$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (327)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    327 out of 327
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3.7
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    firemedic29
    Business
    colorado springs, colorado
    Oct 23, 2012

    was very dissapointed

    we arrived at 1 pm and were told the room wasn't ready so we went off to a museum for a few hours and and came back at 5 pm to be told our still wasn't ready. so we waited in the lobby for about 25 until a some one from the service desk came over to us and said our room was ready. i thought check in time was 3 pm not 5:30 pm. we were also given some coupons for a "free american breakfast" in the cafe next door which probley equaled a danish or a donut only for the time we spent waiting. the first night was okay bed was large and comfy which was nice. the soundproofing for the room not as nice. we could hear pretty much every thing going on in the hall and even hear the EL train a 2 blocks away with the windows closed. the fitness center was dissapointing with only 1 out of 6 machines working. i got a better work out from walking all around the loop and mag mile. not the we went for it but the pool was a disaster too and looking like it needed a full remodel if not a full replacement. during the second day after the cleaning staff had finished cleaning our room we still had to ask for towels and wash cloths which they didn't leave at all. that and we hand no view of the lake what so ever until we went out side and walked across the street to the park over all it was a good location but was way below what i would have expected for a best western hotel. i'd say spend a bit more money and get a hotel closer to the mag mile or the loop. this was doable for 2 nights any more then 3 nights and i think we would have had to go find some where better. very eager to come back to chicago but not to this hotel

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    the orange line EL train station is a short 3 block walk from the hotel. with 3 different lines running though this station you can get to any where in the city in a short time. midway to the station about 32 minutes

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    DZ traveler
    Business
    Chicago, il.
    Jan 3, 2013

    Dissssapointed

    Sadly, I wasn't very happy with my stay at this hotel. The lobby and the room looked very cheeezy. The hot water in the faucet in my room did not work. The staff was ok but didn't even know if the room had cable. The room just felt dirty. It was just a cheeeeezzzy feel to the whole experience. The price wasn't bad for the location.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    pizanos is a great choice for pizza and italian food!!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    CPSF
    Business
    San Francisco
    May 21, 2013

    old and barely working

    This place was pretty bad. Everything was old and barely working. AC did not work and we couldn't open the windows. Wifi barely works. Lamps broken. Faucet broken. Bed was comfy and location was good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Shawn Lamb
    Business
    Sheboygan, WI
    Sep 27, 2013

    Worst Experience

    I would not recommend this hotel due to issues with the billing system, reservation system, and overall attitude displayed by the staff. We were forcibly ejected from our stay due to a mix up on the hotel's end. We had reserved a room for 5 nights as confirmed by customer care after the stay. The hotel only had us booked for 4 nights. My wife was told to get out of the room with a 10 minute warning. She had to scramble to get everything out of the room along with our two small children. The reservation system stated the rooms were paid for, but when I arrived to check in, the amount in full was due. The card that was supposed to be charged was not charged until the next day and only after several faxes. The billing issues continued when I was charged later for a $269.98 fee for something that I did not authorize while staying at the hotel. After contacting the hotel, they stated that charge "should" come have come off within 24 hours of posting and it was for a night already paid for by the credit card. Why they decided to charge my cards twice, I do not know. It has been 48 hours and still nothing. Due to the mix up in the reservation, my wife, my kids and I were not able to finish attending a large conference or do any sightseeing we had planned for that evening and the next morning. After being told to leave the room, the staff was extremely hostile and refused to believe anything that we said and were more than willing to charge a different room at an astronomical rate in order to keep us there. After asking for corporate information did the staff start to show any form of pleasantness. I will no longer be staying at any Best Western branded hotels on my numerous business trips because of this situation.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    AORN
    Business
    Cape Coral, Fl.
    Apr 5, 2014

    The Best Western in not the Best

    This Hotel is in needs of maintenance. The work out room is dirty, the cable cord was not even attached to the TV. The air conditioner/heat vents were filthy with dust, part of the bathroom fixture was falling off or lopsided, the door to the entrance of the room had a 2 inch gap from the floor to the door on one side. When I asked for 2 pillows with no feathers, I had to call twice, and they never brought them. I then called again the next day, and twice they brought the same pillows with feathers, the third day they found the correct pillows, which was the day before I left. They advertised a safe in the room for laptops and my room did not have one, so I had to change my room. The "new furniture" in the old room, was tacky and outdated. Pay the extra money and go down the street one block!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    chrissy81
    Business
    NWI
    Jun 9, 2014

    unhappy with the staff.

    Staff members were rude. Janitor was awesome his name was rich,he was helpful and polite. Valet guy was creepy kept starring at us the whole time. When we got their I asked for 2 beds queen. They had me in for one king bed with only 2people. We had 4 in our party. The lady at the desk was rude and told me that's all they had. As she is swiping my debit card. Urgh stop cause if u can't help me ill have to go somewhere else cause you guys made a mistake. They claimed they had a pool, noone said anything at the desk that the pool is being reconstruction. O great that's wonderful the janitor told us when we finally figured out where it was. Watch out for the elevators they didn't have a sensor in the door if someone was standing there. Crushed my friend body and my daughter arm. In our room toilet leaked and the curtains looked dirty and old. No fitted sheets on the bed just a mattress pad and a sheet. Air conditioned didn't work. We were moved to another room. A little better, but I will never stay there again. Looks ran down outside. Lobby elevator,and the rooms. It might be cheaper, but I would Of spent the extra 40.00 to stay somewhere nicer.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Indiana
    Jun 22, 2010

    Sleepless in Chicago

    I booked this room to be with in walking distance to Soldier Field and I was satisfied with the location. We were on 3rd floor two doors down from service door so we heard the door slamming open and shut all night long. We also heard all the sounds from the street. I also requested double beds and the person at the desk said if you book with 3rd party they can not guarantee your request. Pillows were flat so I asked for extra pillow and they could not acomodate that request either. Only two elevators which were very slow so long lines and wait to use those. I booked this hotel again in July but now after this experience I wish I was staying someplace else near Soldier field unfortunatley can not get another hotel at this late date.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    The Yolk restaurant next door has excellent breakfast. I highly recommend eating there.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Teacher with 12 students on a field trip
    Business
    Michigan
    Apr 24, 2010

    For a good time, Do NOT Reserve here!

    The bathrooms have no ventilation -- and are very small. The rooms have barely any floor space. The location is great. The staff were very curt with our requests. The manager told me they "have more blankets/pillows down at the desk." So, I get dressed decently enough to walk down to get my own and when I get there, the girl at the desk said, "You need pillows and blankets?? Sure, we'll bring it right up to your room. What's the number?" Yeah, I wasn't happy! Valet parking is $24 per day per room per vehicle. The continental breakfast we paid extra for only applied to two of the four ppl per room. So, six students went hungry! :o( The valet parking closes at Midnight -- but we were out at a play that started at 9 PM and didn't end till 11:30 PM and we were 1/2 hour away from the motel. NOT COOL. I honestly, wouldn't go back, even though we only paid $90 per room (we had 3 rooms).

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    milwaukee,WI
    Jun 15, 2010

    Very dirty and Noisy

    The hotel looks outdated.The bathroom was cramped,dark and dirty.[...]very noisy and unpleasant experience.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Michigan
    Aug 2, 2010

    NOT GOOD

    Noisy train line behind hotel. Can't recline in bed to watch tv because you only get two flat small pillows and there are pictures on wall above headboard you hit with your head. Ice machine on my floor did not work the 4 days I stayed. Had to go up two floors daily for ice and up one floor for the snack food vending machines. Thin walls!! You can hear the water running and toilets flushing from rooms next to you. Whenever you asked the night or early morning desk clerks something you would get a blank stare before answering and they acted like you were bothering them. Location is not bad for walking to Grant park or Soldier Field events.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top