$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
362 reviews
Not bad, but not the best ever.

Check in was super fast, desk clerk was friendly. Room was clean, smelled good. I was there right... See full review

  • Kenneth D.
  • Apr 29, 2015
Awesome Conference

This hotel was in the middle of the best area. Easy access to public transportation and close to so... See full review

  • Heather D.
  • Mar 16, 2015
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    116 out of 362
    Amenities:
    3.1
    Cleanliness:
    3.8
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.4
    Value:
    3.6

    80% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    very discussed
    Business
    Houston Texas
    Jul 27, 2010

    Cheap is not always Good

    We had a four night stay. the beds were made everyday but, the room was not cleaned and the towels where not replaced even when requested. Last morning I notice only one bath towel was left. Coffee was only left in the room for one morning. One of the reps at the front desk is absoulutly rude. You can tell she does not like her job. I would suggest any other hotel in Chicago other than this one.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    use the public transprotation as much as you can. It was extremely cheap, well organized and convient.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    RnR Lover
    Business
    Fargo, ND
    Jul 15, 2012

    Disappointing stay

    Given our positive experience with other Best Western hotels, we proceeded with booking a reservation here. The location is really good (walking distance from the museum campus), but everything else is not. The staff are not particularly helpful. We had requested a crib. The front desk staff said they would get back to us about that, but never did. The room quality is poor, fit for a motel, not a hotel. The paint needed upkeep (water damaged bathroom ceiling) and cleanliness was sorely missing (even in the lobby). The housekeeping staff did a fair job (sometimes missed conditioner or a towel). If all you care about is some shelter for the night this hotel would fit the bill, however look elsewhere for a pleasant stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    tusa grandma
    Business
    tulsa,Ok.
    Jul 20, 2012

    chicago getaway

    I was dissatified with the hotel..the rooms were too small,especially the bathroom w/it's musty smell.The halls were narrow w/old smelly carpet.The walls were so bad,I could hear people in the other rooms. The staff on the other hand were friendly and helpful. Bottom line...not worth the money.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Indiana
    Jun 22, 2010

    Sleepless in Chicago

    I booked this room to be with in walking distance to Soldier Field and I was satisfied with the location. We were on 3rd floor two doors down from service door so we heard the door slamming open and shut all night long. We also heard all the sounds from the street. I also requested double beds and the person at the desk said if you book with 3rd party they can not guarantee your request. Pillows were flat so I asked for extra pillow and they could not acomodate that request either. Only two elevators which were very slow so long lines and wait to use those. I booked this hotel again in July but now after this experience I wish I was staying someplace else near Soldier field unfortunatley can not get another hotel at this late date.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    The Yolk restaurant next door has excellent breakfast. I highly recommend eating there.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    lifter71
    Business
    minneapolis
    Aug 24, 2010

    Location great, everything else, not

    Would not go back! Room smelled terrible, shower never drained, even after "fixed". Noisy and very small rooms.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Gma's
    Business
    Chicago
    Aug 8, 2014

    Gma's Trip

    Overall the hotel was run down and below standard even for a three star. The bathroom smelled of mold, the shower leaked and we were given only two towels for a reservation for four. The housekeeping staff did keep things clean. The hotel did have a pool as advertised but it was dirty as was the entire pool ares. Overall, this was a disappointment and I will likely not stay at any hotel with this name again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Kimberly Jean
    Business
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Sep 1, 2014

    VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

    As soon as we got there we were told that we had a room with one king size bed, but we had reserved out room at least 5 months + in advance for two queen size beds. Then we were told that the parking was full and we would need to find parking else where. We did find parking down the street for $40 per night, normally $27 per night. Had to walk back to hotel from parking garage. The room smelled like smoke and didn't even have a frig or microwave to use( for what we paid should have had both). We where told that even though we had made reservations many months in advance that because we booked on O--- they could not guarantee the room that we asked for, even though we verified 2 weeks before our trip that it was all set. I was very disappointed in this hotel. BW usually has very nice hotels, not GP BW. I would recommend spending a few dollars more and get excellent customer service and much nicer rooms. Will NEVER stay there again. Location was the ONLY thing good about this hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

    Me, my daughter and her best friend were staying the weekend for the One Direction and Five Seconds of Summer Concert at Soldier Field. Great location. With the money we spent we could have stayed in a much nicer hotel.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    1Dwasworthit
    Business
    Chicago, IL
    Sep 1, 2014

    Definitely not the "Best Night Ever."

    Booked this hotel only for the convenience of walking to and from Soldier Field for a One Direction concert. Check in was at 3, arrived a bit early and was told it would be just a few minutes before the room was ready. Over an hour later, we were still waiting in the non air-conditioned lobby packed with other concert goers. There was a line for the elevator at all times, and when we finally were given the room key, we discovered a bag filled with rotting food leftover from a previous guest. TV also did not work. Pool was freezing and not well maintained. Those who drove to the hotel were told that there were no more parking spaces left in the garage, so they had to park elsewhere. Many frustrated, hot, and confused guests in the lobby. Would only stay there again if absolutely desperate for a place close to Soldier Field. Its ONE saving grace was the fact that the location is very convenient for concerts and sporting events there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    very discussed
    Business
    Houston Texas
    Jul 27, 2010

    Cheap is not always Good

    We had a four night stay. the beds were made everyday but, the room was not cleaned and the towels where not replaced even when requested. Last morning I notice only one bath towel was left. Coffee was only left in the room for one morning. One of the reps at the front desk is absoulutly rude. You can tell she does not like her job. I would suggest any other hotel in Chicago other than this one.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    use the public transprotation as much as you can. It was extremely cheap, well organized and convient.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    KdnSac
    Business
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    Apr 5, 2012

    Would not return

    Our trip to Chicago was not enhanced in anyway by staying at this hotel other than the location. When my daughter and I tried to use our hair dryers at the same time we blew the circuit which required a call to the front desk since the room was now totally dark. Had to wait for at least 10 minutes for it to be fixed...smelled like the repair person must have been out smoking. Wall paper peeling off the walls: bathroom door in the gym area won't lock; Sunday morning cleaning staff having a loud discussion in the hall at 8:00 a.m....hey, this is my vacation!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top