$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (327)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    327 out of 327
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3.7
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Damien TD
    Business
    New York City
    Jun 1, 2009

    Friendly staff, easily accessible

    The hotel staff and front desk people were indeed very friendly and helpful. The hotel was a short walk from the subway and the elevated trains, which was a plus for me. The immediate area is not overly lively, in my opinion, but public transit can get you to lively areas very easily. I used the valet parking service offered by the hotel. I parked my car for two nights and didn't need to worry about it or use it at all.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Park your car at the hotel, then jump on the subway or elevated train to get around, so you don't need to worry about finding parking when you go out.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    libertyville, il was in chicago
    Jun 14, 2010

    the customer service was worth the stay!

    The hotel itself was fine...it served our needs - the restaurant closed too early for us, but the staff found us a wonderful place to eat! In fact the staff was absolutely the best customer service I have had in years!! That made our stay here and we bought them a big tin of cookies to share because we liked them so much.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Take the L or the metra Electric train - cheap - and little walking

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    st. louis mo
    Jul 14, 2009

    Satisfied

    It was a best western, so it was a typical best western, not luxury but not intolerable. The valet proved useful at $24/day with unlimited in/out privelages, though it took a while for them to bring the car around. The location was awesome. There was a park accross the street. the red line was a block away, and the meusam district was in walking distance. Also the Navy Pier was a short taxi, water taxi, or bike ride away. The pool, unfortunatly was freezing on a 68 degree summer day.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    The restaraunt had a nice spread for breakfast, But if your thrifty Id stick with something from the counter like a chocolate muffin and tea as opposed to th $7 contenental. Looking for a better deal? Its only a few blocks to the dunkin donughts.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Fullerton, CA
    May 12, 2009

    Unbeatable location for the price

    staff is helpful, room is clean, location is unbeatable...thats all bout it...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    wbthink
    Business
    NYC
    Jul 17, 2010

    Best Western Grant Park: Chicago Trip

    Great location, good price, easy to deal with.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    If you are looking breakfast, Yolks next door can't be beat. If you art looking for deli, Eleven around the corner is tasty. If you are looking for a delicious burger, with a great beer from great selection, then check out Hackney's on So,. Dearborn.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Indianapolis, IN
    Mar 12, 2011

    Very pleasant stay!

    I attended a conference at the Hilton and stayed here to save money. I did spend one night down the street and although the BW was not as fancy, the money I saved was WELL worth it. My bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and it was quiet and safe. I enjoyed a very affordable breakfast in the hotel during my stay and the location is very convenient to many restaurants and sights in the South Loop! If you don't mind sacrificing appearance and size for affordability this is the hotel for you!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Southfield, MI
    Jul 21, 2010

    Good experience

    We chose the Best Western because of its proximity to Shedd Aquarium and the price was very reasonable compared to other nearby hotels. We thought it was a good hotel for the price. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only suggestion would be to put mini fridges in the rooms. Other than that, the room was clean and quiet. We have no complaints and will stay there again when next in Chicago. The attached restaurant is ok, not great, but there's plenty of other places to eat.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Get a bus pass for however long you're staying, the buses are efficient and less $ than cabs.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Dallas, Tx
    Jul 29, 2011

    SuPeR gOoD fUn

    Pretty Nice place....Wish they would keep the pool open all night so I could go skinnydipping

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

    GUCCI

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Friendly Librarian
    Business
    Taunton, Ma.
    Jul 16, 2009

    Not too far, not to close...just right.

    I have to be honest and say that I was a little worried at first when booking this hotel. I thought that their standards would be slightly sub par since it the exterior photo shots of the building from the website looked more like a motel instead of a hotel. But I was pleasantly surprised upon entering the lobby and of course my room. My room was furnished with a VERY comfortable king size bed with all of the hotel amenities one could ask for--except for a refrigerator or microwave. That was ok though. What made up for it was the locality of great eateries within a 2 mile radius that I could get to. BUDDY GUY'S BLUES RESTAURANT a street or two over, a FABULOUS breakfast place--YOLK right next door to the hotel and a great Indian restaurant--INDIAN HOUSE a quick 4 minute cab ride away. I wanted to try Best Western's restaurant MEI's KITCHEN but none of their egg rolls excluded beef. Oh well, perhaps they'll have some vegetarian ones next year when I visit. In fact, I think I'll make it a point to rebook the hotel again. It was close enough to the McCormick Place for business trip but far enough away to have some down time--and you can't be the fact that Millennium Park is literally across the street. And if you are really adventurous, I was informed that one could catch either Bus Nos. 3 or 4 to get up to N. Michigan Ave. for shopping. Didn't have time to do so but I will next time upon my visit just to see the city on a budget.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    You have to try the nearby breakfast diner YOLK's Orange Bread French Toast. The entree is out of this world! I would book Best Western Hotel just to be close to this fabulous diner to try all of the other entrees. Hmmmmmm...delish!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Madison, WI
    May 19, 2010

    Good location for the price

    Staff was very friendly and professional. I liked a valet parking service.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top