$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
299 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (299)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.4 / 5
    74 out of 299
    Amenities:
    3.2
    Room cleanliness:
    3.7
    Hotel staff:
    3.9
    Room comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.4
    Value:
    3.7

    85% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    Julie heavy Traveler
    Louisville, KY
    Mar 30, 2014

    Great Location

    This hotel was fine if its a quick stay over in downtown Chicago. No amenities or anything special, but good value for staying close to shopping venues.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    KimJosh
    Southern Maryland
    Dec 11, 2013

    Next to soldier field! Perfect for the $

    Came to chicago for a bears game. The hotel was perfect location, couldn't get any closer. Cheaper on the price scale, even though you get what you pay for, it had everything we needed. Friendly, and accommodating staff. Fairly clean, just older. But hut it is chicago! I'd would definitely stay there again if we're not looking to spend tons of money for a room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Soldier field was super close.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    Ale37gq
    Heredia, Costa Rica
    Jun 30, 2013

    Nice family getaway

    We actually had a great time at the hotel in Chicago downtown. The only discomforting experience was our delayed flight of three ours from Atlanta to Chicago.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    Mario Aguilar
    Shelbyville Kentucky
    Jun 23, 2013

    Lack of parking

    It is not space for parking cars,and they charge so guests park their cars $ 29.00 per day. I ask them why they charged for parking my car and told me if i wanted to look for where park.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    lexy1234
    Saint Louis, MO
    May 30, 2013

    good for an overnight stay

    This place is good if you are looking for some place to crash for the night.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    DZ traveler
    Chicago, il.
    Jan 3, 2013

    Dissssapointed

    Sadly, I wasn't very happy with my stay at this hotel. The lobby and the room looked very cheeezy. The hot water in the faucet in my room did not work. The staff was ok but didn't even know if the room had cable. The room just felt dirty. It was just a cheeeeezzzy feel to the whole experience. The price wasn't bad for the location.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    pizanos is a great choice for pizza and italian food!!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    sunny sunny sunny
    pittsburg, kansas
    Oct 31, 2012

    not bad

    good location, short walk to attractions, nice cleaning and nice staffs.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    firemedic29
    colorado springs, colorado
    Oct 23, 2012

    was very dissapointed

    we arrived at 1 pm and were told the room wasn't ready so we went off to a museum for a few hours and and came back at 5 pm to be told our still wasn't ready. so we waited in the lobby for about 25 until a some one from the service desk came over to us and said our room was ready. i thought check in time was 3 pm not 5:30 pm. we were also given some coupons for a "free american breakfast" in the cafe next door which probley equaled a danish or a donut only for the time we spent waiting. the first night was okay bed was large and comfy which was nice. the soundproofing for the room not as nice. we could hear pretty much every thing going on in the hall and even hear the EL train a 2 blocks away with the windows closed. the fitness center was dissapointing with only 1 out of 6 machines working. i got a better work out from walking all around the loop and mag mile. not the we went for it but the pool was a disaster too and looking like it needed a full remodel if not a full replacement. during the second day after the cleaning staff had finished cleaning our room we still had to ask for towels and wash cloths which they didn't leave at all. that and we hand no view of the lake what so ever until we went out side and walked across the street to the park over all it was a good location but was way below what i would have expected for a best western hotel. i'd say spend a bit more money and get a hotel closer to the mag mile or the loop. this was doable for 2 nights any more then 3 nights and i think we would have had to go find some where better. very eager to come back to chicago but not to this hotel

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    the orange line EL train station is a short 3 block walk from the hotel. with 3 different lines running though this station you can get to any where in the city in a short time. midway to the station about 32 minutes

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    TheJVAS
    St Augustine
    Oct 22, 2012

    Not worth the money!

    Where do I start....The hotel room had leaking windows, the heat did not work, the bathroom tub/shower did not drain, the TV only had 11 channels, the wallpaper throughout the room was peeling off of the wall, the non-smoking room smelled like smoke, the carpet had crumbs all over it, the single chair in the room had huge burns in 2 spots and the telephone was missing half of the buttons and 3 out of the 5 lights in the rooms did not work at all...On a positive, the location was decent and the restaurant next to the hotel had a friendly staff!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    The CTA L Train to/from the hotel - airport only cost $2.50 per person.....The taxi was $45 for 2 people.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    Molly's mom 2
    Washington
    Oct 18, 2012

    worked for the visit

    Since we primarily slept here and were otherwise out enjoying Chicago it was adequate. I would not suggest it for a long stay. The room was relatively small and the temperature control was fairly noisy. I would rank it as average but we will pay the extra and stay elsewhere next time we are in Chicago.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    The museums obviously. Wear comfy walking shoes and plan on more time than you think you will need.

    Back to menu Return to top