$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 12, 2011

Very pleasant stay!

I attended a conference at the Hilton and stayed here to save money. I did spend one night down the street and although the BW was not as fancy, the money I saved was WELL worth it. My bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and it was quiet and safe. I enjoyed a very affordable breakfast in the hotel during my stay and the location is very convenient to many restaurants and sights in the South Loop! If you don't mind sacrificing appearance and size for affordability this is the hotel for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southfield, MI
Jul 21, 2010

Good experience

We chose the Best Western because of its proximity to Shedd Aquarium and the price was very reasonable compared to other nearby hotels. We thought it was a good hotel for the price. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only suggestion would be to put mini fridges in the rooms. Other than that, the room was clean and quiet. We have no complaints and will stay there again when next in Chicago. The attached restaurant is ok, not great, but there's plenty of other places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a bus pass for however long you're staying, the buses are efficient and less $ than cabs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jul 29, 2011

SuPeR gOoD fUn

Pretty Nice place....Wish they would keep the pool open all night so I could go skinnydipping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

GUCCI

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friendly Librarian
Business
Taunton, Ma.
Jul 16, 2009

Not too far, not to close...just right.

I have to be honest and say that I was a little worried at first when booking this hotel. I thought that their standards would be slightly sub par since it the exterior photo shots of the building from the website looked more like a motel instead of a hotel. But I was pleasantly surprised upon entering the lobby and of course my room. My room was furnished with a VERY comfortable king size bed with all of the hotel amenities one could ask for--except for a refrigerator or microwave. That was ok though. What made up for it was the locality of great eateries within a 2 mile radius that I could get to. BUDDY GUY'S BLUES RESTAURANT a street or two over, a FABULOUS breakfast place--YOLK right next door to the hotel and a great Indian restaurant--INDIAN HOUSE a quick 4 minute cab ride away. I wanted to try Best Western's restaurant MEI's KITCHEN but none of their egg rolls excluded beef. Oh well, perhaps they'll have some vegetarian ones next year when I visit. In fact, I think I'll make it a point to rebook the hotel again. It was close enough to the McCormick Place for business trip but far enough away to have some down time--and you can't be the fact that Millennium Park is literally across the street. And if you are really adventurous, I was informed that one could catch either Bus Nos. 3 or 4 to get up to N. Michigan Ave. for shopping. Didn't have time to do so but I will next time upon my visit just to see the city on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to try the nearby breakfast diner YOLK's Orange Bread French Toast. The entree is out of this world! I would book Best Western Hotel just to be close to this fabulous diner to try all of the other entrees. Hmmmmmm...delish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
May 19, 2010

Good location for the price

Staff was very friendly and professional. I liked a valet parking service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Okemos
Jan 3, 2009

Great Location, Good Hotel

The Best Western Grant Park was comfortable but a little outdated. The heater/AC kept going on and off changing temperatures which was very inconvenient. The location is great, very close to the Museum Campus. A big problem with the hotel as most of the downtown hotels is that there is no parking for guests. There is a paid ramp you can use a block away. The value for the price was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium, Planetarium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mariome
Business
Woodbridge VA
Feb 23, 2010

Good location right where you want to be

This hotel is in a great location, easy access to some of Chicago best offerings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Manny's Coffee Shop & Deli 1141 South Jefferson Street Chicago, IL 60607 [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flushing, MI
Jun 2, 2010

Really nice place to stay

GREAT trip. A last minute get-a-way that was very fun! Hotel close to all of Chicago's finest attractions; within 2 to 3 miles of everything! The Lincoln Park Zoo and Navy Pier were absolutely wonderful. Great family fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely go see the Licoln Park Zoo..you'll love it...have to drive, but only a few min. away from this hotel. 2 miles away..you can walk..is the Navy Pier...wonderful family fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NEW IN CHI
Business
SPRINGFIELD OHIO
Aug 25, 2011

IT'S NEAR HERE

GREYHOUND BUS STATION WITH TAXI CABS THE CITY WAS OURS CHEAP. WE GOT A GRAND TOUR BY CAB FOR $20.WE HAD TO SAY ENOUGH. FOOD IN THE HOTEL WAS GREAT BEST FISH FRIED RICE DISH. GOOD BED CLEAN ROOM AND NO NO NO BUGS. WE LOVED IT. HAD FREE UPGRADE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

STAY THERE USE CABS HAVE FUN.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny allday
Business
Oklahoma city
Aug 3, 2011

Much needed vaca in chicago

Perfect location, perfect room! Cabs available at all hours and red line minutes away. Easy access to white sox and cubs plus all downtown attractions. We arrived well before checkout and departed well after checkout and hotel checked our bags! A much needed getaway and hotel was spot on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lunch, dinner or brunch at Flo, have a burger at Kumas, Bloody Mary at the Twisted Spoke and Taste of Lincoln if you're in town at the right time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top