$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
476 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (476)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    63 out of 476
    Amenities:
    3.2
    Room cleanliness:
    3.9
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    3.8
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    83% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Dj yass
    Oklahoma city Ok
    Aug 29, 2010

    not so good

    The hotel itself wasn't that bad but the staff was not very friendly the rooms where to small it wasn't filthy but it definitely didn't feel clean and not enough towels.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

    navy pier and down town fine dining shopping and just a great city.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    chrissy81
    NWI
    Jun 9, 2014

    unhappy with the staff.

    Staff members were rude. Janitor was awesome his name was rich,he was helpful and polite. Valet guy was creepy kept starring at us the whole time. When we got their I asked for 2 beds queen. They had me in for one king bed with only 2people. We had 4 in our party. The lady at the desk was rude and told me that's all they had. As she is swiping my debit card. Urgh stop cause if u can't help me ill have to go somewhere else cause you guys made a mistake. They claimed they had a pool, noone said anything at the desk that the pool is being reconstruction. O great that's wonderful the janitor told us when we finally figured out where it was. Watch out for the elevators they didn't have a sensor in the door if someone was standing there. Crushed my friend body and my daughter arm. In our room toilet leaked and the curtains looked dirty and old. No fitted sheets on the bed just a mattress pad and a sheet. Air conditioned didn't work. We were moved to another room. A little better, but I will never stay there again. Looks ran down outside. Lobby elevator,and the rooms. It might be cheaper, but I would Of spent the extra 40.00 to stay somewhere nicer.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Teacher with 12 students on a field trip
    Michigan
    Apr 24, 2010

    For a good time, Do NOT Reserve here!

    The bathrooms have no ventilation -- and are very small. The rooms have barely any floor space. The location is great. The staff were very curt with our requests. The manager told me they "have more blankets/pillows down at the desk." So, I get dressed decently enough to walk down to get my own and when I get there, the girl at the desk said, "You need pillows and blankets?? Sure, we'll bring it right up to your room. What's the number?" Yeah, I wasn't happy! Valet parking is $24 per day per room per vehicle. The continental breakfast we paid extra for only applied to two of the four ppl per room. So, six students went hungry! :o( The valet parking closes at Midnight -- but we were out at a play that started at 9 PM and didn't end till 11:30 PM and we were 1/2 hour away from the motel. NOT COOL. I honestly, wouldn't go back, even though we only paid $90 per room (we had 3 rooms).

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Dj yass
    Oklahoma city Ok
    Aug 29, 2010

    not so good

    The hotel itself wasn't that bad but the staff was not very friendly the rooms where to small it wasn't filthy but it definitely didn't feel clean and not enough towels.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

    navy pier and down town fine dining shopping and just a great city.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Teacher with 12 students on a field trip
    Michigan
    Apr 24, 2010

    For a good time, Do NOT Reserve here!

    The bathrooms have no ventilation -- and are very small. The rooms have barely any floor space. The location is great. The staff were very curt with our requests. The manager told me they "have more blankets/pillows down at the desk." So, I get dressed decently enough to walk down to get my own and when I get there, the girl at the desk said, "You need pillows and blankets?? Sure, we'll bring it right up to your room. What's the number?" Yeah, I wasn't happy! Valet parking is $24 per day per room per vehicle. The continental breakfast we paid extra for only applied to two of the four ppl per room. So, six students went hungry! :o( The valet parking closes at Midnight -- but we were out at a play that started at 9 PM and didn't end till 11:30 PM and we were 1/2 hour away from the motel. NOT COOL. I honestly, wouldn't go back, even though we only paid $90 per room (we had 3 rooms).

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Boston MA
    Oct 15, 2009

    Convenient but you get what you pay for.

    Went out for the Chicago Marathon, and booked this hotel since it was right across from the starting line in Grant park. [...] It took them HOURS to get us checked in (along with several other guests). We kept leaving and coming back. You can hear the trains all night.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Boston MA
    Oct 15, 2009

    Convenient but you get what you pay for.

    Went out for the Chicago Marathon, and booked this hotel since it was right across from the starting line in Grant park. [...] It took them HOURS to get us checked in (along with several other guests). We kept leaving and coming back. You can hear the trains all night.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    August26
    Appleton, WI, USA
    Sep 10, 2011

    Girls Getaway

    We got to our hotel 45 minutes early for a check in at 3:00pm. They not only would not let us check in, but we ended up not getting into our room until 4:15!! It totally ruined our plans for the afternoon. The Front Desk Manager did "upgrade" our room...we got a room with a fridge and microwave. The room was nothing special, and in fact, we soon found out we could not have more than 4 things plugged in/running at the same time or else the power would go out! That has never happened to me at a hotel before. We did not let it ruin our trip- but I will not be staying there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    August26
    Appleton, WI, USA
    Sep 10, 2011

    Girls Getaway

    We got to our hotel 45 minutes early for a check in at 3:00pm. They not only would not let us check in, but we ended up not getting into our room until 4:15!! It totally ruined our plans for the afternoon. The Front Desk Manager did "upgrade" our room...we got a room with a fridge and microwave. The room was nothing special, and in fact, we soon found out we could not have more than 4 things plugged in/running at the same time or else the power would go out! That has never happened to me at a hotel before. We did not let it ruin our trip- but I will not be staying there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Richfield,MN
    Jun 13, 2011

    Good Hotel

    A good Hotel in the middle of the city.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Back to menu Return to top