$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
477 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (477)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    477 out of 477
    Amenities:
    3.1
    Room cleanliness:
    3.9
    Hotel staff:
    3.9
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    3.7

    79% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Danny One
    Business
    Chicago
    Jul 18, 2013

    Family Chicago Visit

    Poor Wi-Fi connection Drawyer were dirty Customer Printer was not working our entire 4 night stay Exterior is run down Windows were dirty Curtain was broken Double beds too small for two people No complementary breakfast which is a standard at Best Western Employees were friendly and helpful-that was a positive Good location across from Grant Park and walking distance to Museum and Soldier Field.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    St. Louis, MO
    Jun 9, 2010

    Two Star Downtown Chicago

    Location is nice, but only valet parking. General upkeep like flower boxes were unfilled, machine broken in very small fitness center, room cramped, but hey, I found a hotel for under $200 during a busy conference time and was closer than my colleagues to the McCormik center!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great little sushi/Thai place only a couple of blocks away with window that open to the street!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Boston MA
    Oct 15, 2009

    Convenient but you get what you pay for.

    Went out for the Chicago Marathon, and booked this hotel since it was right across from the starting line in Grant park. [...] It took them HOURS to get us checked in (along with several other guests). We kept leaving and coming back. You can hear the trains all night.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    August26
    Appleton, WI, USA
    Sep 10, 2011

    Girls Getaway

    We got to our hotel 45 minutes early for a check in at 3:00pm. They not only would not let us check in, but we ended up not getting into our room until 4:15!! It totally ruined our plans for the afternoon. The Front Desk Manager did "upgrade" our room...we got a room with a fridge and microwave. The room was nothing special, and in fact, we soon found out we could not have more than 4 things plugged in/running at the same time or else the power would go out! That has never happened to me at a hotel before. We did not let it ruin our trip- but I will not be staying there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Julie heavy Traveler
    Louisville, KY
    Mar 30, 2014

    Great Location

    This hotel was fine if its a quick stay over in downtown Chicago. No amenities or anything special, but good value for staying close to shopping venues.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Minneapolis, MN
    Aug 5, 2010

    Adequate Hotel

    This hotel is in a perfect location for going on Columbia College tours. We also walked to Chinatown (about 10 minutes) walked to the museum campus and along the waterfront. We also walked to the Art Institute and to Navy Pier. Easy bus and train access as well. The hotel was comfortable and clean but definitely needs some love and care. The staff was very willing to help us with extra towels and parking issues. The outdoor pool is not heated and pretty run-down. It is reasonably priced and we would probably stay again for convenience and value. We had a big yummy breakfast next door at Yolk.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    We had a fun dinner at Buddy Guys legends barbecue and blues,we were with our teenagers (both musicians) but kids not of age can not stay to watch the live performances even with adult chaperones. We were disappointed.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    St. Louis, MO
    Jun 9, 2010

    Two Star Downtown Chicago

    Location is nice, but only valet parking. General upkeep like flower boxes were unfilled, machine broken in very small fitness center, room cramped, but hey, I found a hotel for under $200 during a busy conference time and was closer than my colleagues to the McCormik center!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great little sushi/Thai place only a couple of blocks away with window that open to the street!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Salt Lake City
    Jul 15, 2009

    Review of Best Wester Grant Park

    Not the greatest place. It's clean, staff nice, but far removed from convention center and restaurants. No breakfast included, didn't need parking, but probably was an extra cost. I won't go there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    Most dining spots were a long walk, then very limited menu choices, high prices, and food not great. Bennigans over a mile walk, but food was good and reasonable.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    WindyCityVisitor
    Tampa, FL
    May 19, 2010

    Cheaper Price is Worth It!

    I was in Chicago apartment hunting so I wanted to be near transportation. The red line is a short walk and you can transfer easily to other lines. The light in the bathroom didn't work even though when we got to the room someone was "fixing" it. Not a big deal since there was a heat light, just make sure you turn it far enough when you take a shower!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Check out Lou Malnati's at State St./8th. The pizza is fantastically delicious!!!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Adam the unibinder
    Business
    Alpharetta, GA
    Jul 22, 2011

    Not recommeded

    Where should I start. The hotel is old and run down. It's in a nice part of town, which is the only reason I didn't just walk right out as soon as I saw the "lobby". The hallways smelled funny and you were lucky to find an English speaking employee. When I booked the room, I chose non-smoking room but when I arrived, they let me know that 3rd party bookings could result in getting a smoking room (for some reason they couldn't explain). The room smelled horrible and wasn't as clean as I thought. To top it all off, the first morning, when I woke up, I didn't have any hot water. None. When I asked the front desk, they told me, in broken English, that a lot of people were showering at the same time. Well no kidding. You mean people don't normally shower at 7:30am in your hotel? Ridiculous. Then I requested a late checkout because my business was running late. They said no. Then I mentioned the cold shower again and they finally gave in and let me check out an hour late. Their attitudes were less than to be desired. This place reminded me of The Shining, except in Mexico. I had to wash all of my clothes when I got home to get rid of the horrible smell. Just spend a little more and stay somewhere else.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Navy Pier is a great place to visit. There is a lot to do and see and the prices are relatively reasonable. Pretty much anything outside the hotel was great. Chicago is a wonderful city :)

    Back to menu Return to top