$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
473 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (473)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    473 out of 473
    Amenities:
    3.1
    Room cleanliness:
    3.9
    Hotel staff:
    3.9
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    3.7

    80% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Teacher with 12 students on a field trip
    Michigan
    Apr 24, 2010

    For a good time, Do NOT Reserve here!

    The bathrooms have no ventilation -- and are very small. The rooms have barely any floor space. The location is great. The staff were very curt with our requests. The manager told me they "have more blankets/pillows down at the desk." So, I get dressed decently enough to walk down to get my own and when I get there, the girl at the desk said, "You need pillows and blankets?? Sure, we'll bring it right up to your room. What's the number?" Yeah, I wasn't happy! Valet parking is $24 per day per room per vehicle. The continental breakfast we paid extra for only applied to two of the four ppl per room. So, six students went hungry! :o( The valet parking closes at Midnight -- but we were out at a play that started at 9 PM and didn't end till 11:30 PM and we were 1/2 hour away from the motel. NOT COOL. I honestly, wouldn't go back, even though we only paid $90 per room (we had 3 rooms).

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    milwaukee,WI
    Jun 15, 2010

    Very dirty and Noisy

    The hotel looks outdated.The bathroom was cramped,dark and dirty.[...]very noisy and unpleasant experience.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Stiller fan
    Business
    Da Burgh
    Nov 1, 2011

    Run Down

    Very disappointed in the disrepair of the hotel. The pool was empty and closed and it looked like it has been that way for some time. My door stuck and I had to slam it just to close it. All in all a pretty crummy place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Yoke was a great place for breakfast!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    WindyCityVisitor
    Tampa, FL
    May 19, 2010

    Cheaper Price is Worth It!

    I was in Chicago apartment hunting so I wanted to be near transportation. The red line is a short walk and you can transfer easily to other lines. The light in the bathroom didn't work even though when we got to the room someone was "fixing" it. Not a big deal since there was a heat light, just make sure you turn it far enough when you take a shower!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Check out Lou Malnati's at State St./8th. The pizza is fantastically delicious!!!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Traverse City, MI
    Jan 2, 2010

    Sketchy

    We went to Chicago to see a show and stay one night. The hotel couldn't take my debit card as a credit charge. I ended up having to hold the room on a rarely used credit card. The parking was an additional $24. [...] I am now having trouble with my bank account having NSF charges. It may be unrelated, but the staff looked like they just got out of jail.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    JETM
    St. Louis
    Jul 31, 2013

    Great location but needs a huge refresher!

    Floors were gross. Hair all over bath tub. Great location if your looking to walk to museums at soldier field.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    New York
    Aug 5, 2011

    Just OK stay

    I was in Chicago with my daughter for her college orientation. We stayed in Best Western mostly because of its location. The hotel decor felt somewhat "cold" even doe staff was pretty nice and friendly. We had some "issues" with room itself, A/C was very, very noisy and blowing air behind the currants, toilet bawl was flushing so slow and it overflowed. We had repair man trying to fix it on 3 occasions, it did not work. The shower head was also defective shooting out water like garden hose. Maybe because we are used to stay in much better hotels our experience wasn't as satisfactory

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Urol
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    May 8, 2009

    Unpleasant surprise

    I went for a Conference at the Mcormick Center. Hotel location is very good, close to the Millenium Park and with easy access to the subway. Close to the Art museum, aquarium, field museum, navy pier. Bathrooms are clean and place is quiet although in Michigan Ave. However, I had a very unpleasant surprise to be informed that the room I had requested with 2 double beds was not available when I got there, and they oferred me a room with 1 king size bed only. Had I been with my wife it would be OK, but I was traveling with a friend and it put us in a very uncomfortable situation (one of us slept on the floor for 2 nights until they could make another room available). The explanation that was given was that when you book your room through Orbitz there is no guarantee you are gonna get what you asked for since you are paying for cheaper rates. I was outraged since there is no such information in Orbitz website. Be aware!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

    Don't miss the John Hancock lounge close to downtown. Great drinks with a great view.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    philadelphia pa
    Oct 21, 2010

    nice people, disappointing room

    Friendly service. Inexpensive room not as nice as Redroof farther north, which would have been cheaper. Internet service deathly slow. Room was clean but somewhat faded--about what I expected for the price

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Green bay wi
    Mar 28, 2010

    BEST WESTERN NOT

    smoke alarm hanging by wires out of wall. HAD TO ASK FOR OUR FREE MEAL TICKETS

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Back to menu Return to top