$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
472 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (472)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3 / 5
    5.01.0
    106 out of 472
    Amenities:
    2.7
    Room cleanliness:
    3.7
    Hotel staff:
    3.6
    Room comfort:
    3.4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3.5

    68% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Shawn Lamb
    Business
    Sheboygan, WI
    Sep 27, 2013

    Worst Experience

    I would not recommend this hotel due to issues with the billing system, reservation system, and overall attitude displayed by the staff. We were forcibly ejected from our stay due to a mix up on the hotel's end. We had reserved a room for 5 nights as confirmed by customer care after the stay. The hotel only had us booked for 4 nights. My wife was told to get out of the room with a 10 minute warning. She had to scramble to get everything out of the room along with our two small children. The reservation system stated the rooms were paid for, but when I arrived to check in, the amount in full was due. The card that was supposed to be charged was not charged until the next day and only after several faxes. The billing issues continued when I was charged later for a $269.98 fee for something that I did not authorize while staying at the hotel. After contacting the hotel, they stated that charge "should" come have come off within 24 hours of posting and it was for a night already paid for by the credit card. Why they decided to charge my cards twice, I do not know. It has been 48 hours and still nothing. Due to the mix up in the reservation, my wife, my kids and I were not able to finish attending a large conference or do any sightseeing we had planned for that evening and the next morning. After being told to leave the room, the staff was extremely hostile and refused to believe anything that we said and were more than willing to charge a different room at an astronomical rate in order to keep us there. After asking for corporate information did the staff start to show any form of pleasantness. I will no longer be staying at any Best Western branded hotels on my numerous business trips because of this situation.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    AORN
    Business
    Cape Coral, Fl.
    Apr 5, 2014

    The Best Western in not the Best

    This Hotel is in needs of maintenance. The work out room is dirty, the cable cord was not even attached to the TV. The air conditioner/heat vents were filthy with dust, part of the bathroom fixture was falling off or lopsided, the door to the entrance of the room had a 2 inch gap from the floor to the door on one side. When I asked for 2 pillows with no feathers, I had to call twice, and they never brought them. I then called again the next day, and twice they brought the same pillows with feathers, the third day they found the correct pillows, which was the day before I left. They advertised a safe in the room for laptops and my room did not have one, so I had to change my room. The "new furniture" in the old room, was tacky and outdated. Pay the extra money and go down the street one block!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Chicago
    Jun 1, 2009

    check out 2 days back. But no money back

    I have check out the hotel 2 days back but i never get the cash back for the other 2 days!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    ILND
    Business
    Illinois
    Jun 19, 2014

    Room was Ok, Hotel was not

    The hotel itself is very dated, the lobby and hallways were dark, dreary and depressing. There is considerable deferred maintenance here. The staff was fine, I don't fault them for anything here, but the owners certainly care little at this point. The room was somewhat clean, and not quite as dated as the hotel. However the feel of the hotel just overall gave me the creeps and I didn't really want to touch anything. The room lacked in amenities, the air conditioning unit kicked on and off and the room would either be too warm or too cold. I slept fairly poorly due in large part to the A/C unit kicking on and off every few minutes. The location is off the beaten path on South Michigan, its a hike from everything. I cannot recommend this hotel but then again, you get what you pay for.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    PackerFan
    Business
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    Sep 16, 2011

    Not great for allergies

    I was in town for a conference and the city was at a very high occupancy. This was a last minute choice and I had limited options. I may be a bit of a hotel snob, but I have not stayed at a hotel that allows smoking for some time. When I checked in I was told it was a smoking room and I had no option to move. If you have allergies, buyer beware. The rooms have seen there better days and need a major update. The 2nd day of my stay I recieved an upgrade to a room which had been updated and it was much nicer (3 Star). The location is good an easy cab ride to my conference an all Mag Mile shopping.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    I had breakfast at Yolk and Dinner at 11 Chicago Deli. Both offered great food in a nice atmosphere at a good value. Check them out!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    PackerFan
    Business
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    Sep 16, 2011

    Not great for allergies

    I was in town for a conference and the city was at a very high occupancy. This was a last minute choice and I had limited options. I may be a bit of a hotel snob, but I have not stayed at a hotel that allows smoking for some time. When I checked in I was told it was a smoking room and I had no option to move. If you have allergies, buyer beware. The rooms have seen there better days and need a major update. The 2nd day of my stay I recieved an upgrade to a room which had been updated and it was much nicer (3 Star). The location is good an easy cab ride to my conference an all Mag Mile shopping.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    I had breakfast at Yolk and Dinner at 11 Chicago Deli. Both offered great food in a nice atmosphere at a good value. Check them out!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    s.traveller
    Business
    dearborn, Michigan
    May 14, 2012

    not good

    Horrible. The WIFI is bad. Spiders at the roof. Electricity went off. Toilet flusher was broke and it took a day to fix it. It was not quite. The only thing good is the location and the price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    milwaukee,WI
    Jun 15, 2010

    Very dirty and Noisy

    The hotel looks outdated.The bathroom was cramped,dark and dirty.[...]very noisy and unpleasant experience.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    RKPT
    Business
    Houston, TX
    Sep 18, 2012

    Filthy and Smelled

    Stay away. Looked and smelled like giant truck stop. Smokey, dirty, old decor. From the minute I stepped into the building I wanted to leave. Stained carpet, curtains, etc.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    CPSF
    Business
    San Francisco
    May 21, 2013

    old and barely working

    This place was pretty bad. Everything was old and barely working. AC did not work and we couldn't open the windows. Wifi barely works. Lamps broken. Faucet broken. Bed was comfy and location was good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top