$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
340 reviews
Not bad, but not the best ever.

Check in was super fast, desk clerk was friendly. Room was clean, smelled good. I was there right... See full review

  • Kenneth D.
  • Apr 29, 2015
Awesome Conference

This hotel was in the middle of the best area. Easy access to public transportation and close to so... See full review

  • Heather D.
  • Mar 16, 2015
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    31 out of 340
    Amenities:
    2.9
    Cleanliness:
    3.9
    Hotel staff:
    3.6
    Comfort:
    3.5
    Location:
    4.1
    Value:
    3.4

    84% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Man Traveller
    Business
    Connecticut, USA
    Jan 24, 2012

    Worst Best Western I've stayed in.

    Only thing going for this hotel is its location, although the room was clean and had a great view. On arrival, the room was cold. I turned up the heat on the a/c heating unit and left. I arrived back around 22h00, the room was slightly warmer but still cold. I slept poorly and complained to the clerk at the desk in the morning when I left. She said they would have it attended to. I arrived back late in the evening exhausted and the room was still cold. I should have asked for another room but I stuck it out because of the great view. Third day I arrived back at the room just before midnight just to find there was no electricity in the room. Went down stairs and the front desk got hold of maintenance who came and reset the circuit breaker. Next day I came back early in the evening and found all the face cloths had been removed. On my way out I told the front desk who had house keeping drop off "literally dumped 3 on the sink". I brought with me my own coffee, milk & sweeteners but had to break open the hotel supplied packs for the stirrers. Never were they replaced. Hotel does not offer meals of any sort, but do have vending machines on alternate floors that were always mostly empty but did have real junk stuff - candies. Perhaps the real food was gone by my late returns. I did find some cookies in one machine. This hotel does not do justice to the Best Western Franchise organization, sorry.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Michigan
    Aug 2, 2010

    NOT GOOD

    Noisy train line behind hotel. Can't recline in bed to watch tv because you only get two flat small pillows and there are pictures on wall above headboard you hit with your head. Ice machine on my floor did not work the 4 days I stayed. Had to go up two floors daily for ice and up one floor for the snack food vending machines. Thin walls!! You can hear the water running and toilets flushing from rooms next to you. Whenever you asked the night or early morning desk clerks something you would get a blank stare before answering and they acted like you were bothering them. Location is not bad for walking to Grant park or Soldier Field events.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    black barbie
    Business
    Long Beach, ca
    Jun 4, 2010

    Great location, bad rooms

    Friendly staff, my room's night light was not working, neither the air conditioner and in the bathroom, the hooks of the shower were unlocked. Additionally when I asked for a room with a view to the park, they said there was an extra charge, which I understand because of the view, still, since the hotel was hardly booked that day they could of offer me the room and tell me that it was a special for me... you know, good service so I come back

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

    between long an mid length walks you get to: Millenium Park, Art conservatory, The park with the Buckingham Fountain, the Adler Planetarium, Buckingham Fountain and the Shedd Aquarium.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Tawny
    Business
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Aug 15, 2011

    My first Chicago trip

    Best Western at Grant park is an excellent location. You are able to walk or bike just about anywhere in the city. The hotel itself has much to be desired, the staff is fairly friendly and the lobby desk is open 24 hrs. the room I got #315 is next to the pool lounge area so I had to keep my curtains closed while I was there for privacy. No coffee maker in the room but you get coffee. huh? They charge $25 per night for "Valet" parking and the only other choice you have is a public garage that charges about the same. You can only have access to you car between 6am and 12am. The room is fairly quiet, could be more quiet though, I think. there is fitness center and a swimming pool. The pool is not indoors and the water is freezing cold. Walking through the hotel, you can tell this is an old building. They have managed to keep it up fairly well though. If I go back to Chicago, I may stay here again but I would not have a car this time as now I know that I can get around the city fairly easy walking or biking or public transport.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    pretty much at the attraction are within walking or biking distance.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    MJ A
    Business
    Houston
    Dec 16, 2012

    Look elsewhere

    Just spend a little more and stay somewhere else. There is a reason the hotel is relatively cheaper than other nearby hotels. AC was acting crazy; very small and uncomfortable, not a good location, renovation noise... hated it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    AdvisorBob
    Business
    Beaverton, OR, USA
    Oct 8, 2011

    Clean, Older Facility, Good Location

    Very Clean but the hotel could use some updating. Good location right on Michigan Ave across from Grant park. Within walking distance of Shedd Aquarium, Adler Planetarium, Field Museum and Soldier Field. Michigan is the main thorough fare in Chicago so if you don't want to take Cabs, the Bus will take you anywhere you need to go.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    bobbirn
    Business
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Dec 11, 2011

    Nothing special

    the accomodations here were adequate. It was not too far from bus lines (but that's a different story), but there was no shuttle fr om the airport at 8pm, and the cab ride was $45. However, once there, they were quick to respond to needs. There was no continental breakfast served, but there was a restaurant that served good food, though not cheap, next to it, and there was a coffee pot in the room. Overall, an average, but no better, stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    jimnj
    Business
    princeton, new jersey
    Dec 6, 2011

    ok place to stay

    good staff older rooms but at least they're clean enough. not worth staying unless there's a good deal basicly.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    radiculous
    Business
    Toronto, ON
    Aug 7, 2012

    Perfect location

    Very comfortable and clean room, exactly as expected. Decor is a bit dated, say late 90's, but not an issue. This hotel was heavily trafficked for the music fest, but no issue with noise. Comfortable stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great location for Lollapalooza - I looked out over Grant Park.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Kim enjoy the journey
    Business
    La Jolla, Ca
    Sep 11, 2012

    Roon stings, but good location

    I got Non-smoking room smells smoke. you also need to reserve a parking space ahead of time. But the hotel location is walking distance to the Art museum and Chicago Millenium park

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top