$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angie DG
Business
St. Louis
Sep 7, 2011

Best Western Grant Park

Great location! Walkable to Millenium Park, less than a mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
izablsmmy030609
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 27, 2010

Excellent for the Tourist on the Go!!

I really enjoyed this hotel. I got there a little early (like 3 hours too soon) and the receptionist was greatly helpful. She allowed us to park our car ($24 Valet which really isn't that bad) and then helped us find a little scenic tour to kill time since we still couldn't check in yet. She did, too, upgrade our room since we had to wait, full complimentary! Beautiful view. The only bad thing I would say is that the rooms are very tiny. If you are traveling with a large group or many children I wouldn't recommend it. I think it would be too cramped for the children. But other than that, it was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Take the Red Line to 35/Sox and go to the White Sox game!! It's an awesome experience!! Go White Sox!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charcharbinks
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Aug 30, 2011

First trip to Chitown

It was what I expected for the price. The wi-fi was average but the hotel computers were slow but its free so I can't really complain. The rooms were decent and housekeeping was very thorough. I didn't like their channel selection on the tv and the hotel staff was very slow at check in but it was crowded and they mistakenly double booked my room but they fixed it immediately. I would stay again tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you like real breakfast like eggs, pancakes, etc. eat at the hotel's resturant Mei's Kitchen. My boyfriend and I had a hard time finding nearby places that served anything other than breakfast sandwiches. One thing I didn't like about Mei's Kitchen is that it cost 2 dollars plus tax for a very small cup of anything other than water and you can't get refills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Charles, IL
Jul 5, 2010

Matthew's B'Day Trip

Great location and most everything in walking distance. "Yolk" for breakfast right next door is great. Clean and very friendly staff. Parking reasonable for downtown Chicago $24/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Great location to Shedd, museums etc. Water taxi short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Sep 30, 2010

Good Times

service was great & location was good. Had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking for me was not bad because I walk at a slow pace, for someone else they may not like the long walk. Short walk around the corner to the YOLK for breakfast, GOOD FOOD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kij
Business
Vancouver, BC
Apr 13, 2010

More than I was hoping for

I was in Chicago for a conference and after two nights of staying with a less than ideal host, needed to change my accommodation. Best Western had the cheapest rates so I went with them, hoping only to get a few nights of good sleep. It was more than I hoped for: I was impressed by the quality of the room and the helpfulness of the staff. Public transport is easily accessible and many attractions are within walking distance (e.g. Art Institute, Millenium Park, good food). The noise wasn't really too much of an issue, it was just one night where I could hear people (from another room? not sure) until fairly late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bongo Room: amazing breakfast menu! There was a long wait on the Sunday morning that I was there, but I went for a walk while I waited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IN
Jun 19, 2009

A Room with a View

Our adjoining rooms were almost perfect for us. We had a wonderful view of the lake, park and museums. The museums we visited were only a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The train station was also only a few blocks away. The beds were very comfortable. We were glad to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. We would have preferred to have two beds in each room. The only unwanted noises we heard were doors closing. They were unusually loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grant Park is just across the street. The museum campus is an easy 15 minute walk from the hotel. There is a small restaurant attached to the hotel. There is a train station just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
68galaxie500
Business
danville il
Jul 2, 2010

Clean older hotel. Friendly staff

The hotel is a clean older building. The staff is very helpful. A quick walk across Grant Park gets you to the Field Museum,Shedd Aquarium,Adler Planetarium, and Soldier Field.There is a nice restaurant in the 1st floor. Next door is a great place to have breakfast or lunch. It is called Yolk. Around the corner, you can catch the loop out to Midway airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Jun 22, 2009

Great Location

We enjoyed the location next to the lovely parks and musuem campus. It was an easy and beautiful walk to the Field Musuem and Shedd Aquarium. The flowers in and around Grant Park were beautiful. It was near the Red Line to the Cubs game, and affordable taxi ride to shopping. I would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yolk next door to hotel is a great place for breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 7, 2010

Great Price for a Perfect location

The Hotel was much better than I had expected. I thought for the rate I got the room it was going to be dirty and bad location. The only things about the room that disapointed me were: the small bathroom, the dirty windows, the Ice machine was out of order on our floor, and the bed was a little uncomfortable. The location of the hotel was perfect for what we were in chicago to do. We were literally 5 minutes walking distance from Museum campus. Also the hotel provided vallet parking for the same rates as parking at a parking garage further away. I plan to travel to chicago again this summer and I most likely will be staying at this hotel! The price the location! It was perfect for two broke college kids! lol. I would recommend this hotel to almost anyone but for a family I would recommend maybe getting two rooms being so small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

depending on where you want to shop the road right behind the hotel has some great stores on it. Also the hotel is approximently 30 minute walk from the magnificent mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top