Lincoln, Nebraksa
    Oct 30, 2013

    Sightseeing in Chicago

    I spent 4 days in Chicago to see the city, and booked at this hotel because of the location. The room was very nice, clean, it had a double bed and a small desk in the corner - not very spacy, but perfect for a few nights, and the location is, indeed, pretty good. One downside was the heating system - it is very loud, and the room gets cold pretty quick without it, so I couldn't turn it off even at night. The other downside was the wifi - it was not high speed,as advertised, I could not have a video conversation on skype, and it kept throwing me off every once a while. Also, the printer in the lobby wasn't working. I can only recommend this hotel if there is a deal going on that makes it cheaper than normal, though, that is how I booked it, together with my flight.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Bruce Shyu
    Wooster, Ohio
    Jun 1, 2013

    Quite comfortable, some minor wifi problems

    I have stayed in a side-room of 8th floor. The light and cleanliness is perfect. They also provided free and good coffee for about 8 cups a day. The only thing that I would complain is about the wifi. Sometimes the wifi signal will disappear and I have to log in again. Also, I can't upload some photos in Wechat. I'm sure that's not my fault because I can upload photos when I came back campus two days later.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Five guys burger is nearby. Their cheeseburger is fabulous and worthy about 7 USD each.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Inflight
    Austin Tx
    May 13, 2013

    Average Stay

    The room was clean, the staff was not overly friendly. The bar/coffee bar attached were nice!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    hadrian
    new york
    Mar 10, 2013

    great experience

    great location and helpful staff. The rooms are remarkably comfortable and clean as is the entire hotel. I always make it a point to stay here when in town. Never disappoints.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    MJ A
    Houston
    Dec 16, 2012

    Look elsewhere

    Just spend a little more and stay somewhere else. There is a reason the hotel is relatively cheaper than other nearby hotels. AC was acting crazy; very small and uncomfortable, not a good location, renovation noise... hated it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    tahoetrish
    Lake Tahoe Nevada
    Oct 27, 2012

    Chicago Grant Park Best Western

    The first two days did not have a phone that worked in the room , so family could not get ahold of me, Walls are paper thin, a couple with small infant next to my room and it cryed all night. Bathroom ceiling was all stained and mold from water leaks...other wise the room was clean and the Big Plus it is in a great location close to shopping and tourist attractions

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    hop on and off bus tour two blocks away and worth the money...get to see everything!!!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Solo girl
    Chicago
    Oct 16, 2012

    great last minute find

    I was comfortable the entire time. Three staff was helpful and friendly.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Just walk up Michigan or Wabash

    Back to menu Return to top