$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
318 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (318)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    318 out of 318
    Amenities:
    3.1
    Room cleanliness:
    3.8
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    TX
    Oct 23, 2011

    Great!

    the staff were very helpful and friendly.. helped us on our schedule! and it's very clean, the bed were big! enough for 2 people.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Gma's
    Chicago
    Aug 8, 2014

    Gma's Trip

    Overall the hotel was run down and below standard even for a three star. The bathroom smelled of mold, the shower leaked and we were given only two towels for a reservation for four. The housekeeping staff did keep things clean. The hotel did have a pool as advertised but it was dirty as was the entire pool ares. Overall, this was a disappointment and I will likely not stay at any hotel with this name again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    DZ traveler
    Chicago, il.
    Jan 3, 2013

    Dissssapointed

    Sadly, I wasn't very happy with my stay at this hotel. The lobby and the room looked very cheeezy. The hot water in the faucet in my room did not work. The staff was ok but didn't even know if the room had cable. The room just felt dirty. It was just a cheeeeezzzy feel to the whole experience. The price wasn't bad for the location.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    pizanos is a great choice for pizza and italian food!!

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Alskfnrigh
    Chicago, IL
    Aug 29, 2012

    Spend your money on a cab instead.

    I paid a small fortune for a room that looked like it came out of a Rob Zombie movie. The sheets, shower curtain, bedskirt, floors, and even the pillow cases were stained with some unidentifiable substance. I'm assuming it wasn't spilled cleaning products:/. The bathroom was the size of a stand up shower stall and, needless to say, was a moldy mess. I have stayed in some cheap and less-than-ideal motels/hotels while traveling, but for $350/night this place was by far the worst. Save your money for a cab ride and stay somewhere else.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    RnR Lover
    Fargo, ND
    Jul 15, 2012

    Disappointing stay

    Given our positive experience with other Best Western hotels, we proceeded with booking a reservation here. The location is really good (walking distance from the museum campus), but everything else is not. The staff are not particularly helpful. We had requested a crib. The front desk staff said they would get back to us about that, but never did. The room quality is poor, fit for a motel, not a hotel. The paint needed upkeep (water damaged bathroom ceiling) and cleanliness was sorely missing (even in the lobby). The housekeeping staff did a fair job (sometimes missed conditioner or a towel). If all you care about is some shelter for the night this hotel would fit the bill, however look elsewhere for a pleasant stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    TheJVAS
    St Augustine
    Oct 22, 2012

    Not worth the money!

    Where do I start....The hotel room had leaking windows, the heat did not work, the bathroom tub/shower did not drain, the TV only had 11 channels, the wallpaper throughout the room was peeling off of the wall, the non-smoking room smelled like smoke, the carpet had crumbs all over it, the single chair in the room had huge burns in 2 spots and the telephone was missing half of the buttons and 3 out of the 5 lights in the rooms did not work at all...On a positive, the location was decent and the restaurant next to the hotel had a friendly staff!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    The CTA L Train to/from the hotel - airport only cost $2.50 per person.....The taxi was $45 for 2 people.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Teacher with 12 students on a field trip
    Michigan
    Apr 24, 2010

    For a good time, Do NOT Reserve here!

    The bathrooms have no ventilation -- and are very small. The rooms have barely any floor space. The location is great. The staff were very curt with our requests. The manager told me they "have more blankets/pillows down at the desk." So, I get dressed decently enough to walk down to get my own and when I get there, the girl at the desk said, "You need pillows and blankets?? Sure, we'll bring it right up to your room. What's the number?" Yeah, I wasn't happy! Valet parking is $24 per day per room per vehicle. The continental breakfast we paid extra for only applied to two of the four ppl per room. So, six students went hungry! :o( The valet parking closes at Midnight -- but we were out at a play that started at 9 PM and didn't end till 11:30 PM and we were 1/2 hour away from the motel. NOT COOL. I honestly, wouldn't go back, even though we only paid $90 per room (we had 3 rooms).

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    ILND
    Business
    Illinois
    Jun 19, 2014

    Room was Ok, Hotel was not

    The hotel itself is very dated, the lobby and hallways were dark, dreary and depressing. There is considerable deferred maintenance here. The staff was fine, I don't fault them for anything here, but the owners certainly care little at this point. The room was somewhat clean, and not quite as dated as the hotel. However the feel of the hotel just overall gave me the creeps and I didn't really want to touch anything. The room lacked in amenities, the air conditioning unit kicked on and off and the room would either be too warm or too cold. I slept fairly poorly due in large part to the A/C unit kicking on and off every few minutes. The location is off the beaten path on South Michigan, its a hike from everything. I cannot recommend this hotel but then again, you get what you pay for.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    lifter71
    minneapolis
    Aug 24, 2010

    Location great, everything else, not

    Would not go back! Room smelled terrible, shower never drained, even after "fixed". Noisy and very small rooms.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Dj yass
    Oklahoma city Ok
    Aug 29, 2010

    not so good

    The hotel itself wasn't that bad but the staff was not very friendly the rooms where to small it wasn't filthy but it definitely didn't feel clean and not enough towels.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

    navy pier and down town fine dining shopping and just a great city.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    very discussed
    Houston Texas
    Jul 27, 2010

    Cheap is not always Good

    We had a four night stay. the beds were made everyday but, the room was not cleaned and the towels where not replaced even when requested. Last morning I notice only one bath towel was left. Coffee was only left in the room for one morning. One of the reps at the front desk is absoulutly rude. You can tell she does not like her job. I would suggest any other hotel in Chicago other than this one.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    use the public transprotation as much as you can. It was extremely cheap, well organized and convient.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Change search