$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dank5190
Business
Indiana
Jun 1, 2009

good cheap park area hotel almost dwntwn

We went with the plan to walk all over chicago and do whatever we came across as we took the amtrak into town. I think this is a great location to do just that starting from the south side. You are within walking distance (2miles)radius of the most significant parks, museums, shopping (state, michigan, and oak), union station, and then navy pier. The hotel was the cheapest with the best location of any hotel I found in the two weeks I researched for the trip. The next closest one was the chinatown hotel, but it looked kind of shady FYI. Everything at the hotel was as expected, they will hold your bags for you until you can check in. They let us check in about 30 minutes early (they said the hotel was full so we couldn't get in earlier). The AC worked. The room was small, but what do you need a big hotel room for? You should only use it for sleeping anyway. why would you go to a tourist destination to hang out in your room. geeze. The view from the room was pretty good. it's only 9 stories tall though so don't expect to see indiana. The Yolk restaurant next door was great. you should probably go early or drop by to put your name in 25 minutes before you want to eat since it seemed like there is always a wait (because it's that good). The staff always said hello and the front desk guy did very well under the pressure i saw him working under. I would stay here again, considering the hotel next to it is twice the price. The first day we did on foot, the second day we did from the double decker bus tour. Which at first I thought would be a ripoff but it turns out it is really a good deal since you can hop on and off all day and go places you can't walk to that would cost 20+ in a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the hop on hop off double decker bus tour/trolley cars. they will save you time and point out interesting things to do all over town. well worth the ticket price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
precmomen
Business
MI
Mar 4, 2010

Good location

good location, near subway station, thus very convenient to get to museums

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 29, 2010

Perfect location, nice rooms & friendly

Was evacuated from home after flooding, so needed reasonably priced place to stay which was convenient to home and public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ankeny, Iowa
Aug 2, 2010

Great Location...WAY CONVENIENT!!!

In town for Bon Jovi at Soldier Field and this is the closest hotel to that venue. Perfect spot to launch for ANY activity in and around Michigan Avenue. Steps away from Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Soldier Field with easy access to other methods of travel to Navy Pier and further North locales. Perfect eating spots right around the corner. Try 11 City Diner, located at 1112 South Wabash Avenue...AWESOME or try Yolk, literally right around the corner at 1120 South Michigan Avenue...THE BEST BREAKFAST EVER!!! The hotel room was small, but adequate with great views from our 9th floor spot. The pool area was disappointing, very small, but given the nature of our trip, it wasn't high on our list to have that access anyway. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The cleaning staff does not speak much English, but accomodated every request very well. Valet service was excellent. We will definitely be staying there again for our next trip to see a concert or Bears game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

11 City Diner, Yolk, and Ma&i (Thai and oriental flair)...ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kindel
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Sep 29, 2011

It was nice.

It was nice. Great location and friendly staff. Overall A+!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore.md
Aug 1, 2011

good value

hotel was fine for us. we hardly spent any time in the room. we spent our time sightseeing.price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

breakfast every day at Mei's Kitchen,adjacent to hotel. very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa monica
May 24, 2010

great value

Great value for the price. The room was adequate with a good breakfast. The location was good within close proximity to the city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
May 29, 2009

The title is true.

The employees were friendly & helpful. The location is perfect for tourists, close to museums, & the beautiful Lake Michigan. We stayed at this hotel twice before, & it has improved greatly. The only thing missing in the room is a mirror on the dresser. It was difficult to share one mirror, when the only one is in the bathroom. Other than that, we will look forward to our next visit. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to visit the museums was wonderful. It gave us a chance to take some great pictures of Grant Park, Lake Michigan, and the fantastic Chicago "sky line".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duluth, MN
Jun 6, 2010

Worked well for us

We came to Chicago for a convention. Easy walking to McCormick Center, the waterfront, Navy Pier and Downtown (20-25 minutes). Price was good, the amenities clean and comfortable. This is now our Chicago destination of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IL
Aug 14, 2010

Close to everything we needed

Very nice hotel. Room was a tad on the small side, but very clean. The pool was outside and not very warm (in the shade a lot), would have preferred an indoor pool. Very close to the attractions that we came to see, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, and Navy Pier, all were well within walking distance. Very good stay, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Malnatti's Pizza is only about 4 blocks away and is the best pizza you will ever have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top